The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Book 1)

Book 1 of 9 in the Maximum Ride Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.674752
In James Patterson's blockbuster series, fourteen-year-old Maximum Ride, better known as Max, knows what it's like to soar above the world. She and all the members of the "flock"--Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gasman and Angel--are just like ordinary kids--only they have wings and can fly. It may seem like a dream come true to some, but their lives can morph into a living nightmare at any time...like when Angel, the youngest member of the flock, is kidnapped and taken back to the "School" where she and the others were experimented on by a crew of wack jobs. Her friends brave a journey to blazing hot Death Valley, CA, to save Angel, but soon enough, they find themselves in yet another nightmare--this one involving fighting off the half-human, half-wolf "Erasers" in New York City. Whether in the treetops of Central Park or in the bowels of the Manhattan subway system, Max and her adopted family take the ride of their lives. Along the way Max discovers from her old friend and father-figure Jeb--now her betrayed and greatest enemy--that her purpose is save the world--but can she?
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on April 11, 2005 by jimmy patterson
ISBN-10: 031615556X
ISBN-13: 9780316155564
104 Book Reviews
  • cutiepie294
    cutiepie294Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 11:17 am55 stars
    AMAZING I LOVE THIS BOOK YOU SHOULD DEFINITELY READ IT😁😁😁😁
    • SunnyflightSunday, January 3, 2021 at 2:38 pm
      This book was really good. The characters have such diverse and unique personalities and abilities, and the action is well written. The plot is intriguing and fascinating. I would recommend this to anyone 6th grade and up who likes action, adventure, and science fiction. 4.5/5.
      • Snork Master 7Monday, October 14, 2019 at 10:53 am
        This book is great, it shows real life problems and problems that most "different" kids would face. It is a very interesting book with very life like characters. 5/5 would read again
        • sgoiscool
          sgoiscoolSunday, June 2, 2019 at 5:27 pm55 stars
          The Angel Experiment is WONDERFUL. one of James Patterson's best series. All the characters have their own personality, unlike some books. This book makes you want to read the rest of the series that's how good it is.
          • summer24
            summer24Friday, May 3, 2019 at 2:33 pm55 stars
            this book is absolutely amazing. read the entire series
            • Unicornlover11Sunday, March 24, 2019 at 11:48 am
              I love this book because it is adventurous and awesome.I am in the 5th grade and it was my grade level and was my interest level
              • jdoodles35
                jdoodles35Monday, February 25, 2019 at 12:28 pm55 stars
                I LOVE this this book! This is such an enjoyable read. A lot of problems the charming characters can solve with such intelligence and strength. I love the fact that every character was different. Fang was that kid who was strong, silent, and mature. Nudge was your practical motor mouth, but very sweet. Gazzy was your everyday little boy and Iggy was a classic teen. Angel...your average sweetheart! And Max...a hero. Destined to save Earth. But then they went to the School and got wings!!!! Your everyday kid just turned into a mutan freak!
                • KellyTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 6:55 pm
                  It’s so good I mean at first I thought it won’t be that interesting but then I read the whole book of number 1 then I started to read all of them they are so interesting but then my friends started getting in too cuz it was super and now I LOVE to read
                  • peterconlow
                    peterconlowThursday, January 18, 2018 at 11:31 am55 stars
                    OMG! I love this book! I found it by chance, but it the best book I have ever read! Read this book NOW! And I mean it!
                    • jojo3978
                      jojo3978Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 8:01 am
                      I have someone in my class reading the book she says It is super intresting and i am going to read it.:)
                    • ninislitdoe
                      ninislitdoeThursday, December 21, 2017 at 7:05 pm55 stars
                      I never really like si-fi, and a friend recommend this book to me, and it was so good i got all the books.