Winner of the Caldecott Medal

This magical story begins on an island far away where an imaginary friend is born. He patiently waits his turn to be chosen by a real child, but when he is overlooked time and again, he sets off on an incredible journey to the bustling city, where he finally meets his perfect match and-at long last-is given his special name: Beekle.

New York Times bestselling and award-winning author and illustrator Dan Santat combines classic storytelling with breathtaking art, creating an unforgettable tale about friendship, imagination, and the courage to find one's place in the world.

Hardcover, 40 pages
Published on April 8, 2014 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316199982
ISBN-13: 9780316199988
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • Anna@26083Friday, March 31, 2017 at 12:03 pm
    The adventures of Beekle the unimaginary friend Do you have a imaginary friend? If so, you should read this book. It is about a imaginary friend that is created and is waiting for a little girl or boy to imagine him. He gets lonely and goes to the real world to find his friend. Does he ever find his friend? You’ll have to read to find out. My favorite part in this book is when Beekle is created. I recommend this book to kids who are very creative or have a imaginary friend. Reviewed by: AnnaSophia F.
    • shaunTuesday, October 18, 2016 at 7:29 am
      i have read this book and i like the them of an isalind htat maks amajinary frends
      • LivTuesday, October 18, 2016 at 7:10 am
        The book called Beekle the unimaginary friend is awesome! I give this book five stars because this book is a great written book ( and I don't like the book because Beekle doesn't have any clothes on ) Beekle has amazing adventures. Beekle makes new friends. Beekle is fearless and brave. He is so brave that he went into the real world. Beekle is also mysterious. Beekle is mysterious because he went in the real world when he could stay home. Beekle also met a girl called Alice. In the book Beekle says “ I can find a friend.” He also said “ I tried but I can't I don't know where to look.” If you want this book go get it ! My opinion is you should buy this book. Bye bye.
        • JulianaMonday, February 8, 2016 at 8:42 am
          Do you have no imaginary friend? Maybe your imaginary friend is traveling to you! So if you imagine friend he mite come quicker! So when he gets there. Read this book it's called Beekle the unimaginably friend. He'll probably like the story and that's why i think you should see this book.
          • namers
            namersTuesday, May 26, 2015 at 8:03 am44 stars
            The Adventures of Beekle is an amazing book. Beekle is an imaginary friend who is tired of waiting for a child to dream of him, so he goes on a daring adventure to the real world. He looks everywhere, but cannot find his friend. So Beekle sits in a tree and waits for his friend to come. After a long time, Beekle still hasn't found his friend. Beekle thinks about how far he’s come and how long he’s waited to no avail. Beekle starts feeling sad just as a little girl named Alice calls up to him from the ground. They become best friends. I love this book. First, I like how Beekle is imagining that his friend will be a boy, but in the end his friend is actually a girl. Second, I love the illustrations, and how the imaginary world is colorful, and so is the playground, but the rest of the real world is drab and gray. Third, I love the word choice and how the words are handwritten. I think that this book is brilliantly written. My four-year-old brother loves this book and wishes for it to be read to him every day. I think that it has something to do with the way this book is when read aloud. The words flow very well, and the illustrations are detailed and original. The Adventures of Beekle teaches us to never give up, even if something is hard. Beekle traveled long and far to the real world. After a long day of waiting, it seemed that he would never find his friend. However, Beekle persisted, and found a friend in the end.
            • elvis416
              elvis416Sunday, June 22, 2014 at 7:19 pm55 stars
              this book is about a animaginary thing that doesn't get in any kids head. This book is for boys and girls. this is a made up story. this book is for kids who like made up stores and more. the main idea is that you haft to be patient and go to your dreams. I liked win beekle found his dream. my favorite character is beekle because he's the main character. i recommend this book. i give it 5 stars because it is very creative and way more! this book is for kids and grownups of all ages. i like the ending.
              • maddyp18
                maddyp18Saturday, June 21, 2014 at 7:25 pm44 stars
                I love this book so so so much!!!!!!!!!!!! It is about a imaginary character who ventures into the real world so he will find the perfect person to make up a name for him. I think the message is ''Go and do things, don't just sit around. I hope you like it!!!!!!!!!

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                thenoobquax

                Final battle is Dark Forest vs L...
                Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (W...

                thenoobquax

                Rusty walks around finding Grayp...
                Warriors: Into the Wild

                thenoobquax

                How do you actually like Firesta...
                The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                thenoobquax

                Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...