The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5Z+4.044275
Bestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot.

Heartbreaking, funny, and beautifully written, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, which is based on the author's own experiences, coupled with poignant drawings by Ellen Forney that reflect the character's art, chronicles the contemporary adolescence of one Native American boy as he attempts to break away from the life he was destined to live.

With a forward by Markus Zusak, interviews with Sherman Alexie and Ellen Forney, and four-color interior art throughout, this edition is perfect for fans and collectors alike.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on April 3, 2018 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316439886
ISBN-13: 9780316439886
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bacon_bitzz
    bacon_bitzzWednesday, January 23, 2019 at 3:57 pm55 stars
    I really enjoyed this book about a kid who had a tough life. It give you inspiration. It does have some rude-humor,so maybe I would recommend 11plus years of age.
    • jwilson2003
      jwilson2003Tuesday, November 29, 2016 at 11:20 am44 stars
      This is about Junior is a budding cartoonist growing up on the a Indian reservation who is born with a medical problems he gets pick on by everyone but his best friend.I would recommend this book because it has some funny parts inducing when he was taking about why god gave him thumbs.Some parts of the book is sad like when his sister died,his grandma and his dads best friend but overall its a funny book that´s why i would recommend this book.
      • joanne_s
        joanne_sSaturday, January 9, 2016 at 12:26 am44 starsFeatured
        This story is about an Indian teenager named Junior (also named) Arnold Spirit who met a lot of tragedies and obstacles. This book taught me an important lesson: “Life Is Not Perfect”. Some parts in the story were sad and some parts happened so sudden that I wished that I could make changes to it. Also, Junior in the story was really brave, braver than anyone I met before. If I was him, I would never go to that all-white school and I would never join the basketball team. Even if I transferred to the all-white school, I wouldn’t have the courage to meet my one and only friend Rowdy, and I wouldn’t have the guts to talk to my crush Penelope. His persistence determined me that everyone could cross the border and do the same thing that he did. This is a hilarious, sad and awe-inspiring story.
        • joasun21
          joasun21Monday, December 21, 2015 at 8:47 pm55 stars
          This story is about an Indian teenager named Junior (also named) Arnold Spirit who met a lot of tragedies and obstacles. This book taught me an important lesson: “Life Is Not Perfect”. Some parts in the story were sad and some parts happened so sudden that I wished that I could make changes to it. Also, Junior in the story was really brave, braver than anyone I met before. If I was him, I would never go to that all-white school and I would never join the basketball team. Even if I transferred to the all-white school, I wouldn’t have the courage to meet my one and only friend Rowdy, and I wouldn’t have the guts to talk to my crush Penelope. His persistence determined me that everyone could cross the border and do the same thing that he did. This is a hilarious, sad and awe-inspiring story.
          • justinw20
            justinw20Thursday, December 3, 2015 at 6:32 am55 stars
            I really enjoy reading this book, the main character Arnold Spirit or Junior been through the hard time in the teenager. The things happened on him changed his whole life. This book makes me feel happy and sad at the same time, when I read this book I just laugh like crazy, but some part of the book is pretty sad. After I read over the book I feel like maybe I have learn something from it, from Arnold’s story. I learn you should believe in yourself, like Arnold always stay positive and believe he can do it. Also I think if you try new things that you think you will never going to do, it could change your whole life. This book is awesome!!!
            • DeNaeThursday, October 29, 2015 at 11:12 am
              I love this book. Its my favorite book i ever read in my life
              • hanli
                hanliSunday, September 13, 2015 at 12:02 am44 stars
                I really enjoyed reading the book The Absolutely True Diary of a Part – Time Indian. In the novel, the main character Arnold Spirit, Junior, is traveling throughout his journey of self-discovery. It was a combination of tragedy, drawings, humor, despair, and hope that made me so engaged with reading this book. My heart was simultaneously broke into a million pieces and made me laugh as the pieces are put together over and over again. I was impressed by how the tragic events that took place in the story did not come across as a shock, but instead as natural things that happen in life. The author, Sherman Alexie, was born a Spokane Indian just like Junior, and I believe he wanted his readers to understand how Native American teens that live in reservations struggle to escape the future that was already determined for them. I was inspired by Junior’s hopes and dreams of self-discovery by the people around him, his struggles, and success, to work hard for my own dreams for them to be accomplished. After I read through the novel, I learned that I should never determine a person without getting to know them first, as Sherman had stated in his book, “If you let people into your life a little bit, they can be pretty damn amazing.”
                • coachnaz
                  Ms. NazworthFriday, December 7, 2012 at 1:59 pm55 stars
                  FANTASTIC!
                  • cakey98
                    cakey98Saturday, September 29, 2012 at 5:43 am55 stars
                    LOVE the book so much ts so good.
                    • keelise
                      keeliseWednesday, December 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm
                      This book is about a kid named jr. When he was born he had fluid in his brain. his mom is white and his dad is indian . so that is what the bnook is about