[The 5th Wave] (By: Rick Yancey) [published: July, 2013]

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.6116991
"Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances."—Entertainment Weekly (Grade A)

The Passage meets Ender's Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey.

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it's the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie's only hope for rescuing her brother--or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

"Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough."—Justin Cronin, The New York Times Book Review

"A modern sci-fi masterpiece . . . should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires."—USAToday.com
Hardcover, 480 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399162410
ISBN-13: 9780399162411
71 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • grape_soda
    grape_sodaSunday, August 23, 2020 at 7:19 pm44 stars
    This is a really realistic book about if aliens invaded earth. I recommend this to people 4th grade and over.
    • cmansell
      cmansellFriday, March 6, 2020 at 8:20 am44 stars
      I did a project on this book, there are five waves. The first wave is no power, the second wave is water wiping out everything, the third wave the red death, the fourth wave silencers, and last the fifth wave an army of child soldiers. I made one connection to the book it was text to text, it was another book on an apocalypse. I rate this book four stars, because it had a lot of death, it said about 97% of the population was wiped out in the third wave and most of the rest when they blew up Camp Haven. The book was nothing like the movie.
      • doctorwhodaman
        doctorwhodamanWednesday, January 30, 2019 at 12:00 am
        My grandmother bought me this book at a store and i haven't started reading it yet it looks good !!!!!!!!!!!
        • OliviaThursday, November 29, 2018 at 5:49 pm
          i have seen the movie i had no clue there was a book i have to read this as soon as possible
          • Haxorus 289Thursday, November 29, 2018 at 11:28 am
            this book is amazing the story line very good and tells about Sammy/Nugget and Cassie
            • shadowThursday, November 8, 2018 at 4:56 pm
              this is a very good book and I've also seen the movie
              • Someone Sunday, October 14, 2018 at 6:09 am
                Good book has some bad words otherwise easy words also switches between perspective
                • clit05
                  clit05Thursday, April 19, 2018 at 1:22 pm55 stars
                  Overall I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good book. The story is nothing short of absolutely spectacular, and the way the author writes and develops the plot is enthralling. The twist on "alien attack" scenarios is great, too. Definitely recommend to anyone.
                  • AustinWednesday, February 14, 2018 at 2:03 pm
                    I really enjoyed reading this book.
                    • kuo
                      kuoSaturday, July 15, 2017 at 1:25 pm55 stars
                      my friend read this book