Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.843967
A young girl learns she’s half mermaid and plunges into a scheme to reunite with her father in this entrancing, satisfying tale that beckons readers far below the waves.

For as long as she can remember, twelve-year-old Emily Windsnap has lived on a boat. And, oddly enough, for just as long, her mother has seemed anxious to keep Emily away from the water. But when Mom finally agrees to let her take swimming lessons, Emily makes a startling discovery — about her own identity, the mysterious father she’s never met, and the thrilling possibilities and perils shimmering deep below the water’s surface. With a sure sense of suspense and richly imaginative details, first-time author Liz Kessler lures us into a glorious undersea world where mermaids study shipwrecks at school and Neptune rules with an iron trident — an enchanting fantasy about family secrets, loyal friendship, and the convention-defying power of love.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 5, 2004 by Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
ISBN-10: 1842551663
ISBN-13: 9781842551660
98 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • howls
    howlsFriday, June 12, 2020 at 7:09 am55 stars
    The is a great book it's a girl who is part human but the dust is mermaid I read it like 6times
    • raindrop07
      raindrop07Friday, May 15, 2020 at 12:23 pm55 stars
      Ever since the beginning, Emily has lived on a boat with her mom. But oddly, her mom has always tried to keep Emily away from the water...until Emily persuades her to let her take swimming lessons. That's when Emily finds that she is part mermaid. Her life is turned upside down when she is welcomed into the under-the-sea world of mermaids and the truth about her past begins to unfurl in front of her eyes. Emily is determined to find out the real events of the past and then learn how to be a mermaid and a human. All at the same time. This is an amazing book about mystery, family and bravery and I encourage all lovers of mermaids, friendship and the power of magic to read it!
      • sportysinger
        sportysingerTuesday, March 3, 2020 at 11:15 am
        I think this book was ok. I don't have anything against Liz Kessler but I don't think this was one of her best books. I really think some of the choices that she should have made as to the author, that she did not make, I only read the first one and I am going to give the other ones a try but I am not all too crazy about the first one and I doubt I will like the rest of them.
        • Cap AKFriday, October 11, 2019 at 6:27 am
          Great book!!! I got the full series on a sick week, and pretty much did nothing but read!
          • shayshaygirl25
            shayshaygirl25Monday, August 12, 2019 at 7:08 am55 stars
            I read this book and it taught me that everyone is special.
            • shantzj
              shantzjWednesday, December 11, 2019 at 5:11 pm
              That is a good lesson to learn.
            • 406kitten
              406kittenFriday, July 26, 2019 at 10:08 am55 stars
              This book is amazing! It has really great characters, and it wants to make you laugh and cry. I loved it so much I put on hold the 2 3 and 4! I really recommend it for people who love mermaids.
              • reader2009
                reader2009Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 8:38 pm55 stars
                I love this book. It has a great storyline with great characters and amazing detail. This book makes me want to be a mermaid! I can't wait to read the other books in the series.
                • VenusTuesday, July 23, 2019 at 5:21 pm
                  Tt😍Emily Windsnap is very interesting to read about
                  • ccswishingstar
                    ccswishingstarMonday, July 1, 2019 at 7:10 pm55 stars
                    Emily Windsnap is not any ordinary girl, she is also semi-mermaid! She meets a mermaid named Shona and becomes best friends with her. She discovers that her father was a merman and was to be in prison for the rest of his life, and decides to sneak into the prison and free him. Will she succeed??? I love this series and I would recommend this book to anyone that likes magic and mermaids.
                    • Taylor AdamsMonday, June 3, 2019 at 2:18 pm
                      I love Emily Windsnap it is such an amazing book me and my friend are reading this book together and it is so great we love it