Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 2 - 5P4.08957
A Race Against Time Little Willy's grandfather is sick, and it's up to Willy to save their farm from tax collectors. Their only hope is the prize money from the National Dogsled Race. But a lot of other people want to win the race, too, including Stone Fox, who has never lost a race in his life. Do Willy and his dog Searchlight stand a chance against the toughest racers around? Can they win the race to save the farm -- and Grandfather -- before it's too late?
Paperback, 96 pages
Published on April 27, 2010 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064401324
ISBN-13: 9780064401326
124 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lpscollie01
    lpscollie01Tuesday, December 3, 2019 at 7:39 pm55 stars
    This was such a beautiful story about a boy that wants to save his grandfather!!!! You should read this amazing book and you might try it you love dogs so much that you will get upset if someone says cats are better cuz cats are not better!! I recommend this book to my followers and lpsbrooklyn's followers!!
    • oreppert
      oreppertMonday, December 2, 2019 at 12:08 pm55 stars
      This book was good, but it was a little sad.
      • redelatwolf
        redelatwolfFriday, November 22, 2019 at 2:25 pm
        I'm going to read Stone Fox by John Reynolds Gardiner. Why because foxes are cute like wolfes. It seems interesting.
        • dieselFriday, April 5, 2019 at 6:24 am
          i love this book
          • addygrace
            addygraceWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 2:32 pm55 stars
            I read this book in school for book club not too long ago very emotional.
            • kb200
              kb200Monday, April 1, 2019 at 11:27 am55 stars
              this book made me cry i am happy willy did not give up 😭😭😭😭😭😭
            • Vianna tarradatThursday, March 14, 2019 at 6:48 pm
              I love this book it os sad because stone fox died and it is happy because the grandpa gets money!!
              • Turtle lover 94Wednesday, March 13, 2019 at 1:52 pm
                I love this book so much but sooooo sad!
                • JackieWednesday, March 13, 2019 at 11:28 am
                  heart warming
                  • JackieWednesday, March 13, 2019 at 11:26 am
                    its a great book but sad at the end my class watched the movie and read the book an did a compare and a contrast there were different but either way great story based on a true story
                    • Abi_Girl.19Wednesday, March 13, 2019 at 11:26 am
                      i think the book was good if you get sad easily i would not read it because searchlight dies in the end.