Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 8V4.241214
A modern-day classic and New York Times bestseller that celebrates the power of individuality and personal expression from beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli.

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

Don’t miss the sequel, Love, Stargirl, and Jerry Spinelli’s latest novel, The Warden’s Daughter, about another girl who can't help but stand out.

“Spinelli is a poet of the prepubescent. . . . No writer guides his young characters, and his readers, past these pitfalls and challenges and toward their futures with more compassion.” —The New York Times


From the Hardcover edition.
Hardcover, 188 pages
ISBN-10: 0439328802
ISBN-13: 9780439316750
136 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • roxanne3
    roxanne3Friday, January 17, 2020 at 7:22 pm44 stars
    this is one of my all time favorites, I love how she changes her name whenever she thinks it is a good time to, when she "grows out" of it.
    • roxanne3
      roxanne3Friday, January 17, 2020 at 7:17 pm44 stars
      I think this is such a great book, it might be one of my favorites, and trust me I have read a lot!!! I must have read it at least 4 times, when I am not stuck in another book. I am in the middle of the second book, Love Stargirl right now and I love the point if view, the way it is written in Stargirl's letters. I love this book, and I think it is great for any age!
      • ElJaySunday, September 15, 2019 at 9:50 am
        Stargirl is now one of my favorite books.It can relate to so many kids.It can give kids more confidence to stand out and really be themselves.Leo, the introvert built up so much confidence throughout the story when he became friends with Stargirl. This book is the best.
        • aly_spoon675
          aly_spoon675Tuesday, May 7, 2019 at 2:00 pm55 stars
          Many people will say a book will change your life. This one really will! I have never read such an incredible book before. An odd girl moves to a town with the name of Stargirl. She is different from all the other girls and many people don't like this about her. She eventually learns to just be herself without worrying about others. This is a truly incredible book of her journey that I think many people can relate to, many kids can feel odd and different, but this book encourages and inspires many to be their selves. It is unlike any book I have read before and I encourage everyone to read it!
          • lightninggirl
            lightninggirlTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 10:14 am55 stars
            I read this in seventh grade for a class assignment. Following this, I read Love Stargirl, and was upset with the ending. It was a fantastic book don't get me wrong, but the ending left me wanting more.
            • dolphinsummer
              dolphinsummerThursday, November 8, 2018 at 5:25 pm55 stars
              So interesting
              • freckleface04
                freckleface04Thursday, November 8, 2018 at 6:52 am
                i thot this book was sad i need to read the third to judge this series it was pretty good but it was also sad
                • AnonymousMonday, August 13, 2018 at 9:11 am
                  Good message but not very entertaining
                  • hollenisnotreal
                    hollenisnotrealWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 4:21 pm55 stars
                    BEST BOOK EVER
                    • demonheart
                      demonheartFriday, January 19, 2018 at 7:38 pm11 star
                      It wasn't that it was just a bad book,they were going into the right direction. It's just that they messed up with something that I can't explain,but it made the rest of the book fall apart.