Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 8V4.241214
A modern-day classic and New York Times bestseller that celebrates the power of individuality and personal expression from beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli.

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

Don’t miss the sequel, Love, Stargirl, and Jerry Spinelli’s latest novel, The Warden’s Daughter, about another girl who can't help but stand out.

“Spinelli is a poet of the prepubescent. . . . No writer guides his young characters, and his readers, past these pitfalls and challenges and toward their futures with more compassion.” —The New York Times


From the Hardcover edition.
Hardcover, 188 pages
ISBN-10: 0439328802
ISBN-13: 9780439316750
150 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everTuesday, November 3, 2020 at 1:41 pm55 starsFeatured
    Jerry Spinelli's description is absolutely unbelievable. "Stargirl" is a tapestry of words and spaces and ink, conglomerating into a sensory masterpiece. The book follows a Mica High student named Leo Borlock, who has long accustomed himself to the social conformity of his school. But when Stargirl, a new student with fluttering silks, a guitar, and a rat arrives at Mica High, the status quo begins to shift. Everyone is attracted to Stargirl's antics - at first. But after she goes too far, the students begin to turn on her, and Leo - hopelessly in love - urges her to become more "normal," despite how much he loves her for who she is. A beautiful, lavishly-worded story about prepubescent feelings and being true to yourself.
    • KkkkkkTuesday, October 27, 2020 at 3:57 pm
      it is good so far I have not read the whole thing though.
      • squirrelflight
        squirrelflightFriday, October 16, 2020 at 9:05 am44 starsFeatured
        When I was in fourth grade, my teacher assigned this book for me to read. At first, I didn’t think it would be my piece of chocolate cake—I wasn’t sure whether Stargirl would be the right read for me. But as soon as I read the first five chapters, I was hooked. It’s amazing how Jerry Spinelli can take just a few strands of loose thread but weave it into something magical. As usual, his writing did not disappoint, and I feel like this was one of his best books! Summary: Mica High School is divided into two sections; The Hillari Kimbles and the Wayne Parrs. Hillari and Wayne are the ones everyone looks up to and wants to be. Sixteen-year-old Leo is somewhere in between all the “popularity tiers”, an ordinary teenager starting his sophomore year. But when new student who goes by the name of Stargirl comes to Mica High, his life is catapulted into strangeness and oblivion. Stargirl’s not one of the “typical” high schoolers. She has a pet rat, gives people ukulele serenades, and somehow knows everyone’s birthdays. As more and more people start to shun her because of her differences, Leo might be the only friend she has. Overall, I really liked this book, and rate it 4/5 stars. I recommend it for readers who like to find themselves surprised by a truly good book. This dazzling tale will surely enthrall fans of Jerry Spinelli, or people who read realistic fiction!
        • sydneyz
          sydneyzFriday, September 4, 2020 at 1:40 pm55 stars
          I loved this book! It's about a homeschool girl who goes to public school for a year and everyone thinks she's odd, but she's also extremely nice! She plays the ukulele (so do I, I'm also homeshooled, but have never been to public school) and has a pet rat.
          • zefufiwa-159666793062
            zefufiwa-159666793062Saturday, August 8, 2020 at 1:28 pm
            I desided to read Star girl because I love the movie ,and Star girl was diffrint from ever one else ,and she did'ent care .
            • sylvie55555
              sylvie55555Saturday, May 23, 2020 at 8:35 am55 stars
              This book is written by the author Jerri Spinelli. Sophomore Leo has never met anyone like Stargirl. She's unique, does her own thing, and doesn't care about being popular. From the first moment that her saw her, Leo is entranced by her. At first, Stargirl inspires the other students to come out of thier shell's , but when the basketball team 's undefeated season suddenly disappears, everyone starts to blame Stargirl. Read the book to find out more! This book is inspiring and encouraging!
              • niwevepe-158265320288
                niwevepe-158265320288Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 11:04 am44 stars
                Stargirl is an astonishing book, with funny,outstanding, and marvelous elements that will make the reader laugh or even gasp. But some of the actions Stargirl and Leo did I disapprove of. Like when Leo became Stargirl's boyfriend because of how she stood out but later on he wanted her to change because of the way she would stick out. I also would disapprove of the time when Stargirl turned into Susan. Stargirl was incredibly depressed because in her happy wagon there were only two rocks. Also Susan a.k.a Stargirl was just being confident but in a bad way because soon later on she got greatly disappointed. In another way l extremely admire the story and the characters. Like Stargirl, she isn't your regular high school girl she’s spunky and brave while everyone else in her town is just trying to fit in. Another character I admire was Stargirl’s pet rat, Cinnamon. Cinnamon had a lot more personality than you would think. Cinnamon was funny and weird she was just a fun little character. Just like when Cinnamon meditated with Leo and Stargirl at Stargirl’s magical place. That was super weird,funny, and cute all at the same time. But overall I absolutely loved this story line and how the author described the events that occurred. Perhaps like the time when Stargirl attended the first of her high school’s football game of the season where she tight roped across the goal post and kicked the game football over the guest stadium. It was so funny but so alarming and Magnificent. I just thought this book was stunning.
                • nymupyre-158265319288
                  nymupyre-158265319288Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 8:30 am55 stars
                  Are you looking for an interesting book to keep you entertained while you're bored. Then Stargirl is the perfect book for you. Stargirl is a book about a unordinary girl named Stargirl who has a big adventure like being a cheerleader, to having a boyfriend and getting made fun of.
                  • wewokire-158265321286
                    wewokire-158265321286Wednesday, April 1, 2020 at 12:19 pm
                    Stargirl is a romantic and funny novel by Jerry Spinelli.This book will make you wonder why and will make you want to know whats going to happen next.I recommend you to read this book.Why because it will entertan you and make you want to read more.
                    • botakejo-158265318266
                      botakejo-158265318266Sunday, March 22, 2020 at 3:35 pm55 stars
                      The book Stargirl is an amazing story about a girl named Susan a.k.a Stargirl. She is different in many ways. She sings happy birthday to everybody in the lunch room on their birthday and she cheers for the other team when they score a goal. I loved the book Stargirl, but the movie not so much. The book is an astonishing adventure about being different. Leo,is Stargirl boyfriend and he wants her to be a little more normal like everybody else. She didn't want to so Leo said "nobody likes you" and Stargirl changed into Susan. I LOVED THIS BOOK!