Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 8V4.241214
A modern-day classic and New York Times bestseller that celebrates the power of individuality and personal expression from beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli.

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

Don’t miss the sequel, Love, Stargirl, and Jerry Spinelli’s latest novel, The Warden’s Daughter, about another girl who can't help but stand out.

“Spinelli is a poet of the prepubescent. . . . No writer guides his young characters, and his readers, past these pitfalls and challenges and toward their futures with more compassion.” —The New York Times


From the Hardcover edition.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on May 14, 2002 by Ember
ISBN-10: 037582233X
ISBN-13: 9780439444439
145 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sylvie55555
    sylvie55555Saturday, May 23, 2020 at 8:35 am55 stars
    This book is written by the author Jerri Spinelli. Sophomore Leo has never met anyone like Stargirl. She's unique, does her own thing, and doesn't care about being popular. From the first moment that her saw her, Leo is entranced by her. At first, Stargirl inspires the other students to come out of thier shell's , but when the basketball team 's undefeated season suddenly disappears, everyone starts to blame Stargirl. Read the book to find out more! This book is inspiring and encouraging!
    • niwevepe-158265320288
      niwevepe-158265320288Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 11:04 am44 stars
      Stargirl is an astonishing book, with funny,outstanding, and marvelous elements that will make the reader laugh or even gasp. But some of the actions Stargirl and Leo did I disapprove of. Like when Leo became Stargirl's boyfriend because of how she stood out but later on he wanted her to change because of the way she would stick out. I also would disapprove of the time when Stargirl turned into Susan. Stargirl was incredibly depressed because in her happy wagon there were only two rocks. Also Susan a.k.a Stargirl was just being confident but in a bad way because soon later on she got greatly disappointed. In another way l extremely admire the story and the characters. Like Stargirl, she isn't your regular high school girl she’s spunky and brave while everyone else in her town is just trying to fit in. Another character I admire was Stargirl’s pet rat, Cinnamon. Cinnamon had a lot more personality than you would think. Cinnamon was funny and weird she was just a fun little character. Just like when Cinnamon meditated with Leo and Stargirl at Stargirl’s magical place. That was super weird,funny, and cute all at the same time. But overall I absolutely loved this story line and how the author described the events that occurred. Perhaps like the time when Stargirl attended the first of her high school’s football game of the season where she tight roped across the goal post and kicked the game football over the guest stadium. It was so funny but so alarming and Magnificent. I just thought this book was stunning.
      • nymupyre-158265319288
        nymupyre-158265319288Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 8:30 am55 stars
        Are you looking for an interesting book to keep you entertained while you're bored. Then Stargirl is the perfect book for you. Stargirl is a book about a unordinary girl named Stargirl who has a big adventure like being a cheerleader, to having a boyfriend and getting made fun of.
        • wewokire-158265321286
          wewokire-158265321286Wednesday, April 1, 2020 at 12:19 pm
          Stargirl is a romantic and funny novel by Jerry Spinelli.This book will make you wonder why and will make you want to know whats going to happen next.I recommend you to read this book.Why because it will entertan you and make you want to read more.
          • botakejo-158265318266
            botakejo-158265318266Sunday, March 22, 2020 at 3:35 pm55 stars
            The book Stargirl is an amazing story about a girl named Susan a.k.a Stargirl. She is different in many ways. She sings happy birthday to everybody in the lunch room on their birthday and she cheers for the other team when they score a goal. I loved the book Stargirl, but the movie not so much. The book is an astonishing adventure about being different. Leo,is Stargirl boyfriend and he wants her to be a little more normal like everybody else. She didn't want to so Leo said "nobody likes you" and Stargirl changed into Susan. I LOVED THIS BOOK!
            • shinebright
              shinebrightThursday, March 19, 2020 at 2:36 pm
              I've not read it- but it sounds cool! Who is Leo?
              • myhevoro-158265317664
                myhevoro-158265317664Thursday, March 19, 2020 at 1:41 pm
                Stargirl is an amazing book with many themes within it. If I had to rate it out of ten I would give it a ten. It is about a girl who is unique. She goes to a completely ordinary high school called Mica High where every girl follows Hillary Kimble and every boy follows Wayne Parr. One of the things she does is go around dancing on tables and singing happy birthday to people everyday. Mica High has never won a football game, which is exactly why she is their good luck charm. People actually started to like her, until they didn't. She cheered for the other basketball team and then everyone hated her. She also fell in love with a boy named Leo. They were a perfect couple. They both got shunned though. Leo's best friend Kevin kept asking him to ask Stargirl if she wanted to be on the Hot Seat. That's the show Leo and Kevin were both in charge of. Well Stargirl agreed and after that traumatic experience it was for sure that everyone was really angry at her. Except for Leo, although he did ask her to change. So she did and that's when she became Susan. She dressed like everyone else. She also ate whatever other ordinary people ate. But then she couldn't stand it she wasn't who she was. She knew she needed to be Stargirl. So she went back to being Stargirl. At the Ocotillo ball people started to realize that they were following the wrong people. So they started dancing with Stargirl and had so much fun. Then Hillary got mad and slapped Stargirl, then Stargirl kissed her gently on the cheek and no one ever saw Stargirl again.
                • chalas1920
                  chalas1920Tuesday, April 7, 2020 at 8:13 am
                  myhevoro, I read this book once but don't remember it very much I might have to find it read it again because of this review
                • animereina25
                  animereina25Monday, February 10, 2020 at 12:36 pm44 stars
                  It is so interesting when you stand out! Well, so does this girl, Stargirl that is! She stands out from the highschool! But the ending is wicked twisted...
                  • roxanne3
                    roxanne3Friday, January 17, 2020 at 7:22 pm44 stars
                    this is one of my all time favorites, I love how she changes her name whenever she thinks it is a good time to, when she "grows out" of it.
                    • roxanne3
                      roxanne3Friday, January 17, 2020 at 7:17 pm44 stars
                      I think this is such a great book, it might be one of my favorites, and trust me I have read a lot!!! I must have read it at least 4 times, when I am not stuck in another book. I am in the middle of the second book, Love Stargirl right now and I love the point if view, the way it is written in Stargirl's letters. I love this book, and I think it is great for any age!