Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 8V4.241214
A modern-day classic and New York Times bestseller that celebrates the power of individuality and personal expression from beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli.

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

Don’t miss the sequel, Love, Stargirl, and Jerry Spinelli’s latest novel, The Warden’s Daughter, about another girl who can't help but stand out.

“Spinelli is a poet of the prepubescent. . . . No writer guides his young characters, and his readers, past these pitfalls and challenges and toward their futures with more compassion.” —The New York Times


From the Hardcover edition.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on May 14, 2002 by Ember
ISBN-10: 037582233X
ISBN-13: 9780439444439
131 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • dolphinsummer
    dolphinsummerThursday, November 8, 2018 at 5:25 pm55 stars
    So interesting
    • frecklefacec
      frecklefacecThursday, November 8, 2018 at 6:52 am
      i thot this book was sad i need to read the third to judge this series it was pretty good but it was also sad
      • AnonymousMonday, August 13, 2018 at 9:11 am
        Good message but not very entertaining
        • hollenisnotreal
          hollenisnotrealWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 4:21 pm55 stars
          BEST BOOK EVER
          • demonheart
            demonheartFriday, January 19, 2018 at 7:38 pm11 star
            It wasn't that it was just a bad book,they were going into the right direction. It's just that they messed up with something that I can't explain,but it made the rest of the book fall apart.
            • funinthesun1
              funinthesun1Friday, December 1, 2017 at 6:20 am55 stars
              It is amazing so far I love it. you should read it.
              • OliverSaturday, April 15, 2017 at 10:45 am
                It was a good book, has a strong message. I read it back in second grade but I don't think it is for anyone over grade 4 or 5.
                • leylush
                  leylushSunday, April 9, 2017 at 1:54 pm44 stars
                  I decided to read this book because it seemed interesting to me.First it did not have a title ,and second the cover picture looked like hand drawn .So, the book was about a boy Leo,who has a friend named Kevin. Everyone was talking to until he started dating a girl named Stargirl. Well, you might think it is a weird name .I think it is too.Stargirl's real name was Susan, but she did not like it so she changed it.Not only Stargirl's name was weird her outfit was weird too.So everyone in school hated her except her boyfriend Leo.When Leo realized nobody in school talked to him except Stargirl.He would not talk to her until Stargir grabed him and started talking to him .Then after they talked, the other day in school Stargil was different than she usually was she was Susan.She was normal like everybody else.But still nobody talked to her except her family,her best friend Dory Dilson,and Leo.So, she was Stargirl again after months.One day there was a ball at school ,but Leo did not invite Stargirl.So,Stargirl went by herself to the ball.After she went out of the ball no one ever saw her again.I really liked that book,but I wish the book was without romance.
                  • nonstopreader
                    nonstopreaderTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 11:38 am
                    This book was good. I recommend it. I had good details and I think it might have some people's real life circumstances in it.
                    • RileyMonday, February 27, 2017 at 6:50 pm
                      The book stargirl is very good but it is not a young kid would like

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      booklover2017

                      OMG this sounds gooood
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      Why is that? It's fun to read ab...
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      I'm going into 7th grade, middle...
                      How I Survived Middle School #1:...

                      booklover2017

                      Sounds pretty good Pleeeaaase f...
                      Magisterium: The Golden Tower (T...

                      Our Apps and Plugins