Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 6n/a5.2n/a
The moon base commander has gone missing and Dash Gibson is on the case in the second mind-boggling mystery of the Edgar-nominated Moon Base Alpha series from the New York Times bestselling author of Belly Up and Spy School.

There's nowhere to hide on the world's first moon base. After all, it's only the size of a soccer field. So when Nina Stack, the commander of Moon Base Alpha, mysteriously vanishes, the Moonies are at a total loss.

Though he may be just twelve years old, Dashiell Gibson is the best detective they've got. But this confusing mystery pushes him to his limits. Especially since he has his own huge secret to protect. With the fate of the entire human race hanging in the balance, will Dash be able to solve the mystery of the missing Moonie?
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on April 5, 2016 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481423363
ISBN-13: 9781481423366
13 Book Reviews
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderFriday, November 27, 2020 at 12:39 pm44 stars
    Stuart Gibbs second book in the MBA series is as fantastic as the first. In this installment, Dashiell Gibson is still on Moon Base Alpha, a small moon station. Since it is a small place to live in space, everyone is shocked when the leader, Nina Stack, disappears from the base. Now it's up to Dash, again, to save their fearless and quite emotionless leader. But all clues lead to nowhere, and he might end up needing more help than he ever thought, and only one thing is for sure: The people in danger could be convicted themselves, and that means EVERYONE can be a suspect, even the ones in trouble. With his own secret on the line, and a friend who can help, Dash must find out where Nina went in order to keep everyone on the base alive. He needs all the clues he can get, but even alongside the people he trusts, could this mystery be too much for Dash to handle? I really liked this book, and I know you guys wouldn't want to miss out on such a fun filled mystery! Hope you enjoy this second book of MBA by Stuart Gibbs!
    • durofimyvewi
      durofimyvewiSunday, October 25, 2020 at 2:00 pm55 stars
      i like reading these types of books because they are moon base alpha novels and are cool because they are set up on the moon
      • sylvie55555
        sylvie55555Sunday, June 7, 2020 at 3:14 pm55 stars
        In this book written by the author Stuart Gibbs, Dash is as surprised as anyone when the moon base commander, Nina, goes missing. He doesn't know what to do, but when everyone expects him to solve the case after he solved Dr. Holtz's murder! Dash doesn't know what to do, plus he had to deal with the rude billioners' kids, Lily! Will Dash solve the case? Read the book to find out!
        • thevenusflytrap
          thevenusflytrapTuesday, February 18, 2020 at 1:05 pm44 stars
          Extremely good, but didn't top the first one in the series. It's a great sequel though, and the story is very interesting and different. I'd say this is an amazing sequel/read.
          • 13iamgroot
            13iamgrootSunday, August 25, 2019 at 4:37 pm33 stars
            In the second book in Stuart Gibbs' moon base alpha series, Dash has to solve another mystery. He kind of wishes that his life would get back to its normal, boring self because everyone is turning to him for the answer because he solved the murder mystery of their moon base commander, but he honestly has no idea what to do. In the end, it is actually Dash's sister Violet that proves to have critical information, but nobody was listening to her, they thought she just had an imaginary friend walrus named "DeeDah." This is a hilarious novel that I would totally recommend for any elementary or middle schooler.
            • sylvie55555
              sylvie55555Friday, July 19, 2019 at 4:29 pm55 stars
              This is the second book in the moon base alpha series written by Stuart Gibbs. When the base camp commander goes missing, everyone is depending on Dash to find her. But Dash's not so sure himself. Will Dash be able to solve the mystery... or will he let everyone down? Read the book to find out! Stuart Gibbs is an amazing author and this is a wonderful series, as well as the Spy School and Fun Jungle series! Hope you like this book!
              • Spaced OutThursday, December 20, 2018 at 1:31 pm
                Hi! I'm in 5th grade! I have to say, this is a mind-blowing book, and I learned some awesome new words from this series. When I did my book commercial (you basically advertise the book) I chose this book at first, but I decided to do something else because the book was already advertised. I promise you, anyone who could read would love this book.
                • Alien GirlWednesday, November 7, 2018 at 7:21 pm
                  Just my style
                  • Space-GirlWednesday, November 7, 2018 at 7:19 pm
                    It is a great story that I think every kid should read
                    • tancred_torsson
                      tancred_torssonMonday, September 24, 2018 at 6:11 pm55 stars
                      Another great book by Stuart Gibbs! I already said this on my last review, Space Case, but let me say it again, Dash is SOO smart! A-mazing!