Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.493593
What goes up must come down, and when we last saw Alex Rider, he was as up as can be—in outer space. When he crash lands off the coast of Australia, the Australian Secret Service recruits him to infiltrate one of the ruthless gangs operating across South East Asia. Known as snakeheads, the gangs smuggle drugs, weapons, and worst of all, people. Alex accepts the assignment, in part for the chance to work with his godfather and learn more about his parents. What he uncovers, however, is a secret that will make this his darkest and most dangerous mission yet . . . and that his old nemesis, Scorpia, is anything but out of his life.

From the slums of Bangkok to the Australian Outback to the middle of the Timor Sea, Snakehead is Alex Rider’s most action-packed adventure yet.

Watch a QuickTime trailer for this book.

Kindle Edition, 412 pages
Published on November 13, 2007 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 1101158255
ISBN-13: 9781101158258
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Remi ShehabSaturday, February 23, 2019 at 7:09 am
    Great book if your taste is adventure. Alex is a fourteen year old boy whose parents were killed so his uncle looked after him. Little did Alex know that they were all training him to become a spy so Mr Alan Blunt who is the chief executive of MI6 special operations and he asks Alex on mission after the next. On his first mission book1 STORMBREAKER, Alex is sent to investigate Herod Sayle who invented stormbreaker computers but for a purpose that could result in lots of schoolchildren dead. Several missions Alex finds himself on a mission he set himself. I have read now eight Alex Riders and it is best u read the, in order. My favorite is Book three skeleton key which is him sent to go to investigate around General Alexei Sarov but finds himself in a life or death situation. If adventure is your favorite genre then I recommend giving these a try.
    • J.jTuesday, February 20, 2018 at 11:52 am
      Alex Rider is the Best book I've ever read
      • jason23
        jason23Tuesday, September 13, 2016 at 7:35 am
        It's awesome
        • derricky21
          derricky21Wednesday, December 2, 2015 at 3:10 am44 stars
          This book is full of action and I recommend it to people who like spies. I have already read the previous books in the series, and I really like them. The author appears to be well informed and has done his research on how MI6 functions, or at least he makes it realistic. There are a lot of plot twists and mysteries, and I liked the way the author crafted Alex's character. He's modest, but in actuality he can be the next big spy for Britain even though he's only 14 years old. People often underestimate him because of his age, but that can be his strength. People say he has luck as a devil because he always survives unbelievable things.
          • langston_p
            langston_pWednesday, December 2, 2015 at 2:38 am55 stars
            This was again another action packed book and I would strongly recommend it to people who like action movies or just need a good book to read. This was another book about Scorpia, so Alex once again learns about his past life. He and his godfather Ash get disguised to get smuggled as refugees by the Snakehead and try to find out what Scorpia is planning. I liked how the main antagonist, Major Winston Yu was so genius and planned out his scary plan and how it was perfect timing. I also thought that Anthony Horowitz developed the characters very well, for example Cloudy, she was only in a few pages but it was so easy to find out a lot about her character. This was once more a classic novel made by Anthony Horowitz and like always, the criminal mastermind plan was completely different from all of the others.
            • angelay
              angelayMonday, October 5, 2015 at 2:27 am55 stars
              This book is full of action and I recommend it to people who like realistic teenage heroes. I have already read the previous books in the series, and I really like them. The author appears to be well informed and has done his research on how MI6 functions, or at least he makes it realistic. There are a lot of plot twists and mysteries, and I liked the way the author crafted Alex's character. He's modest, but in actuality he can be the next big spy for Britain even though he's only 14 years old. People often underestimate him because of his age, but that can be his strength. A lesson the series taught me: age doesn't matter, and don't underestimate anyone no matter what, because they can stab you in the back the instant you turn around. I read it in a day, and totally recommend it!
              • live2read
                live2readSunday, June 28, 2015 at 9:49 am55 stars
                This Book is amazing, in fact the whole series is! It is all about a teenage spy names Alex Rider who is always being forced into saving the world. I strongly recommend this book to all readers 10 or over who love a good action story! I literally could not put this book down!
                • alexistaumata
                  alexistaumataThursday, March 28, 2013 at 6:05 pm55 stars
                  This is the 7th and last book in the series I think but I just found out there was a book in the series called Crocodile Tears so I NEED to find out what number it is!!!!!!!!!!
                  • alexistaumata
                    alexistaumataThursday, March 28, 2013 at 6:03 pm55 stars
                    This is the 7th and last book in the Alex Rider series and I am up to the 5th!!!!!!!!!!
                    • swifty19
                      swifty19Wednesday, May 2, 2012 at 7:50 am55 stars
                      this book series is super-duper good, i love them so much, they are so sad tho, and the author is amazing