Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.364955
A New York Times Bestseller

In this heartwarming, funny middle-grade novel by the bestselling author of Counting by 7s, Julia grows into herself while playing a Munchkin in a production of The Wizard of Oz


Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn't ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive--one of the adults with dwarfism who've joined the production's motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia's own sense of self as an artist grows. Soon, she doesn't want to fade into the background--and it's a good thing, because her director has more big plans for Julia!

Bubbling over with humor and tenderness, while emphasizing the importance of role models, this is an irresistible story of self-discovery.

Paperback, 288 pages
Published on January 9, 2018 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0399186220
ISBN-13: 9780399186226
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • sll
    sllWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 5:58 pm55 stars
    it was a great book!!
    • dolphinsummer
      dolphinsummerThursday, November 8, 2018 at 5:34 pm55 stars
      This was such a good book. Since the amazing story by Holly Golberg Sloan, I couldn't regrate doing it for a book report. This I thought to be amazing on how a girl from having to be so short get a main role in the production The Wizard of Oz.
      • NOOB123Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 2:32 pm
        I LOVE IT SUCH A GREAT BOOK I SHORT TOO LIKE IF YOU AGREE
        • julia123Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 7:40 pm
          This book is the best book ever
          • rose1032
            rose1032Monday, May 7, 2018 at 3:28 pm55 stars
            Such a great story, it's just that I'm totally the opposite of short
            • bookworm09
              bookworm09Wednesday, April 4, 2018 at 11:22 am55 stars
              This book relates to me a lot! I love how Julia is friends with Olive. She is very relatable. I am 4’4vin 3rd grade, and some of my friends are 4’6!
              • bookworm09
                bookworm09Wednesday, April 4, 2018 at 9:46 am55 stars
                I loved this book because of Julia’s relationships with the characters, like Mrs.Chang and Olive. Julia wasn’t afraid of what other people thought. This book really relates to me because I am in third grade and only 4’4!
                • amelialover24
                  amelialover24Wednesday, January 31, 2018 at 8:42 am55 stars
                  I love this book so good!!!!!!!!!!
                  • gamingqueen103
                    gamingqueen103Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 4:25 pm
                    I LUV THIS BOOK! Although, it doesn't relate to me actually...
                    • piccadillypie
                      piccadillypieWednesday, August 2, 2017 at 11:52 pm55 stars
                      i love this book too but it does relate to me. a bit. i'm short.
                    • Goodgirl758536Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 11:37 pm
                      I really love this book ;D

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      booklover2017

                      OMG this sounds gooood
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      Why is that? It's fun to read ab...
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      I'm going into 7th grade, middle...
                      How I Survived Middle School #1:...

                      booklover2017

                      Sounds pretty good Pleeeaaase f...
                      Magisterium: The Golden Tower (T...

                      Our Apps and Plugins