Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.364955
A New York Times Bestseller

In this heartwarming, funny middle-grade novel by the bestselling author of Counting by 7s, Julia grows into herself while playing a Munchkin in a production of The Wizard of Oz


Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn't ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive--one of the adults with dwarfism who've joined the production's motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia's own sense of self as an artist grows. Soon, she doesn't want to fade into the background--and it's a good thing, because her director has more big plans for Julia!

Bubbling over with humor and tenderness, while emphasizing the importance of role models, this is an irresistible story of self-discovery.

Paperback, 288 pages
Published on January 9, 2018 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0399186220
ISBN-13: 9780399186226
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • soccer_lover101
    soccer_lover101Tuesday, January 8, 2019 at 6:02 pm55 stars
    Love it!
    • lil123
      lil123Friday, December 7, 2018 at 7:12 am
      I love this book because it is bacisly the story of my best friend.
      • lil123
        lil123Friday, December 7, 2018 at 6:50 am
        I love this book
        • LilThursday, December 6, 2018 at 9:18 pm
          Even though I didn't read this book fully, I loved it
          • sll
            sllWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 5:58 pm55 stars
            it was a great book!!
            • dolphinsummer
              dolphinsummerThursday, November 8, 2018 at 5:34 pm55 stars
              This was such a good book. Since the amazing story by Holly Golberg Sloan, I couldn't regrate doing it for a book report. This I thought to be amazing on how a girl from having to be so short get a main role in the production The Wizard of Oz.
              • NOOB123Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 2:32 pm
                I LOVE IT SUCH A GREAT BOOK I SHORT TOO LIKE IF YOU AGREE
                • julia123Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 7:40 pm
                  This book is the best book ever
                  • carmen1032
                    carmen1032Monday, May 7, 2018 at 3:28 pm55 stars
                    Such a great story, it's just that I'm totally the opposite of short
                    • bookworm09
                      bookworm09Wednesday, April 4, 2018 at 11:22 am55 stars
                      This book relates to me a lot! I love how Julia is friends with Olive. She is very relatable. I am 4’4vin 3rd grade, and some of my friends are 4’6!

                      Our Apps and Plugins