Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.364955
A New York Times Bestseller

In this heartwarming, funny middle-grade novel by the bestselling author of Counting by 7s, Julia grows into herself while playing a Munchkin in a production of The Wizard of Oz


Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn't ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive--one of the adults with dwarfism who've joined the production's motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia's own sense of self as an artist grows. Soon, she doesn't want to fade into the background--and it's a good thing, because her director has more big plans for Julia!

Bubbling over with humor and tenderness, while emphasizing the importance of role models, this is an irresistible story of self-discovery.

Paperback, 288 pages
Published on January 9, 2018 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0399186220
ISBN-13: 9780399186226
36 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hedgeguin2
    hedgeguin2Tuesday, May 26, 2020 at 6:06 pm55 stars
    As a short person myself, this book is so funny and is like you’re actually there with the character! Told by a girl named Julia Marks, this book is her adventure of her summer and her navigation of life. You’ll love this book, no matter what!! :D
    • queen_strong
      queen_strongMonday, May 25, 2020 at 2:41 pm
      I think this book is great!!
      • applemango
        applemangoSunday, May 17, 2020 at 11:07 pm55 stars
        I really loved this book. Julia is an awesome character, at the end of this book I read it again. I was so hooked into this book. I can imagine the costumes too!
        • bsc
          bscMonday, May 11, 2020 at 11:42 am55 stars
          Holly Goldberg Sloan does a wonderful job writing this book, making readers want more. Julia is short. That is something that has always bothered her. But one summer her mom signs her brother and her up for a play of The Wizard of Oz. Both of them get the part as munchkins! During her weeks of practice she learns that she is special just the way she is. I give this book 5 stars.
          • Zairr_roblox loFriday, May 8, 2020 at 11:47 pm
            Love this book
            • lenaplayzgames
              lenaplayzgamesFriday, May 1, 2020 at 10:50 am55 stars
              XD wow i wish i was short like Julia she doesnt know how good she has it but anyways i loved the book im in the 4th grade and almost 5 feet xD 10 out of 10 would read again
              • coolSaturday, March 16, 2019 at 6:42 pm
                awesome book
                • soccer_lover101
                  soccer_lover101Tuesday, January 8, 2019 at 6:02 pm55 stars
                  Love it!
                  • lil123
                    lil123Friday, December 7, 2018 at 7:12 am
                    I love this book because it is bacisly the story of my best friend.
                    • lil123
                      lil123Friday, December 7, 2018 at 6:50 am
                      I love this book