Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.846642
Since the dawn of time, prehistoric shark clans called Shivers have ruled over the earth's oceans, fierce protectors of all who swim. For eons, the Big Blue has prospered under Shiver Law, and the delicate balance of sea life kept sacred. Until now.

Rising sea temperatures and overfishing have caused food to become scarce, and the battle for new hunting grounds has brought with it corruption and warfare.

Now, with the ocean on the brink of chaos, a young reef shark named Gray - exiled from the safety of his peaceful reef home - must venture deep into Open Water to unlock the secrets of his destiny and bring peace back to the ocean. But first, he'll have to discover the truth about who - and what - he really is.
Paperback, 256 pages
Published on July 1, 2011 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0141339551
ISBN-13: 9780141339559
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • lightningcole
    lightningcoleTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 1:56 pm44 stars
    I liked it, it was very thrilling and once you read one you cannot stop. I was reading it so much at one point!
    • winningvalkyrie
      winningvalkyrieThursday, March 1, 2018 at 10:27 am55 stars
      i LOVED THIS BOOK i am going to read the whole series but... CHURN DIED! (TEARS) i think that i might read the same book until i get the next one in the series shark wars 2: the battle of riptide .in the end of shark wars 1 they give a sneak peak at the next book. in total i think the book was great after gray gets kicked out of his shiver his friend barkley (a dogfish shark) comes with him. gray and barkley make new friends and they made a shiver called rouge shiver. they accidently swim into goblin shiver territory and are forced to join the shiver or get eaten! i recommend this book to anyone who likes sharks and star wars. #arrow84
      • coleberti
        colebertiMonday, September 11, 2017 at 9:32 am55 stars
        This book is the first of the shark wars series and it is really cool. I liked when gray (the main character) realises He is more special than he thinks. Not going to spoil.
        • rarepolic
          rarepolicMonday, March 20, 2017 at 7:18 pm55 stars
          good book
          • speedydodo
            speedydodoThursday, December 3, 2015 at 1:17 pm55 stars
            try this book
            • isne5
              isne5Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 7:46 am
              I thought this book was so good that I started reading the whole series.
              • kat_attackTuesday, August 4, 2015 at 4:25 pm
                epic :3 I really hope someday they make a movie out of it. There is so much action and the way they put the story together is amazing. All six books are really good and i highly recommend these series. My favourite characters are Velenka and Snork. Can't get enough of this book!
                • sixsigma4
                  sixsigma4Thursday, June 18, 2015 at 12:27 pm
                  Friend, I honestly it was amazing!
                  • soccer4
                    soccer4Thursday, June 18, 2015 at 9:23 am55 stars
                    I really liked all the action in the book, it was very fun to read and i enjoyed the description. I think it was really cool when they found out that Gray was a megalodon. it was awesome when they found tyro's skeleton.
                    • jibarra
                      jibarraTuesday, October 14, 2014 at 11:26 am55 stars
                      my favorite charecters are gray, barkly and striker my favorite parts are when he got his head stuck in a bucket and when he got banded it was sad and cool and my most favorite part is when they went to the tuna run and the battle was cool two i can't wait to get #2 battle of the riptide

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      Ever think if trees can talk? Me...
                      Wishtree

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I really enjoyed reading this bo...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I always enjoy reading these boo...
                      Bad Kitty

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      This was a fun book to read. It ...
                      Two's A Crowd (Pug Pals #1)