Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.381215

Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the #1 New York Timesbestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom.

Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold―a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed.

Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country’s magical military elite―and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.

As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.

Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.

A New York Times Bestseller
A Los Angeles Times Bestseller
An Indie Next List Book
This title has Common Core connections.

Praise for the Grishaverse

“A master of fantasy.” ―The Huffington Post
“Utterly, extremely bewitching.” ―The Guardian
“The best magic universe since Harry Potter.” ―Bustle
“This is what fantasy is for.” ―The New York Times Book Review
“[A] world that feels real enough to have its own passport stamp.” ―NPR
“The darker it gets for the good guys, the better.” ―Entertainment Weekly
“Sultry, sweeping and picturesque. . . . Impossible to put down.” ―USA Today
“There’s a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo’s original epic fantasy that sets it apart.” ―Vanity Fair
“Unlike anything I’ve ever read.” ―Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent
“Bardugo crafts a first-rate adventure, a poignant romance, and an intriguing mystery!” ―Rick Riordan, bestselling author of the Percy Jackson series
“This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien.” ?RT Book Reviews
Read all the books in the Grishaverse!

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy
(previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)
Shadow and Bone
Siege and Storm
Ruin and Rising

The Six of Crows Duology
Six of Crows
Crooked Kingdom

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 5, 2012 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0805094598
ISBN-13: 9780805094596
12 Book Reviews
  • glitterclaws
    glitterclawsTuesday, March 16, 2021 at 9:11 am55 stars
    Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo was published June 5 of 2012 and will be adapted into a TV show for Netflix which will be released April 5 of 2021. Shadow and Bone is a 358 page young adult fantasy book for ages twelve and up. Leigh Bardugo was born in Jerusalem, raised in Southern California, and now she lives and writes her books in Los Angeles CA. Shadow and Bone is an amazing book to follow, as Alina Starkov goes on an adventure throughout Ravka. The story is in the setting of Russia and starts in a little town on the border of the Shadow Fold. The terrain changes throughout the book, near the border of the fold the land is dry and the soil is no longer good to grow crops in. As you get farther away from the fold you get more woods and farmland. The main character Alina Starkov has to cross the shadow fold along with other selected people. Throughout the book there’s always a nervous kind of mood, while there are other moods as well, this one stood out to me. Shadow and Bone is about a girl named Alina who grew up in the Dukes home with her best friend Mal. Now Alina and Mal have to cross the Shadow fold a place nobody wants to go with the help of the Grisha. The Grisha are the masters of the Small Science that call upon air fire and water, and that's only the tip of the ice berg. On the other side of the shadow fold is said to be towns and cities that overlook the sea but first they have to make it across. The way Bardugo writes puts a clear picture of what's happening in your mind, I never got turned around or confused. I could hardly stop reading because at every turn there's a twist or fight. One of the things I disliked is how the description of the food didn't make it easy to imagine, but it didn't bother me too much. Overall, Shadow and Bone is a really good book, you never quite know what's coming next. The book has some amazing balance between character building, as well as world building. I loved this book and could hardly put it down! I would give it 5 stars would recommend and I think this book would be good for anyone looking for a good fantasy read ages 12 and up.
    • booksrock123454
      booksrock123454Monday, February 8, 2021 at 12:42 pm55 starsFeatured
      This book is amazing. It all started off with a inocent girl scared to enter the fold. It ended with a strong self confident girl feeling capable of anything. The story of Alina finding out she is the sun summoner is quite the adventure. The grisha verse is hands down one of the best made up universes that are also so real in a way that it almost feels like real life with just a couple tweeks. Any ways here is a short summery (spoiler alert) Alina is a cartoghrapher about to go into the fold with her best friend Mal. All of the sudden volcra attack and mal gets injured. Alina cares about her dear freind and protects him if it was the last thing she would do. All of the sudden a powerful urege rising with in her release and light scare the volcra away saving many lives. Alina is taken to the little palce to train with the grishas( witches in a way) but their is one issue, Alina can't summon with out a amplifier. She is made fun of for not being able to summon. A few classes later Alina is able to summon and she becomes the darklings pet( pluse a little more.) At a ball Alina has to peform a trick for the rich and nobles in the land with the darkling. Little did Alina know a special geust was in the audience watching her. After a few hours Alina was pulled into a room with Bagrha( her least favorite teacher) and she learns a dark secert about the darkling witch makes her run away. While in the wild Alina finds a freind and they go to find a treasure that the darkling wants super bad. Alina get caught and she is taken to the fold to help fufill the darklings plan. Alina found a way to esape and I'm just going to end the summery their because I don't want to spoil it. Any ways this book totally desereves a 5 star rating.
      • ethereal
        etherealMonday, May 18, 2020 at 10:56 am55 stars
        This book is truly amazing, if your into fantasy and adventure this book is definitely for you.
        • celia_berry13
          celia_berry13Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 2:47 pm55 stars
          This book is suspenseful and just full of twists and turns! It's an exciting mixture of romance, adventure, and fate. Venture into the world of Alina Starkov, the Sun Summoner as she battles the darkness and tries to decide who her heart truly belongs to.
          • celia_berry13
            celia_berry13Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:32 pm55 stars
            Shadow and Bone is a book about a girl names Alina. It is a rip-roaring fantasy about betrayal, love, and succeeding. I suggest this book to 5th grade and up due to some mild death content and scary creatures. This book is so good!
            • eap7895
              eap7895Tuesday, November 10, 2015 at 1:25 pm55 stars
              I am loving this book so far! The book got off to a very slow start but soon got interesting and I couldn't put it down! It's hard to find the antagonist in the book, but I think I got it figured out. I am looking forward to reading the next book!
              • katniss270
                katniss270Wednesday, June 4, 2014 at 4:30 pm55 stars
                I thought the beginning was a bit boring but after the first couple chapters i could barely sleep!
                • nyanyanya
                  nyanyanyaWednesday, May 7, 2014 at 5:19 pm55 stars
                  This book is REALLY awesome! It is about a girl that lives in a world where certain people are born with special powers. She is an orphan and one day in discovers she might be one of them. And that's not all. She could be one of the most rare and powerful!!! I won't give any spoilers, so read it yourself and find out what happens!
                  • tangt
                    tangtMonday, September 30, 2013 at 1:56 pm55 stars
                    This book, in my opinion, was very amusing. I loved the heroine's personality and the way she viewed the world. Although she did almost fall to greed, she redeemed herself in the end. The book expresses morals over power. The ugly truth about humanity is that were are drawn to power, which leads to tyranny. This story does have a three sided romance. And the book surrounds the idea of darkness and death. Just keep in mind, in pitch black there is always light.
                    • nancydrew963
                      nancydrew963Sunday, September 15, 2013 at 9:33 pm55 stars
                      after i read this book, it was my favorite book forever and ever. this book is timeless and the writing is so memorable!! every inch of shadow and bone is pure perfection. i was thrilled to hear that it was a series, and was instantly obsessed with it 24/7 for two weeks. i gobbled up shadow and bone and wished that siege and storm would arrive sooner in my hands!! we all, unfortunately, have to wait for Ruin & Rising to come out in 2014, but on the bright side, there might be a movie coming out in 2015! if you like fantasy, romance, surprises, adventure, and utterly PERFECT, AMAZING writing, then the Grisha Trilogy is for you!!