Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises

Book 1 of 4 in the Seven Wonders Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.166312

New York Times Bestselling Series!

“A high-octane mix of modern adventure and ancient secrets. The Colossus Rises is Lerangis’s most gripping work yet. Young readers will love this story. I can’t wait to see what’s next in the Seven Wonders series!” —Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series

Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in master storyteller and 39 Clues author Peter Lerangis’s epic Seven Wonders series.

The Colossus Rises is the first installment of the bestselling five-book series chronicling the story of Jack McKinley, an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he’s going to die—unless he finds seven magic Loculi that have been hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

Young readers will learn all about the history and mysteries of the ancient world while savoring this unputdownable story from first page to last.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on February 5, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062070401
ISBN-13: 9780062070401
21 Book Reviews
  • 4usa
    4usaSunday, May 3, 2020 at 7:07 am44 stars
    This is a pretty good book! It's about these 13 year old kids who find out that they are descendant of the royal family of Atlantis! This also means that they have a gene that while gives them super human abilities will also kill them unless they go and find these lost items from Atlantis!
    • Da Elite BallerMonday, November 14, 2016 at 4:10 pm
      One of my favorite books. Very suspenseful and adventurous!!
      • kamikaze889Tuesday, June 14, 2016 at 6:01 am
        some one read the five kingdoms series
        • ck3
          ck3Saturday, January 2, 2016 at 8:44 am
          I read this book and the second one!They were good!
          • benc21
            benc21Friday, January 1, 2016 at 8:26 pm55 stars
            It all started when Jack McKinley was defending a kid from the school bully, then he blacked out and was on hospital on a tropical island. He soon meets three other teens: Aly, a pink-haired computer whiz; Cass, who is terrified of heights, but has an amazing photographic memory; and Marco, a super-athlete. It was told that all four of them shared a same dream in mysterious organization called K.I. set on an secret deserted island where no one knows. And these kids have all got one thing in common: they’re about to die. Each one of them possesses the G7W genetic marker, which was told to allow some kind of superhero potential. Although, it also causes illness that will kill each teen before the age of 14 unless an ancient mystery can be resolved. I really liked this book because the book is full of mysteries and the author Peter Lerangis always keeps you guessing what will happen next.
            • Ahh!!!Friday, November 27, 2015 at 4:07 am
              So GOOD!!!
              • gtaylor505
                gtaylor505Monday, November 16, 2015 at 7:35 am44 stars
                I loved reading this book and all of the others in the series, and I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes action-packed, fun, exciting books with cliffhangers around every turn. I sincerely hope you read this series (if you haven't already) and enjoy it as much as I did
                • ballisticsquid
                  ballisticsquidTuesday, June 17, 2014 at 10:48 am55 stars
                  i love it because it has a crazy suspense
                  • efabre
                    efabreTuesday, June 3, 2014 at 11:58 am55 stars
                    This book was very well written. It has a very simple story line, but keeps you on your toes. This action packed book is definitely worth the read, so I recommend this book alot! It will leave you speechless and you will not want to put the book down.
                    • super
                      superTuesday, April 29, 2014 at 6:41 am55 stars
                      I loved this book!