Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on October 3, 2017 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481486292
ISBN-13: 9781481486293
417 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jkbear
    jkbearTuesday, November 10, 2020 at 2:09 pm55 stars
    this is a great book!!!!
    • SpoilerThursday, November 5, 2020 at 6:34 pm
      Brian survives and lives!!!
      • quarantined
        quarantinedWednesday, November 4, 2020 at 10:33 am55 stars
        I am in the middle of reading this book! Don't spoil it!
        • palaila09
          palaila09Wednesday, October 28, 2020 at 11:30 am55 stars
          I read this for school with my class, and honestly I will say this book is absolutely Wonderful!!!
          • gabbie1004
            gabbie1004Monday, October 26, 2020 at 3:36 pm55 stars
            I read this story for school already, and I am so amazed by the courage and how strong brian is. I love it.
            • quarantined
              quarantinedMonday, October 26, 2020 at 3:30 pm55 stars
              I want to read this book sooo bad!
              • ady_rae_13
                ady_rae_13Monday, October 26, 2020 at 10:29 am55 stars
                Wow this book was so good but I think the book after this Brian's Winter was better because it had more action.
                • adyrae13
                  adyrae13Monday, October 26, 2020 at 10:25 am55 stars
                  Wow hatchet is the best book so I also read Brian's Winter which was way more action and made it better.
                  • dangman84
                    dangman84Sunday, October 25, 2020 at 10:53 am44 stars
                    Hatchet is about a 13 year old boy named Brian Robeson. He’s on his way to his dad’s when his plane crashes. He ends up in the Canadian forest with only the hatchet he got from his mom as a gift. Brian has to figure out a way to survive, or else he won’t make it. I found this book exciting and adventurous. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars because although it’s a great book, I don’t really like adventurous things or things that have to do with the wilderness. I’d recommend this book to middle schoolers or kids 12 and older.
                    • aman12345
                      aman12345Friday, October 23, 2020 at 10:50 am33 stars
                      Hatchet is about a thirteen year old boy named Brian Robson (born in New York) stuck in the Canadian wilderness alone. My opinion on Brian is that he is a strong independent teen. I like Brian because he never gave up throughout the book. Trying to survive during this experience, Brian comes across many animals such as moose, bear, wolf, porcupine, and much more. My favorite parts about Hatchet was how Brian hunted and the tools he used. My least favorite parts are what put Brian into his horrible situation and that fact that Brian's parents had a divorce. Would I recommend this book? Yes I would recommend this book for ages ten to one-hundred (due to language).