Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 2 - 5S3.91615

Brave Irene is Irene Bobbin, the dressmaker's daughter. Her mother, Mrs. Bobbin, isn't feeling so well and can't possibly deliver the beautiful ball gown she's made for the duchess to wear that very evening. So plucky Irene volunteers to get the gown to the palace on time, in spite of the fierce snowstorm that's brewing-- quite an errand for a little girl.

But where there's a will, there's a way, as Irene proves in the danger-fraught adventure that follows. She must defy the wiles of the wicked wind, her most formidable opponent, and overcome many obstacles before she completes her mission. Surely, this winning heroine will inspire every child to cheer her on.

Brave Irene is a 1986 New York Times Book Review Best Illustrated Book of the Year.

Hardcover, 32 pages
Published on December 1, 2011 by Particular Books
ISBN-10: 1846145260
ISBN-13: 9781846145261
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kcloveballet
    kcloveballetTuesday, November 24, 2020 at 12:54 pm55 stars
    This is a very good book
    • mykyhelu-160562100739
      mykyhelu-160562100739Tuesday, November 24, 2020 at 11:16 am44 stars
      The World can be a tough place for someone who has a lot of responsibility.In the story, “Brave Irene” by William steig,Irene is fase to fase with responsibility.And she fases life or death situations to get a dress to the duchess in a snowstorm.”Brave Irene”teaches readers to never give up and cepe tring.This is true when she did not give up when the whined told her to go howem,fell down a small cliff and cepe trying to get down safely the last when she felt like she should freeze to death.But she keep going. One time in the middle of ,“Brave Irene” readers can see thighs get very bad for Irene when the wind told her to go howem.Because she is delivering a dress to the duchess in a show storm. The text says “Irene turned around and pressed on backwards “ Go home!”the wind squalled.” The athear usd dialog to show us how Irene was feeling. Another time ruffly in the middle of that thighs get harder and harder for Irene.When she fell off of the clif.In the text stats ,“sloosh!thwump!---she plunged downward and was buried.She had fallen off a little cliff.” and she did not to give up, “She laid the box down and climbed aboard.But it pressed into the snow and stuck. She tried again.” In the end of ,“Brave Irene” we can see Irene is dune with the panyn. She is ready to go into the light .Because she misses her mom and her home.The text stats”Wiy not freeze to death, she thought,and let all these troubles and.why not?” But she didn't give up.The athear usd dialog to show us how Irene was feeling. As you can see the story ,“Brave Irene”by William Steig.Irene is very brave when she risks her life,and never gives up .From now on I will never give up. She is well spirited and that might help her later on in life.When the whined told her to go howem,fell down a small cliff and cepe trying to get down safely the last when she felt like she should freeze to death.But she keep going.In conclusion ,“Brave Irene” will make a great impact on lots of readers.
      • MelodyTuesday, November 24, 2020 at 11:12 am
        In life you need to not give up because a girl named lrene dini’t up and she has been throw a lot things in the short story Brave lrene wanted to give the dress to the duchess instead of her mom doing it in the story, “Brave Irene” by William staig Irene learns to not give up because if she gave up she would’nt be where she is right now. She probably went to see her mom face again and The Duchess would’nt get the dress that she wanted, Irene would just be freezing in the cold with nothing no blanket and it’s snowing she can’t even make a fire because snow is pretty much water and you need to put on a fire with water one reason when lrene did it give up is when the wind told her to go home thing, another reason is she fell in a hole For example the wind told her to go home lrene was scared but she didn't get up because she wanted to make her mom proud and not waste all of her mom's time stitching up The Duchess dress that's how she never give up and in the text it says, “the wind said go home lrene said I will do no such thing”. Another example is that she is brave to go bring the duchess her dress. this shows that lrene is brave. Another example is lrene I was looking for the dress after she lost it and she couldn't see with all the snow in her eyes and she fell in a hole and twisted her leg I'm sure it hurt but Irene kept on walking on the path. In the text she, “said ouch and there was a little tear that went down her cheek she wipt it off quickly so it won't freeze on her face”another example that she is brave is to go when it’s snowing. this shows that lrene is brave. Another example is she was freezing but she kept on walking and she was so cool a lot and she just kept on going on and he didn't think that you were going to die. And she was thinking about her mom and how she wanted to get back to her mom because she was really sick. In the text it says that she was, “shuffling through the snow.'' Another example that she is Brave is to takc care of her mom. This shows that lrene is brave. As you can see lrene it is very carrying and she is loving and she is very brave because she loves her mom and she does the work for her mom and she gives her mom a quilt and she meets her some lemon tea with honey. And she never gives up because if she did give up then she cannot see her mom’s face again and The Duchess won'tl get her dress that she wants and everything will all be messed up. And I'm sure that thay will all Miss Irene even if they don't know her I think that this book was awesome because I really enjoyed it and it made a lot of sense and it is something that I will be again and again definitelyand I am happy that she accomplished what she wanted to do.
        • mykyhelu-160562100739
          mykyhelu-160562100739Tuesday, November 24, 2020 at 11:10 am44 stars
          The World can be a tough place for someone who has a lot of responsibility.In the story, “Brave Irene” by William steig,Irene is fase to fase with responsibility.And she fases life or death situations to get a dress to the duchess in a snowstorm.”Brave Irene”teaches readers to never give up and cepe tring.This is true when she did not give up when the whined told her to go howem,fell down a small cliff and cepe trying to get down safely the last when she felt like she should freeze to death.But she keep going. One time in the middle of ,“Brave Irene” readers can see thighs get very bad for Irene when the wind told her to go howem.Because she is delivering a dress to the duchess in a show storm. The text says “Irene turned around and pressed on backwards “ Go home!”the wind squalled.” The athear usd dialog to show us how Irene was feeling. Another time ruffly in the middle of that thighs get harder and harder for Irene.When she fell off of the clif.In the text stats ,“sloosh!thwump!---she plunged downward and was buried.She had fallen off a little cliff.” and she did not to give up, “She laid the box down and climbed aboard.But it pressed into the snow and stuck. She tried again.” In the end of ,“Brave Irene” we can see Irene is dune with the panyn. She is ready to go into the light .Because she misses her mom and her home.The text stats”Wiy not freeze to death, she thought,and let all these troubles and.why not?” But she didn't give up.The athear usd dialog to show us how Irene was feeling. As you can see the story ,“Brave Irene”by William Steig.Irene is very brave when she risks her life,and never gives up .From now on I will never give up. She is well spirited and that might help her later on in life.When the whined told her to go howem,fell down a small cliff and cepe trying to get down safely the last when she felt like she should freeze to death.But she keep going.In conclusion ,“Brave Irene” will make a great impact on lots of readers.
          • mgavinsk
            Mrs. GavinskiTuesday, November 24, 2020 at 11:05 am
            Have you ever wondered why in Brave Irene by William Steig Irene is determined to deliver the dress to the duchess? Well i can tell you that. She broke her ankle like it was nothing, she braved through deep snow, and she was just 6 or 7 years old. Irene is determined to get the dress to the dutchess. For example, how she broke her ankle like it was nothing. In the book, irene breaks her ankle and is just like “Meh.” and then she just keeps walking. In the text, it said “ she fell over into a hole with a twisted ankle and managed to get up and keep going.”. And also, if a 6 or 7 year old girl fell over and twisted her ankle, she would probably be like “AAAHHHH!!!!!” but she was like “meh” this shows that she was determined to get to the duchess. Irene is determined to get the dress to the duchess. Like she braved through deep snows. In the book, she was drowned many times by the snow but did not die. She just got up and was like “ I NEED TO GET TO THE DUCHESS SO BAD AND I WILL NOT CRY ABOUT IT BECAUSE I CAN'T BECAUSE I AM SO DEHYDRATED!” and in the text it said “ the snow was up to her knees.” and if snow was up to my knees i would be like “ ugg ugg oh this is so hard.” but she was like “ ( walking sounds)”. And also I am 10 and she is 6 or 7 so she is very determined. This shows she is determined to get to the dutchess. Irene is determined to get the dress to the duchess. Like how she is just 6 or 7 years old. In the book she gets hurt a lot and I think she probably would have got hypothermia but she did not die or cry. And if you look up brave irene on the internet, it will show a cover and if you look closely irene looks a lot like a 6 or 7 year old. And also in the text the mom said “ besides it is starting to snow.” and then Irene said “ but i love snow.” and a 6 or 7 year old woud normally love snow. This shows she is determined to get the dress to the duchess. Iren is determined to get the dress to the duchess. She broke her ankle like it was nothing, she braved through deep snow, and she was just 6 or 7 years old. And would you think that irene would not just yell at the wind when she can yell at herself for making herself go out in the snow?
            • mgavinsk
              Mrs. GavinskiTuesday, November 24, 2020 at 11:05 am
              This is an awesome review!
            • mrsbailey109
              Mrs. BaileyTuesday, March 1, 2016 at 7:17 am55 stars
              Brave Irene is an amazing story. William Steig tells the story of a brave girl who is determined to help her mother complete her mission of getting the dress to the duchess. Irene battles her emotions, all while trying to survive in a snow storm. This is a great book for kids to read. Kids can learn that it is good to be brave and keep your promises to others. We should never give up on our goals, no matter how hard it is to accomplish them. This is a short book and can be read in one sitting. This is a great read aloud or independent read for most 2-5 students.
              • nathangod06
                nathangod06Monday, February 29, 2016 at 3:12 pm
                I read this book.