Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.978527

There will be three, kin of your kin . . .

The wild cats have flourished in their new home on the banks of the lake for several seasons, and the Clans are growing strong and healthy with new kits. The time has come for three kits of ThunderClan to become apprentices.

Hollypaw, Jaypaw, and Lionpaw spring from a strong legacy: children of Squirrelflight and Brambleclaw, two of the noblest ThunderClan warriors, and grandchildren of the great leader Firestar himself. All three young cats possess unusual power and talent and seem certain to provide strength to the Clan for the next generation.

But there are dark secrets around the three, and a mysterious prophecy hints at trouble to come. An undercurrent of rage is rising against those who are not Clanborn, and the warrior code is in danger of being washed away by a river of blood. All the young cats' strength will be needed if the Clans are to survive.

. . . who hold the power of the stars in their paws.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on June 30, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062367080
ISBN-13: 9780062367082
21 Book Reviews
  • a_cast287
    a_cast287Monday, June 14, 2021 at 12:37 pm55 stars
    I love this book!! I love the whole series!! Jaypaw, Hollypaw, and Lionpaw are the main characters. Jaypaw may be blind but he sees more than the Clan knows. Lionpaw is a fierce fighter. Hollypaw has the smarts in the group. They are all part of a prophecy. "There will be three, kin of your kin . . . Who hold the power of the stars in their paws." Read the series and see what happens to these three cats of Thunder Clan.
    • thistle912
      thistle912Wednesday, July 15, 2020 at 2:48 pm44 stars
      “There will be three, kin of your kin...who hold the power of the stars in their paws.” The ancient prophecy was given to Firestar, leader of ThunderClan, and revolves around the lives of his grandchildren. Jaypaw, Lionpaw, and Hollypaw, the kits of Brambleclaw and Squirrelflight, are about to begin their warrior training as apprentices. They are the prophesied cats, destined to be the most powerful warriors who ever lived. Jaypaw is blind...but sees more than his siblings and friends think he does. He is apprenticed to Brightheart, a warrior, but feels restless and unhappy. Instead, he decides to train as a medicine cat, and becomes dedicated to healing ThunderClan’s cats for the rest of his life. Lionpaw is a great hunter and fighter already...which is why he’s being trained in his dreams by Tigerstar, an evil cat who almost destroyed ThunderClan. Unaware of the danger, he continues to see Tigerstar, learning things that no one could have imagined... And Hollypaw is the thinker, the smartest of her siblings, the one who ponders over every single thought and action. She is excited to become an apprentice, but she must choose who she wants to be; a warrior or a medicine cat? Three cats...one destiny. Read this book to find out what happens!
      • 4usa
        4usaSaturday, May 16, 2020 at 4:20 am55 stars
        This is the first book in a great series! It's about these three kits (Brambleclaw and Squirrelflights) named Jaykit, Lionkit, and Hollykit who find out that they are part of a powerful prophecy! Later in the book they become apprentices and find out that they all have great power in different ways!
        • warriorsgirl11
          warriorsgirl11Monday, March 16, 2020 at 6:40 pm55 stars
          Jaypaw must be very frustrated. Cats like Brightheart and Sorreltail treat him weirdly because he's blind. But I feel bad for Brightheart. Jaypaw was her first apprentice, and he kinda let her down. Hollypaw has a natural fighting instinct. And I think Lionpaw, Hollypaw, and Jaypaw are very big. Foxhunting during kithood?! Wow. Squirrelflight and Brambleclaw are right to be angry. Jaypaw's power is amazing.
          • c0quackityquack
            c0quackityquackSunday, November 5, 2017 at 10:13 am55 stars
            i read it ages ago. power of three is probably better than omen of the stars (i'm on book 4 of omen of stars)
            • rainbowpie14
              rainbowpie14Saturday, October 28, 2017 at 10:40 am55 stars
              Great. That word sums up this book. If you have read all of the Warriors books before this one, you should definitely try this!
              • jadynsMonday, January 4, 2016 at 7:05 pm
                I feel bad for Jaypaw because he is stuck in the medicine den worrying about other cats and finding herbs. Iknow the feeling of almost all your emotions mixed up but mostly frustrstrated.
                • jamyyy
                  jamyyyTuesday, December 22, 2015 at 2:10 pm
                  I love warriors and I like Hollypaw. Poor her, I feel like she takes ALL OF THE BLAME.
                  • horsewolf
                    horsewolfWednesday, December 23, 2015 at 7:08 am
                    OMG, I don't like Warriors AT ALL because I......LOVE IT!!!!!!
                  • horsewolf
                    horsewolfTuesday, December 22, 2015 at 7:12 am
                    Jaypaw became Jayfeather, ThunderClan's blind medicine cat. I LOVE WARRIORS!!!!!!
                    • jadynsMonday, December 21, 2015 at 11:51 am
                      I feel bad for Jaypaw because every one is treating him like a newborn kit.