Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.962217
Newbery honor winner, New York Times bestseller, Edgar Award Finalist, and E.B. White Read-Aloud Honor book.

A hilarious Southern debut with the kind of characters you meet once in a lifetime

Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC, where everyone's business is fair game and no secret is sacred. She washed ashore in a hurricane eleven years ago, and she's been making waves ever since. Although Mo hopes someday to find her "upstream mother," she's found a home with the Colonel--a café owner with a forgotten past of his own--and Miss Lana, the fabulous café hostess. She will protect those she loves with every bit of her strong will and tough attitude. So when a lawman comes to town asking about a murder, Mo and her best friend, Dale Earnhardt Johnson III, set out to uncover the truth in hopes of saving the only family Mo has ever known.

Full of wisdom, humor, and grit, this timeless yarn will melt the heart of even the sternest Yankee.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on December 31, 2013 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142426059
ISBN-13: 9780142426050
222 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • rainshine116
    rainshine116Sunday, June 17, 2018 at 4:40 pm55 stars
    Sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC. She washed up on the shore of the beach eleven years ago during a hurricane, and is still trying to find her 'upstream' mother. Though right now she lives with the Colonel who owns a café but has forgotten his whole past, and Miss Lana the café hostess. When somebody in Mo's town gets murdered things go a little out of hand. Will she and her best friend Dale Earnhardt Johnson III be able to solve this riveting mystery? Read this amazing book to find out!
    • tybook2018
      tybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 3:38 pm
      Three Times Lucky (Mo & Dale Mysteries) is an enjoyable mystery. And I wish that I was int eh book solving the mystery and being three times lucky.
      • nybook2018
        nybook2018Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 9:49 am
        Three Times Lucky (Mo & Dale Mysteries) is a book that i wish i was in because i would want to be Three Times Lucky!
        • eybook2018
          eybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:57 pm
          Three Times Lucky is a book that I really wish I was in and was a part of! I would wish that I had Three Times Lucky. It would be really cool.
          • applemango
            applemangoSunday, June 10, 2018 at 10:24 pm55 stars
            This is like a go to book when I'm bored because this book is filled with the memories of the stories that I used to like best!!!
            • snicker9
              snicker9Saturday, June 2, 2018 at 4:49 pm11 star
              Three Times Lucky was not a book that I enjoyed. The basic plot was a 12-year old trying to solving several murders and kidnapping cases. There are few books that I can't finish, or only finish because of obligation. Three Times Lucky was one of these books. Although the plot idea was interesting, and the writing style was very good, I think that the concept could have been executed differently. This is definitely a book for young adults, not younger kids. There were many gory scenes, and hair-raising experiences. It was basically a murder mystery. Overall, I do not suggest this book. Of course every person has the right to their own opinion.
              • cgwong908
                cgwong908Friday, June 1, 2018 at 8:13 am33 stars
                Mo LoBeau and her best friend, Dale, are sixth grade detectives. They have their work cut out for them. Starting from the murder of a grumpy customer at Mo’s stepfather’s (Colonel )café named Jesse Tatum, Colonel disappearing, Mo’s stepmother, Miss Lana, has been kidnapped and a deputy helped plot the crime. But, in the end, they are all reunited and have a great rest of the summer. My favorite part was the end because Mo and her “family” was reunited and lived happily ever after. They have overcome many obstacles. But in the end they got what they wanted, a happy life together. My favorite character is Mo. That’s because she is interesting. She doesn’t know who her real mother is because she was really young when her mother wrapped her in a blanket and left her in a river during a hurricane. She has been writing letters to her ”Upstream Mom” and writes her own autobiography. I recommend this book who loves mysteries and to people who love suspense and adventure.
                • kitkatkay77
                  kitkatkay77Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 8:24 am55 stars
                  I like mystery and detective books. This one was a good book to read. It had some interesting stories that lead up to the final chapter
                  • chacedaneil18
                    chacedaneil18Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:46 am
                    i love this book
                    • r0shni07
                      r0shni07Tuesday, May 29, 2018 at 6:51 pm44 starsFeatured
                      I have read this book multiple times and I really like it! This book was like a mystery. It is about these two characters Mo and Dale. When Mo was a baby, she got swept into a hurricane. Her mother tried to protect her. She did protect her but they ended up getting separated. Luckily she is found by Colonial. The people who take care of her are Colonial and Miss Lane. Miss Lane owns a cafe. Since her cafe is well known, people from all over the town come to eat there. One day a Detective comes into the cafe. He is on the hunt for a killer. He asks some questions. Surprisingly one day one of their customers is killed by the bridge. The detective now also needs to solve this case to. He thinks that these cases are related. Soon after that, Mo and Dale form the Desperado Detectives. They are suppose to solve cases. towards the end there is a big hurricane. They have to stay in for a little. After that they find the person who is guilty. I felt that this book was very interesting. It was also interesting how they solved the case. It is really interesting and I love the mystery! I recommend this to anyone!!

                      More TopicsView in 3D