Three Times Lucky (Mo & Dale Mysteries)

Book 1 of 4 in the Tupelo Landing Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.962217
Newbery honor winner, New York Times bestseller, Edgar Award Finalist, and E.B. White Read-Aloud Honor book.

A hilarious Southern debut with the kind of characters you meet once in a lifetime

Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC, where everyone's business is fair game and no secret is sacred. She washed ashore in a hurricane eleven years ago, and she's been making waves ever since. Although Mo hopes someday to find her "upstream mother," she's found a home with the Colonel--a café owner with a forgotten past of his own--and Miss Lana, the fabulous café hostess. She will protect those she loves with every bit of her strong will and tough attitude. So when a lawman comes to town asking about a murder, Mo and her best friend, Dale Earnhardt Johnson III, set out to uncover the truth in hopes of saving the only family Mo has ever known.

Full of wisdom, humor, and grit, this timeless yarn will melt the heart of even the sternest Yankee.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on December 31, 2013 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142426059
ISBN-13: 9780142426050
182 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • kc17
    kc17Sunday, July 16, 2017 at 9:23 am55 stars
    I love Three Times Lucky because no matter what the main character is going through he is determined to find his parents.
    • sadier
      sadierMonday, July 10, 2017 at 3:13 pm33 stars
      It was an ok book. They are all funny and make you laugh but it isn't my grade level of reading but I would definitely recommend it for younger kids.
      • belle252
        belle252Sunday, July 9, 2017 at 10:51 pm33 stars
        Personally i liked it but i did not like it the book had a great story line but it was just not my taste of reading. I just didn't get that special feeling i get in the books i like. Other people would maybe love to read this book but to me it wasn't the best.
        • casgirl
          casgirlSunday, July 2, 2017 at 3:50 pm44 stars
          i actually won this book on the DOGO site! it is the first book in the series and i really liked it. it's about unlikely friends who have to solve a murder mystery.
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Friday, June 30, 2017 at 4:18 pm
            Looks good I'm going to read it for summer reading😃
            • readingkendal
              readingkendalFriday, June 16, 2017 at 12:47 pm55 starsFeatured
              This book is a amazing!!!! It is about two characters who become detectives and solve a murder mystery. It has suspense, excitement, friendship, and a lot of fun! It involves Hurricane Amy and a flood which brings a lot of excitement! I recommend this to anyone who loves mystery, friendship, surprise, and much more!!!!!
              • diamondmuserart
                diamondmuserartSunday, June 11, 2017 at 11:08 pm
                im currently reading this book. so far i dont like it, because i love it. everyday i would predict what would happen next. the desciptive words help me with my writing for school.
                • annette
                  annetteFriday, June 9, 2017 at 1:25 pm44 stars
                  This is a great book with a mystery and suspense. I thought it was very interesting on how the main character, Mo (Moses), is still optimistic about finding her mother even though she has never know her mother.
                  • eidiener22
                    eidiener22Thursday, June 8, 2017 at 3:05 pm55 stars
                    This book is awesome and a little confusing if you do not know what a colonel is. This book is about a kid called Mo(short for Moses). (A girl). Mo was lost in a hurricane when she was one and wishes to find her mother again. Three Times Lucky is the first book in series.
                    • lovepopsrar445Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 8:27 am
                      i will read this book with my class