Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 3 - 4n/an/an/a
Leaving the safety of the demigod training ground, a disgraced Apollo embarks on a quest across North America to find a dangerous ancient-world Oracle while navigating the challenges of the evil Triumvirate.
Hardcover, 539 pages
Published on May 3, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1410495884
ISBN-13: 9781410495884
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • septembergirl
    septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:54 pm44 stars
    These books are so good!! Rick Riordan is one of my favorite authors! I have to say though I still love Percy Jackson more.
    • raveb772
      raveb772Monday, April 23, 2018 at 12:01 pm55 stars
      I just finished the Heroes of Olympus series and I LOOOOVED it. I really hope Leo Valdez is in this series
      • willb2026
        willb2026Monday, January 22, 2018 at 2:41 pm55 stars
        it was absolutly awesome. action packed and full of funny parts
        • mybooksandi
          mybooksandiSaturday, December 30, 2017 at 7:18 pm55 starsFeatured
          Ahhhh…. My winter break read. Before we get started, I am just going to put it out there, Rick Riordan is an artist. (Speaking from an actual artist’s perspective). He writes with such flow and ease that it feels like he is simply moving a brush against a canvas. Too metaphorical? I know, I realized. My point is, is that Rick Riordan’s books are works of art. (Is that a better metaphor for you!?) His whole fandom is based on a sort-of fractured mythology. (That is a phrase that I just created). Now, let’s stop talking about the beautiful, enchanting works of Uncle Rick that I adore with a full passion, and start with TTOA; The Dark Prophecy. ***Characters*** As you all would know the main character is no other than (!) Lord Apollo himself, which you would know if you read the first book. In which case, WHAT THE HECK ARE YOU DOING READ THE FIRST BOOK (AND MY FABULOUS REVIEW). Apollo (or poor pimple-filled Lester) – Apollo (or Lester) was the sort of character that you could not-not like. I loved being in his first person mind and reading how his thoughts about puny mortals (which I certainly am not) changed throughout the novel. For example- “ ‘Let the girl go,’ I whimpered through the pain. ‘Kill me and let her go’ “ And then, after his life flashed before his eyes, he thought, “I surprised myself. These were not the last words I had planned.” Meg McCaffrey- Meg was pretty, um, outgoing? She was the kind of person that didn’t really care about what will happen to her. You could say that she was Lester’s (Apollo) sidekick? But technically by the book, he really is her servant. You know what, I cannot explain this in a review, so GO READ THE NOVEL! There were other characters out there like Leo, Calypso, Emmie, and that other lady that was with Emmie that I forgot her name. Was it Jorge? Joe? Yea, it was Joe. Oh, and you can’t forget my buddy Lit! JUST LISTEN TO ME AND READ THE BOOK, YOU’LL UNDERSTAND MY JIBBERING… ***Build-up*** As I said in my first paragraph, Uncle Rick’s wonderful world is completely amazing. I, if you do not already know, am a rising author. I am trying to type a wonderful, original novel. Rick Riordan is GOALS, his writing is (I repeat) magnificent. His writing flows like paint. HE IS AN ARTIST! Okay, I’ll stop with the art references. In all, I really enjoyed this winter read. It was completely amazing and entertaining. And now, I bestow upon you a five-star rating. Congratulations, you stole Lana’s heart.
          • grapefruit
            grapefruitThursday, January 4, 2018 at 3:41 am55 stars
            Hi @mybooksandi let's just say: YOUR. REVIEW. IS. AMAZING. I have just pressed the follow button and let me just say again you are amazing at reviews. I LOVE the flair and fun in your review it is SO GOOD. Please follow me! We can be pals here :D -grapefruit
            • turtlenicole
              turtlenicoleTuesday, January 2, 2018 at 5:13 pm55 stars
              brilliant review!
            • booklover2017
              booklover2017Saturday, December 30, 2017 at 5:33 pm55 stars
              I literally finished this book yesterday. I like this series and it leaves me in suspense. I noticed that the books keep ending where Apollo is about to go on a quest.
              • alien9098
                alien9098Sunday, December 17, 2017 at 11:19 am55 stars
                Percy Jackson is awesome and so is mortal Apollo!!!!!
                • ajg15
                  ajg15Friday, November 24, 2017 at 5:30 pm55 stars
                  Ok first off, did anyone check the haiku (did I spell that right?) At the beginning of each chapter? Lol and second, SPRING OF 2018 IS WHEN THE NEXT ONE COMES OUT!? TO LONG!!!
                  • meadowlark12
                    meadowlark12Wednesday, January 3, 2018 at 2:54 pm
                    You did spell it right! Kind of a difficult word to spell.
                  • grapefruit
                    grapefruitWednesday, October 18, 2017 at 5:15 am55 stars
                    Another great book from Rick Riordan-no doubt my fave author!This is the second book in this series and I so,so,so, SO am lovin' it.I! WANT! THE! NEXT! BOOK!
                    • ladyirene
                      ladyireneThursday, September 7, 2017 at 5:00 pm55 stars
                      "There once was a god named Apollo, Who plunged into a cave blue and hollow, upon a three seater, A bronze fire eater, was forced madness and Death to swallow." LOVE THAT LIMERICK!!!
                      • bearwithbottom
                        bearwithbottomTuesday, August 29, 2017 at 8:10 pm55 stars
                        It's simply hilarious in Apollo perspective! I love Rick Riordan's books from Percy Jackson to Heroes Of Olympus to Trials Of Apollo to Kane Chronicles and Magnus Chase! 😍🤓

                        More TopicsView in 3D