Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3662 Book Reviews
  • corgiqueen
    corgiqueenSunday, May 30, 2021 at 12:41 pm55 stars
    This is an amazing book. So much emotion, so much fun to read!! You should totally read this!!😁😁😁
    • peachydayz_22
      peachydayz_22Friday, May 21, 2021 at 8:28 am55 stars
      Just beautiful.
      • eagle_fan11
        eagle_fan11Monday, May 17, 2021 at 3:49 am55 stars
        Love it!!
        • dolphinqueen18
          dolphinqueen18Thursday, May 13, 2021 at 2:40 am55 stars
          This book is so good! I got this book and read it three times in one day!
          • madamqueenbee
            madamqueenbeeMonday, May 10, 2021 at 12:06 pm44 stars
            This book is funny and the story of the book is so realistic, And I recommend the age of 11-13+ Because I think Little kids would be "Scared" of the blood coming out of her teeth, But the book is not mine so I think younger kids would also enjoy this book! :)
            • dream_beyond
              dream_beyondMonday, May 10, 2021 at 10:50 am55 stars
              Smile is a true story based on the author's life. Raina Telgemeier was very creative when she wrote this book. She took her past, one of her memories and put that into not just a regular book, but a graphic memoir ( funny, right now I'm learning about memoirs)! In this book there are moments that make you sad and other moments that make you laugh. The book tells you that even on a dark and rainy day in the end there is always a rainbow and sometimes you just can't help it but, well, Smile πŸ˜ƒ! I hope that if you decide to read this book, you would enjoy every moment of this book just as I enjoyed every moment of this book! One last thing, even 1 smile can turn someone's frown upside down!
              • alexa2008
                alexa2008Friday, May 7, 2021 at 9:48 am
                Honestly I love this book I had gotten it and now I read it every dayπŸ™ƒπŸ™‚πŸ™ƒπŸ™‚
                • lolguy72
                  lolguy72Friday, May 7, 2021 at 7:13 am55 stars
                  Lol it the best book i read it 10 times it best book everyone must read it
                  • ashdog3131
                    ashdog3131Thursday, May 6, 2021 at 8:29 pm55 stars
                    If u want drama and u are a teen like me u will love this book just like I do. I love smilie because it’s based on a regular teenage girl just like I am. Young love, the growth spurt and more! The book is someone average like u and me put into something amazing. I personally love this book because it’s about the author’s young childhood put in to action highly recommend this book if your look for a fun family classic drama!
                    • eagle_fan555
                      eagle_fan555Monday, May 3, 2021 at 12:28 pm55 stars
                      I loved this book so much it is a awesome book #LikeorFollow# if you agree!!