A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York
Times
bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of
Smile, Sisters,
Drama, and Ghosts!


Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it's probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school, where she's dealing with the usual highs and lows: friends, not-friends, and classmates who think the school year is just one long gross-out session. It soon becomes clear that Raina's tummy trouble isn't going away... and it coincides with her worries about food, school, and changing friendships. What's going on?

Raina Telgemeier once again brings us a thoughtful, charming, and funny true story about growing up and gathering the courage to face -- and conquer -- her fears.

Kindle Edition, 224 pages
Published on September 10, 2019 by Graphix
ISBN-10: 0545852536
ISBN-13: 9780545852531
583 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolFriday, May 29, 2020 at 11:19 am55 stars
    This book is about a girl who catches her sister's stomach bug. She thinks her troubles are gone but she realizes they aren't. She is afraid of the possibility of throwing up at her school and being made fun of. Her problem gets more serious which causes her to go to therapy. This book is based on a true story of Raina Telgemeier. I rate it 5/5 and recommend it to people who have read and enjoyed her other books.
    • bsc
      bscTuesday, May 12, 2020 at 5:50 pm55 stars
      This is a true story about Raina Telgemeier. One night both Raina and her mom catch her sister's stomach bug. She thinks her tummy troubles will be over when she returns to school, but they aren't! Plaus she's dealing with a mean girl. I give this book 5 stars.
      • Cookie Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 11:26 am
        I love this look so much it is so amazing
        • varroyo4324
          varroyo4324Wednesday, May 6, 2020 at 4:26 pm55 stars
          It is really really amazing.
          • sylvie55555
            sylvie55555Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 5:24 pm44 stars
            This book is really good! It's the 3 rd book in the Smile series written by Raina Telegemier. In this book Raina is trying to overcome her fears. Lately, it feels like she is scared of everything and everything upsets her stomach. As Raina learns more about her fears, she might be able to overcome them. But for this, she needs to see a therapist and she's not sure she's ready for that. Read the book to find out what happens next!
            • bookfan2008
              bookfan2008Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 4:10 pm44 stars
              This book is a true story graphic novel! It's about a girl named Raina. She is afraid of throwing up and eating. She catches her sisters stomach flu. She is really nerveous every time she needs to throw up. Then the day she comes to school she starts telling everyone aabout her stomach ache. They all get groosed out. Then that night she comes home and notices that her little brother Will is sick and has throw up a few times. She gets's really nervous and wants to escape, but it doesn't work. The next day she comes home from school and is afraid of getting close to her brother even though he's not sick anymore. Then the next day when she goes to school she notices that her friend isn't feeling well. She gets really nerveous cause she realizes that they shared food, sat next to each other and more. Then the mom can't stand it anymore so she takes Raina to a therapist. ( sorry I just kind of gave away the story!) Read this book to see want happens and how Raina deals with this!
              • juniper01
                juniper01Monday, May 4, 2020 at 11:03 am55 stars
                This is an amazing book also I need followers!
                • pizzagirl7
                  pizzagirl7Sunday, May 3, 2020 at 1:46 pm55 stars
                  One night Raina wakes up with a stomach ache and heads to the bathroom and sees her mom is there too. Raina and her mom both threw up ,so they think that they have Raina s little sister s stomach flu.after that Raina has to go to school .a lot of people have been having the stomach flu .One day someone at her school threw up .and Raina started to worry . She didn't want to catch it again or vomit .about half way through the book Raina is still having stomach aches but she went to the doctor and she is all fine.so she starts to go to a therapist. After that she starts to get better about getting so nervous that she thinks she has to puke.this is a great book and I rate it 5/5 stars 😁 -Pizzagirl7
                  • creativity37
                    creativity37Saturday, May 2, 2020 at 1:19 pm33 stars
                    To be honest, this book was decent. I didn't really love it as much as Raina Telgemeier's other books about her life (Smile and Sisters). It was just okay. In Guts, Raina Telgemeier tells her story about how she wakes up in the middle of the night with an upset stomach. Her mom's stomach isn't feeling too good either, so they assume it is probably just a stomach bug. When Raina returns to school, she deals with the usual at school: friends, not-friends, mean girls, classmates who think school is just one long gross-out session, etc. After a while, it becomes clear that Raina's stomach ache isn't going away and it shows with all her worries about food, school, and changing friendships. She is constantly worried about what people think of her. Will she work this problem out? I do recommend this book. As I said before, I don't think it was that good, but other people might like it. I think you would like it if you can relate to the short summery I described above. I also recommend it if you like her other books and sometimes are self-conscious. This book might help you (or anyone) understand that it's okay to be afraid sometimes and that you should try not to be judgmental.
                    • lenaplayzgames
                      lenaplayzgamesFriday, May 1, 2020 at 10:43 am55 stars
                      I love it! Please read the babysiter club if you liked this book <33