Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.840710
In this hilarious novel, written in the voice of eighth-grader Wyatt Palmer, Dave Barry takes us on a class trip to Washington, DC. Wyatt, his best friend, Matt, and a few kids from Culver Middle School find themselves in a heap of trouble-not just with their teachers, who have long lost patience with them-but from several mysterious men they first meet on their flight to the nation's capital. In a fast-paced adventure with the monuments as a backdrop, the kids try to stay out of danger and out of the doghouse while trying to save the president from attack-or maybe not.

Paperback, 224 pages
Published on March 12, 2019 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1368040594
ISBN-13: 9781368040594
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • aub112705
    aub112705Friday, April 22, 2016 at 6:19 pm
    very funny and mysterious.
    • pikachu1228
      pikachu1228Tuesday, February 23, 2016 at 6:48 pm55 stars
      Read this book if you want a great laugh! I really enjoyed it, especially being from Miami which is where the characters are from and then they fly to Washington DC on their 8th grade fieldtrip that goes crazy! One of my all time favorite books!
      • kathol
        katholTuesday, December 15, 2015 at 7:20 amFeatured
        The Worst Class Field Trip Ever Dave Berry Have you ever been on a class field trip? Well in this book Wyatt and Matt (protagonists) leave with their class to Washington DC from Miami Florida. All Wyatt wants to do is not let Matt embarrass him in front of his crush Suzan (another protagonist), On the plane there they see these weird guys and Matt messed up, big time. Matt thought the in weird guys backpack there was a bomb but it was a giant paper mache dragon head. The next day they see them at the White House sneaking around, they see Matt and Wyatt and start chasing them, But they made it to their bus in time. On my the bus on the way back to the hotel Matt tells Wyatt that he stole something that he thought was a bomb detonator (conflict). That night the weird guys come to there hotel room and kidnap Matt! (conflict) Luckily Suzan had kept it in her purse, after Cameron (a kid in Wyatt's hotel room, also a protagonist) has his dad that tell him it's a jammer (jams missiles to go to unwanted targets) they think the guys plan to bomb the White House. They try and form a plan to save the president and the White House.(turning point) They are also trying to save Matt but will they ever see him again? I really recommend this book to EVERYONE. The protagonists are the ones mentioned before and someone you don't expect. The antagonist is another person you won't expect, if I tell you who they are it will ruin the whole book for you. Another conflict is where they have is at the end where there is an epic showdown at the White House again don't want give anything away. Like I said before I would recommend this book to everyone and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
        • kjtennis
          kjtennisThursday, October 22, 2015 at 2:38 am55 stars
          It's time for the annual Washington D.C. eighth grade field trip, and Wyatt wants to take this time to relax and impress Suzana DelGado. But when he is seated next to Matt, the bus ride is anything but relaxing. On the way there, the boys spot two mysterious men seated behind them, talking about the White House. As they move through the city, they spot the men over and over again. Are the men plotting to destroy the White House? Can Wyatt and Matt save the president? Find out in this five-star book written by Dave Barry.
          • inventor60
            inventor60Tuesday, September 29, 2015 at 1:30 pm55 stars
            While getting into heaps of trouble in their class trip to the nation's capital, Wyatt and a few of his friends attempt to save the president from what they think is an attack.
            • catface173
              catface173Monday, September 28, 2015 at 2:28 pm44 stars
              ha ha ha lol. This book was pretty good. I would totally recommend this book to all book lovers old and young. . . .
              • bonnieh
                bonniehThursday, September 24, 2015 at 4:52 pm
                I want to red it because to me every field trip we had was fun and educational to all. since I want to read it I'm going to pick this as a prize
                • hullo
                  hulloMonday, September 21, 2015 at 2:34 pm
                  I read this book with my mom and enjoyed it. It was a wonderful book about a kid named Wyatt Palmer who goes on a field trip to Washington. While he's there he goes through many adventures and ends up saving the president.
                  • Will HarrisFriday, August 28, 2015 at 1:05 pm
                    I liked this book alot. I got a copy signed by the auther.
                    • coreycole
                      coreycoleFriday, August 28, 2015 at 12:46 pm55 stars
                      sooooo funny i wish i could go on class trips like this one neat things could happen my teachers could go a little crazy and i could come home and tell my brother all about it and he could be so jealous