Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 4 - 6U5.256907

With the winning combination of Nancy Drew meets Shrek, this first book in the new Sisters Grimm series will entertain with a hilarious mix of mysteries and fairy tale twists.

In the tradition of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and The Spiderwick Chronicles comes a new humorous mystery of fantastic circumstances. The Sisters Grimm (Book One): The Fairy Tale Detectives introduces us to two orphaned sisters, Sabrina and Daphne, who are sent to live with their mysterious grandmother, Relda Grimm. Grandmother Grimm lives in a strange town in New York State, known for it's extraordinary number of unexplained and unusual crimes. As soon as the sisters arrive, they begin to unravel a mystery that leads to their ancestors' magical beginnings. Sabrina and Daphne learn they are descendants of the Brothers Grimm, who were actually detectives of the magical phenomenon perpetrated by the Everafters, a parallel race of magical beings. They soon discover it is the Grimm family's legacy to keep the Everafters in line and the two sisters are the sole heirs to this challenge!

In this first book in the series, the girls are pitted against giants, who have been rampaging through town in their search for an Englishman named Jack, currently working at the Big & Tall store.

In a new breed of mystery that intermingles humor, excitement, adventure and imagination, The Sisters Grimm Book One: The Fairy Tale Detectives will inject the legends of fairytale with modern day sensibilities and suspense, creating an irresistible combination young readers will love!

Paperback, 304 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by Amulet Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 1419720058
ISBN-13: 9781419720055
89 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Jazzy0023Mae004Monday, April 29, 2019 at 2:12 pm
    i think this book has a BRILLIANT plot and is very eye catching:)
    • tapipodokigohy
      tapipodokigohyFriday, February 15, 2019 at 11:03 am22 stars
      I read this book for a class assignment and found the plot kind of predictive. I would have wished it to be more mysterious and a more inventive plot. All around it was okay and I would recommend if you love a good fractured tale!
      • y22adiFriday, February 15, 2019 at 11:01 am
        This book was good the ending the middle and the end was amazing my favorite part was when Sabrina starts scolding jack about they need to hurry and rescue there grandma
        • ryhakynopiduze
          ryhakynopiduzeFriday, February 15, 2019 at 11:00 am44 stars
          I read this book for a reading group and it is really good. I would recommend it for anyone who likes a mystery. The Sisters Grimm has a lot of details and is very interesting. Also if you like fairy tale characters you would like this book.
          • kilybygiledubi
            kilybygiledubiFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:58 am55 stars
            I love the book it is so cool. It's basically about These kids named Sabrina and Daphne and they have to learn how to survive in a orphanage but than they realize that there Grandma, Relda, And they have to fight giants and monsters. It's basically a whole bunch of fairy tale books combined, I love the book and I hope you do too!!!
            • febywaxokexygo
              febywaxokexygoFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:58 am33 stars
              I think that this book needs a little bit more of a mystery but overall I liked it! It's just that they are just talking about fairy tales so we know how they are going to end. I just think that they need to add more of a mystery to it so that it is more interesting.
              • goldbergs_024
                goldbergs_024Friday, February 15, 2019 at 10:58 am44 stars
                I loved this book! The Two sisters Sabrina and Daphne have been in and out of homes since their parents went missing 1 1/2 years ago. Sabrina doesn't trust her grandmother until her grandma, Grandma Relda, was kidnapped. Her, her sister, and Puck have to rescue her. This is a great book!
                • olives51
                  olives51Friday, February 15, 2019 at 10:57 am22 stars
                  In my opinion I really didn't like this book. That does not mean that other people cant like this book. I found it very repetitive and hard to follow. How every I did like the story line that came along with the book.
                  • rebuvymikogobi
                    rebuvymikogobiFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:57 am44 stars
                    The book is a mystery and really interesting. It all ways made me want to read more. The two main are Sabrina and Daphne
                    • xxxtentacion-ch
                      xxxtentacion-chFriday, February 15, 2019 at 7:11 am55 stars
                      I read this book at school because the three reading teachers split up their classes and I got put in The Sisters Grimm group. The book is filled with a lot of popular fairy tale characters and some unpopular fairy tale characters. If you do read The Sisters Grimm then you should probably start with book one or if you can easily find out what is going on then you can probably start with book two. If you like fairy-tales but you also like chapter books then I recommend The Sisters Grimm book because it's a fairy tale chapter book.