In a city that runs on a dwindling supply of magic, a young boy is drawn into a life of wizardry and adventure. Conn should have dropped dead the day he picked Nevery's pocket and touched the wizard's locus magicalicus, a stone used to focus magic and work spells. But for some reason he did not. Nevery finds that interesting, and he takes Conn as his apprentice on the provision that the boy find a locus stone of his own. But Conn has little time to search for his stone between wizard lessons and helping Nevery discover who—or what—is stealing the city of Wellmet's magic.

Paperback, 448 pages
Published on April 21, 2009 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 006137590X
ISBN-13: 9780061375903
51 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • mar charTuesday, December 12, 2017 at 3:47 pm
    I LOVE MAGIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • kr123
      kr123Friday, December 8, 2017 at 8:31 am55 stars
      Magic Thief is a good book. Conn does not know that he is an apprentice until he tries to steal Neverys locus magicalicus. Now if you touch a locus magicalicus it is suppose to kill you, but for some reason it did not kill Conn. Nevery finds that interesting, sooner or later Conn started to be Neverys helper until he has to try and fins his own magicalicus. Will he ever find his magiclicus? Read Magic Thief and find out!
      • garfield1234567
        garfield1234567Friday, December 8, 2017 at 8:23 am55 stars
        I love the book because i love fantasy and the fact that Conn was a thief that one day a strange man that looked like he had a strange thing in his pocket then Conn took it and then a strange thing happen then he found out he has to save the magic of Wellment that is something else i like about the book so meany Clive hanger.
        • ctiger123456789
          ctiger123456789Friday, December 8, 2017 at 8:23 am55 stars
          The Magic Thief is a thrilling book that will have you looking in every library for the next book in the series. It has cliffhangers that will leave you wanting to read more. like when conn really what to be neverys apprentice but he needs to find his locus magicalicus but only has 30 days and finding it gets him in a lat of trouble. To find out what happens read on bealive me you will not be disaponted.
          • alexu350
            alexu350Friday, December 8, 2017 at 8:23 am55 stars
            I love the book becuase of how exciting it is I also love how its a fantasy series. My favorite charactars are Nevery, Conware and Benet. The main settings are Wellmet, Twilight, Heartsease these are most of the places they visit in the book. I think you will like ths book becuase it is a book with lots of action and exitment in it.
            • iliketurtle567
              iliketurtle567Friday, December 8, 2017 at 8:22 am55 stars
              This book is perfect for all grades. This book is the first book in the series. Connwear is a young thief that lived in the streets of Welmet before he meet Nevery. Nervery is a wizard and the only way to use magic is by a stone called a locusmagicalicus,and every wizard needs one in order to use the magic of Welmet. But Connwear notices the magic is getting weaker. Well Connwear be able to save the magic?
              • pinapplesea
                pinappleseaFriday, December 8, 2017 at 8:22 am
                I think that magic thief is a good book Conn and Nevery are the main characters this book is a fantasy book The Magic thief has series to Conn is a thief/ a apprentice Nevery is a wizard/ an old man the setting is In The twilight, Wellmet, and Heartsease. Will Conn find his locus Magicalicus? I CHALLENGE YOU to read this book!!!! hurry before they spoil it.'
                • juanita1324
                  juanita1324Friday, December 8, 2017 at 8:21 am
                  Magic thief is about a apprentice called Conn and his teacher is called Nevery. Conn used to be a thief and he used to live in the Twilight. He tries to steal from Nevery he goes in his pocket and pulls out a stone that has magic in it and he gets nearly gets killed. Read on to find out
                  • amartinez8226
                    amartinez8226Friday, December 8, 2017 at 8:20 am55 stars
                    This book is amazing. It's very interesting, I would recommend it for you. Even I have to read book 2. Connwaer a "Gutter Boy" and Nevery a "Wizard". But one thing does Conn get a locus stone or does he has to go back to being a thief? Read and find out.
                    • mynameisjeff876
                      mynameisjeff876Friday, December 8, 2017 at 8:20 am55 stars
                      I think this book is awesome! Conn changes a lot when he met with Nevery. Nevery chose him as his apprentice. he is lucky not to die when he touched Nevery's locusmagicalicus . Nevery is a wizard. Conn and Nevery are trying to find out who is stealing the magic. this is a fantasy book. this book is fun to read. it is fast but interesting, it is a mystery. to find out more read the book.