"This ghost story gave me chill after chill. It will haunt you." -- R.L. Stine, author of Goosebumps
"Do you know what it feels like to be forgotten?"

On a cold winter night, Iris and her best friend, Daniel, sneak into a clearing in the woods to play in the freshly fallen snow. There, Iris carefully makes a perfect snow angel -- only to find the crumbling gravestone of a young girl, Avery Moore, right beneath her.

Immediately, strange things start to happen to Iris: She begins having vivid nightmares. She wakes up to find her bedroom window wide open, letting in the snow. She thinks she sees the shadow of a girl lurking in the woods. And she feels the pull of the abandoned grave, calling her back to the clearing...

Obsessed with figuring out what's going on, Iris and Daniel start to research the area for a school project. They discover that Avery's grave is actually part of a neglected and forgotten Black cemetery, dating back to a time when White and Black people were kept separate in life -- and in death. As Iris and Daniel learn more about their town's past, they become determined to restore Avery's grave and finally have proper respect paid to Avery and the others buried there.

But they have awakened a jealous and demanding ghost, one that's not satisfied with their plans for getting recognition. One that is searching for a best friend forever -- no matter what the cost.

The Forgotten Girl is both a spooky original ghost story and a timely and important storyline about reclaiming an abandoned segregated cemetery.

"A harrowing yet empowering tale reminding us that the past is connected to the present, that every place and every person has a story, and that those stories deserve to be told." -- Renée Watson, New York Times bestselling author of Piecing Me Together
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on November 5, 2019 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338317245
ISBN-13: 9781338317244
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • laineysksksksk
    laineyskskskskSunday, November 24, 2019 at 9:05 am55 stars
    I had this in my school library we had book fair
    • Pamela Sunday, November 24, 2019 at 7:44 am
      The book is awesome
      • AveySunday, November 24, 2019 at 2:37 am
        I LOVE THE BOOK .My mummy loves it to 🦄💯
        • omoon
          omoonSaturday, November 23, 2019 at 1:21 pm
          I decided to read this book because it is so interesting. Kris is so bad but Danial is good.
          • Ella🦄🍀Friday, November 15, 2019 at 10:29 am
            I love the book
            • taylor513
              taylor513Wednesday, November 13, 2019 at 7:25 am55 stars
              I SAW THIS IN MY BOOKFAIR
              • Bunny🐰Monday, November 11, 2019 at 2:05 pm
                This book is at my book fair and I loved the preview..... And read the book love it a great concept.
                • izzy_dancelover
                  izzy_danceloverMonday, November 11, 2019 at 6:57 am55 stars
                  I am not done with this book but I definitely recommend it. It is amazing if you like mystery and thrill. It is my favorite book!!!! I love it !!!
                  • yeeted_sprinkle
                    yeeted_sprinkleThursday, November 7, 2019 at 9:32 am
                    She finds a grave with the name of Avery Monne and so she couldn't get her mind off of it and so they had to do an essay on on abandoned graves her and her best friend do research on and and finally found out that it was a black only grave will she pay her respect to it???
                    • shantzj
                      shantzjFriday, November 15, 2019 at 3:57 pm
                      Are you done with the book yet, I just started! The first chapter is the best! Oh, and on the back R.L. Stine says something about it, it's a good thing. Oh, and do you think R.L. Stine was his real name? ~Probably Not, Right?~ ~Bye, yeeted_sprinkle~
                    • shantzj
                      shantzjWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 5:54 pm
                      This book seems so interesting. I have not read it yet but I saw a video for it for our scholastic book fair. It is so interesting and I really wonder what it will be like. It seems like the coolest mystery. The best ghost story, and don't forget NEW! ~Bye Guys~