Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on October 3, 2017 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481486292
ISBN-13: 9781481486293
380 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • thinker123
    thinker123Tuesday, September 22, 2020 at 2:49 pm44 stars
    Nice survival book. I don't want to spoil anything but basically in the very beginning his plane crashed and the pilot died from a heart attack. He had to survive on his own and learn to do many things. If you like the book I suggest reading the other books in the series.
    • teagytornado101
      teagytornado101Friday, July 31, 2020 at 2:41 pm55 stars
      3 words: BEST.BOOK.EVER
      • laynebot5
        laynebot5Tuesday, June 30, 2020 at 10:24 am55 stars
        My mom read it when she was my age and she gave it to me and then I loved it it's about a kid named Brian and he had to survive a plain crash
        • willow123goma
          willow123gomaSunday, May 31, 2020 at 7:13 am44 stars
          This book shows the adventure of a boy whose plane crashed on an wilderness in Alaska, and he was the only one to survive. He has a hatchet that his Mom gave him, no food,and battered up clothes on his back . Yet he survives and paves out a life for himself in the wilderness . Definitely read this book!
          • bryton the broMonday, April 13, 2020 at 9:45 am
            I think this book is good. 5 stars.
            • natcat13
              natcat13Tuesday, March 3, 2020 at 11:43 am44 stars
              Hatchet is about a boy named Brian who is going to visit his dad. His plane crashed on the way there. He has to survive for months waiting to be rescued using only a hatchet that his mom gave him. It is a really great book, but it is a little predictable, that is why I'm only giving it four stars. Overall it is a great book, and I would read it again.
              • forever_toast09
                forever_toast09Thursday, February 27, 2020 at 6:47 pm55 stars
                This is a wonderful book! It's about hunting and the wilderness, it is a pretty serious book so i wouldn't recommend the book to people who don't like to read serious books. I recommend this book to grades 5-7 because some words in the book could be hard to pronounce for 5th and 6th graders. Overall, I loved this book!
                • cmansell
                  cmansellFriday, January 10, 2020 at 10:42 am44 stars
                  Hatchet is a book about Brian who is going to visit his dad in Canada. On his way, his plane crashes. All he has to survive is a hatchet,his mom gave him. He survives on his own for a while and lived. Action packed. I'm rating it four stars, because it was predicting.
                  • ksbenn19
                    ksbenn19Wednesday, November 20, 2019 at 6:30 pm55 stars
                    Hatchet tells a great story about how hard it is to live off the wild after living in modern society. Brian has to learn most of his skill for himself without any help. Brian starts out as a normal city child, but after he is forced to survive on his own, he becomes in tune with nature, and this is investigated further in later books in the series.
                    • kaiguy
                      kaiguyWednesday, November 20, 2019 at 3:34 pm
                      It's a very interesting book, I think there is a movie