The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, Book 1)

Book 1 of 3 in the The Hunger Games Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2159 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • jellyslime001
    jellyslime001Thursday, July 20, 2017 at 11:23 am55 stars
    The hunger games. More than a vicious game the Capitol made, this book is about love, and what family would do in order to risk themselves more than their siblings. Katniss Everdeen is a wonderful hunter that can withstand this whole game. With the help of her lover, Peeta, she still stands to the end of this horrible game. However, because of her wrong choice of trying to eat a poisonous berry to not kill her loved one, her consequences keep on lingering by her side. Even to the end of this book Mrs. Collins continues to make my heart beat.
    • hernaday001
      hernaday001Monday, July 17, 2017 at 1:51 pm
      cool
      • duckie2085
        duckie2085Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 5:59 pm33 stars
        I know a lot of people like this book, but I didn't think it was that good. First of all, even though I didn't look up any spoilers I knew that Katniss was going to win the Hunger Games, although I didn't expect the whole thing with Peeta. And by the way, sorry if I spoiled it. It was kind of cheesy even though people say a lot of books have been based off of this. Overall, if this is your type of book, go ahead. Just not for me.
        • evaizabooknerd
          evaizabooknerdWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 7:01 pm55 stars
          The Reaping is here. Katniss's little sister, Prim, is chosen. Not just for the Hunger Games, but to die. How could a malnourished 12 year old girl win against 23 older, stronger people? She can't. That's why Katniss takes her place. She is whisked off to months of beauty treatments and has grip of almost whatever she wants. Then the Hunger Games arrive. Will she be strong enough to survive, and be able to save Peeta, the love of her life? This gripping novel full of love, hate and what it means to put someone else's life before your own, will make you think of life in a whole new perspective.
          • kiwi2006
            kiwi2006Tuesday, June 6, 2017 at 4:43 pm55 stars
            I have read all three books in the series it is very important to start with the first book I love the courage of Katniss Everdeen and I wish that her and Gail ******spoiler alert**** Would Have Made It
            • ncullen3046
              ncullen3046Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 8:41 pm
              This book is so good! I couldn't put it down and read it in two days. I love Katniss as a character and I like how she is a strong character role model.
              • nerd_life
                nerd_lifeThursday, May 18, 2017 at 3:09 pm
                I'm reading this right now!!! its rlly good. any body who has not read it yet, u better start because the hunger games is amazing.
                • maddiehatter
                  maddiehatterThursday, May 18, 2017 at 8:24 am
                  I want to read this book. It sounds good.
                  • vv77
                    vv77Tuesday, May 16, 2017 at 3:58 pm55 stars
                    The first movie was so amazing i saw them all
                    • Izzy HoerrSunday, May 7, 2017 at 10:06 am
                      This book is amazing, I could read it over and over again