Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2238 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • olliebob
    olliebobFriday, June 15, 2018 at 9:01 pm55 stars
    The Hunger Games is an interestingly written book about a dystopian nation called Panem, built where North America used to lie. I finished this book in two days, because I had so much trouble putting it down! I couldn't help but stay up past midnight devouring this book. In Panem, there are 12 districts surrounding The Capitol. There used to be 13, until an uprising. Well, The Capitol couldn't have that, could they? So they defeated District 13 and all that was left was the smoldering remains. To remind the districts just how powerful they are, they created the Hunger Games. Two kids between the ages of 12 and 18, a boy and a girl, from each district, is chosen to compete in the Games. This year, it's Primrose Everdeen. Katniss jumps to save her sweet little sister and puts herself in Prim's place. She is deposited into the Games along with a boy named Peeta. For reasons a bit difficult to explain, They're only chance to survive is to pretend to be in love. They know they can both live because the rules have been changed this year. There can be two winners, if they are from the same district. Finally, they are the only two left, when the rules are suddenly changed again. There must only be one survivor. In a last ditch effort, Katniss and Peeta attemp suicide together, leaving no victor. They are both allowed to live because of this. Because the defied the government, they are now targets. Katniss still pretends to be in love with Peeta. The only problem is, Peeta doesn't have to pretend. Katniss isn't even sure she's pretending either. This first installment in The Hunger Games series is thrilling, action-packed, and interesting. I would reccommend it to ages 14 and up, but that may be because my family is very careful about making sure things are age-appropriate. I might even go 13+, but you get the idea. It's not for little kids! Suzanne Collins, bravo! It's a great book I would definitely recommend!
    • icequeen1121
      icequeen1121Wednesday, June 6, 2018 at 9:23 am55 stars
      its one of the best books i've ever read. but, a lot of people are not allowed to read it for the violence. like my sister for example. one day she asked what it was and i gave her the stupidest anwer ever. that a bunch of hungry people go and play games for food. so when you talk abou this book you should really be careful who you talk to about it
      • hockey102
        hockey102Tuesday, May 29, 2018 at 12:29 pm55 stars
        This book is one of the most interesting books i've ever read
        • snibborj
          snibborjFriday, May 25, 2018 at 11:42 pm55 stars
          This book is so good that you cant put it down without finishing it first. The bond between katniss and her sister is so strong that she risks her life in the hunger games for her. The actual games are so intense to read and keeps you on edge. You just want katniss to survive the games. So thrilling and emotional!
          • infinitykid
            infinitykidWednesday, May 23, 2018 at 12:41 pm
            I love this book, I think it is action packed and is enticing I think that they could've definitely added more plot twist in the book to leave readers ready for the next but Is overall a great book. I would recommend this book for readers 10-17 because I think the complexion in the words are harder to read for some younger audiences. Since that is the case I think 10 is a good age to start because, you really start getting into reading higher level books and after 17 I don't think you would be as enticed to read it as much some people would but that is my personal opinion.
            • dokidoki
              dokidokiTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 6:48 pm55 stars
              The Hunger Games. A wonderful happy game full of food... aka paradise. NOPE. The Hunger Games is a televised event that happens every year in Panem. (a dystopian north america) It starts with a dreaded 'ceremony' called the reaping. Where they choose two children to participate in the games. Two from each district. It started when district 13 rebelled against the capitol. When Katniss Everdeen is chosen she is terrified about what the future holds for her. But when she starts a suprising friendship with her district buddy, peeta. Will Katniss survive the hunger games of will she fall de.ad like the past children. Find out by reading this amazing book. It's more for 11-15 year olds because of the violence, cursing, kissing, and in general adult content. Five star book by Suzanne Collins.
              • ranger51
                ranger51Friday, May 11, 2018 at 6:38 pm
                I LOVE archery and adventure in the outdoors... I have always enjoyed war movies and books, also competitions, and really loved Lord of the Flies... I already watched The Hunger Games movies and was wondering would I like this books and also if the movies would spoil them?
                • ranger51
                  ranger51Friday, May 11, 2018 at 6:39 pm
                  (P.S. I'm going to be a freshman next year... is this book a little young??)
                • cheetah909
                  cheetah909Thursday, May 10, 2018 at 1:01 pm55 stars
                  loving it
                  • libster04
                    libster04Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 9:23 am55 stars
                    By far my all time favorite books. They are so amazing!
                    • dannyshao103120
                      dannyshao103120Tuesday, May 8, 2018 at 2:08 pm55 stars
                      At first I only skim through the book and thought it is boring Then my friend read it and was into it so I read all of them My teacher has all of the books I admire Katniss courage

                      More TopicsView in 3D