Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2189 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • darebel
    darebelThursday, November 16, 2017 at 2:00 pm55 stars
    This was the best book series i have ever read in my life! And that's saying something, cuz I read a lot. Katniss is the best!!!
    • s42
      s42Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at 1:37 pm44 stars
      I quite like this book. I enjoyed it. This book is about a distopian society in which children are sent to kill each other in an arena. The main character is Katniss, and is sent to the Hunger Games after volunteering in the place of her sister. I recommend this book for people who love action and drama, as well as strong emotion in the books.
      • katniss_12
        katniss_12Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 5:44 pm55 stars
        BEST BOOK EVER!!! Look at my name if you don’t believe me! I’m totally obsessed with this book series!!! I even call my friends names from the hunger games characters!! LIKE THIS IF LOVE THIS BOOK!!πŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸ˜›πŸΉπŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›
        • darebel
          darebelThursday, November 16, 2017 at 2:02 pm55 stars
          I know, right? It's AMAZING. I am pretty much obsessed.
        • penz
          penzThursday, November 2, 2017 at 3:54 pm44 stars
          I am in the middle of the second one and can not wait to start the third one. my favorite one is the first one it has so much detail but not to much. They are my favorite books/series even better then Nancy Drew, Harry Potter, and the Lord of the Rings and the hobbit.
          • littlefoot
            littlefootSunday, October 22, 2017 at 4:29 pm55 stars
            Great a little bit kissy.
            • israelz19999999Friday, October 20, 2017 at 11:21 am
              sade but funny
              • annabel
                annabelMonday, October 16, 2017 at 5:01 pm55 stars
                I read the triology in like, only one week!
                • annabel
                  annabelMonday, October 16, 2017 at 4:59 pm55 stars
                  I love these books. And because it was such a big movie event before I read them, I knew the looks of all the actors and actresses which made it super easy to visualize! I LOVE CATNIP, AND YOU WILL TOO!
                  • penz
                    penzMonday, October 16, 2017 at 2:04 pm44 stars
                    I read it , I thought that I could never stop. when I was finished with it I went right in to the second one. I did not like it as much but I still liked it. I also watched all the movies they where as good as the books in my opinion.
                    • kittylover8786
                      kittylover8786Monday, September 25, 2017 at 1:17 pm55 stars
                      I loved this book when I read it I emediatly fell in love with it I would recomend it to anybody who loves adventure

                      More TopicsView in 3D