Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2198 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • ES.RThursday, January 11, 2018 at 8:38 am
    I love this book. I have read it several times, I have also watched the movies a bunch of times. I own the whole series (books and movies) I really enjoy to read mixtures of suspense, action, and I bit of violence. Along with this, I have also watched the walking dead. The walking dead is a bit similar by being out and trying to survive. Not only by the dead but by other people trying to survive themselves.
    • inh8
      inh8Tuesday, January 2, 2018 at 2:12 pm55 stars
      I read this book two years ago, and I still remember everything about it. Katniss is a girl who hunts illegally to keep her family fed. When people are being chosen to be put in an arena to fight to the death, Katniss's little sister, Prim, is chosen. Katniss takes her place, knowing she will probably be killed. Put against every challenge, Katniss tries to survive.
      • mathchamp
        mathchampFriday, December 15, 2017 at 12:51 pm55 stars
        This book was amazing!!!
        • firepause551
          firepause551Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 4:42 pm
          i heard this was a good book but i haven't read it should i??/ (A = OMG YASSSSS (B = NO THIS BOOK IS HORRIBLE)
          • dheb2
            dheb2Wednesday, December 13, 2017 at 8:16 am44 stars
            the book was very, very good, but i liked the movie much better, but the other two books that had movies weren't so good.
            • littywittykitty
              littywittykittyThursday, December 7, 2017 at 1:20 pm55 stars
              It is a great but remember if u love this book and you want to watch the movie that the movie is a lot more grafic if you remember the page of when she was taken full forse of the tracker jacker poison and she went to get the bow and arrows off of glimmers body she had to grab her rib cage, that will look really ba on screen recamed watch 14yrs-Up
              • meadowlark12
                meadowlark12Monday, November 27, 2017 at 2:23 pm55 stars
                This book is about a girl named Katniss Everdeen, who lives in the poor District 12. Struggling to keep her family fed and alive, she hunts daily. The Annual Reaping returns to District 12, and those who are chosen will proceed onto the Hunger Games. Katniss's younger sister, Primrose, is chosen. Katniss blindly takes her sister's place, knowing she will probably be killed. Her only chance of survival is to fight- but not before a training session with Haymitch Abernathy, a crazy drunkard. Will she survive the brutal Hunger Games?
                • spagheaddy
                  spagheaddyMonday, November 20, 2017 at 6:41 am44 stars
                  I really liked this book, mostly because of the characters and the story line. The bravery in Katniss and her story keeps you at the edge of your seat and begging for more.
                  • hogwarts65
                    hogwarts65Sunday, November 19, 2017 at 4:59 pm55 stars
                    aaa i love hunger games
                    • smartguy123
                      smartguy123Sunday, November 19, 2017 at 2:11 pm55 stars
                      Going to read this and going to be awesome! I love survival games.
                      • meadowlark12
                        meadowlark12Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 3:13 pm55 stars
                        Check out the Dragon King Series. If you like the Hunger Games, you will probably really like this one.