Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2284 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • shoddyrobin66
    shoddyrobin66Saturday, February 16, 2019 at 2:40 pm
    I want to read the book I heard of it but I didn't read it but I wanna read it :-((((
    • landonThursday, February 14, 2019 at 8:44 am
      i watch the movie.
      • 12gal
        12galThursday, February 7, 2019 at 6:43 pm55 stars
        So good!! I thought it was gunna be a nerdie thing and then my friends told me how good it was!, movie too 5 stars ~…~
        • ironmeow
          ironmeowWednesday, February 6, 2019 at 11:31 am55 stars
          "Hope is the only thing stronger than fear." -Suzanne Collins (Hunger games Author) 16 year old Katniss Everdeen lives a normal life with her sister, Primrose, and her mother, and her best friend/secret crush Gale in the state of Panem in District 12. Every year, Panem hosts the annual Hunger Games to control their growing population. Two participants from each district-one female and male get drawn to fight and kill each other to death. When Primrose Everdeen is chosen to enter and fight in the 74th annual hunger games, Katniss volunteers as a tribute to take her sister's place, unsure whether she will ever see Gale, Primrose, nor her mother ever again. The male tribute for district 12 is Peeta Mellark, who loves Katniss for more than just a friend. This book has humor, tragedy, and romance packed in an amazing and gripping dystopian novel. Great book for Preteens.
          • HahaTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 5:26 pm
            I love this book
            • eggplant789
              eggplant789Tuesday, January 29, 2019 at 8:25 pm55 stars
              This book was awesome! I loved the plot and characters so much!! My favorite character in the whole series is Katniss.
              • lalalallala
                lalalallalaThursday, January 24, 2019 at 12:38 am44 stars
                This book was amazing. It’s set in a future America where kids fight to the death for glory. And if you refuse, you and your family will die.
                • PeetaWednesday, January 16, 2019 at 1:22 pm
                  This book is very good but grim, as it is about child slaughter. I think that it is for 5th and up
                  • nasuada
                    nasuadaThursday, January 10, 2019 at 2:59 pm55 stars
                    I was dead to the world for about three days reading this trilogy. Katniss Everdeen is a survivalist. Born and raised in he impoverished district in the corrupted country of Panem (dystopian America), all of Katniss's efforts go directly to finding food. Every year, Panem holds a tournament, the Hunger Games. Each of the 12 districts must each send tributes, a teenage boy and girl, to compete. When Prim, Katniss's little sister, is picked against all odds, Katniss volunteers to go instead, which is practically unheard of in her district. Katniss is plunged into the Capitol, a world of lust, greed, and politics, and then into the arena, where anything goes. It was amazing.
                    • katnissThursday, January 10, 2019 at 11:38 am
                      best book ever loved it cant wat to read #3

                      Our Apps and Plugins