Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8X5.047893
Lois Lowry once again creates a mysterious but plausible future world. It is a society ruled by savagery and deceit that shuns and discards the weak. Left orphaned and physically flawed, young Kira faces a frightening, uncertain future. Blessed with an almost magical talent that keeps her alive, she struggles with ever broadening responsibilities in her quest for truth, discovering things that will change her life forever.
As she did in THE GIVER, Lowry challenges readers to imagine what our world could become, how people could evolve, and what could be considered valuable. Every reader will be taken by Kira’s plight and will long ponder her haunting world and the hope for the future.
Paperback, 256 pages
Published on March 5, 2013 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547904142
ISBN-13: 9780547904146
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • snibborj
    snibborjSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 12:06 am55 stars
    I love how the books in this series intertwine without just being a continuation of the story from the last book. This is about kira who was born disabled and is shunned by her community because of it. Until the counsel finds use for her and she is made to sew and fix a ceremonial robe. She is happy to be accepted finally, but during her time spent so close to the council she fimds out they might not be so good after all.
    • k2lit
      k2litMonday, April 9, 2018 at 10:47 am44 stars
      this has been a very good book so far and I hope to finish it soon I got 3 chapters left to read
      • gtaylor505
        gtaylor505Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:46 am55 stars
        A companion book to The Giver, Gathering Blue is about a young girl with a disability in her leg who lives in a dystopian society that shuns the weak or deformed. I highly recommend this book, as well as the companion books by this author.
        • cheetahluver
          cheetahluverFriday, January 29, 2016 at 3:03 pm55 stars
          Gathering Blue is about a girl named Kira who loses her mother to a disease. Since her father was killed by the beasts, she is all alone, until the Council takes her in, seeing her extraordinary skill with weaving. At first, she is told that she will be working on the Singer's robe that will be worn for the Song that he sings every year. However, she soon realizes that the Council, and their purposes, are not what they seem to be. This book is the sequel to the Giver, and it is just as good.
          • sunnyf
            sunnyfSunday, January 10, 2016 at 11:37 am44 stars
            “Take pride in your pain,” Kira had always kept what her mother told her in mind. She became orphaned after her mom died and was born with a twisted leg, which decreased her value in the civilization she lived. When she was likely to face death, but the Council of Guardians gave her an admirable role because of her magical talents of weaving. This book could be easily understood yet is deep and inspirational. Kira is totally a role model to me. She faced her pain with bravery and pride, just like what her mother told her to. Days had been tough to her even though she had a special job. She later found out there are secrets hidden behind everything that seemed to be perfect. I deeply esteem her since I think she changed, grew, and became independent especially when there was such a dramatic change in her life. Through the story, Matt is someone I appreciate a lot, too. He showed and defined friendship, because he offered Kira help when no one was there to give her a hand while she was struggling through a life that seemed to be more uncertain and frightening than an actual nightmare. I really enjoyed it and was touched.
            • DolphinLover27Monday, March 2, 2015 at 10:55 am
              This book is an amazing example of courage, and that you should never let anything break you down!
              • emmy17
                emmy17Monday, February 23, 2015 at 11:36 am44 starsFeatured
                Such a wonderful and encouraging story but its so sad! This book has the same "dystopia" theme as did The Giver. I loved this book but it kinda depressed me therefore I have to take off at least one star...
                • analise
                  analiseSaturday, December 20, 2014 at 12:15 pm
                  I like Kira, she is my favorite character, She doesn't let her cripple get to her and overcomes adversity. But, really, a hand power?
                  • readingboss
                    readingbossFriday, December 12, 2014 at 10:13 am
                    What i liked about Gathering blue is that the author wrote a detailed book about the world that Kira lives in and it is like the giver a bit.
                    • weirdo2468
                      weirdo2468Monday, November 3, 2014 at 10:59 am55 stars
                      Talented but crippled weaver, Kira, has now become an orphan. She now has a job of repairing and adding new patterns to the Singer's robe. But where would she find blue dye?

                      Our Apps and Plugins