Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.65487
Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540615
ISBN-13: 9780545540612
387 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 299
    299Thursday, November 14, 2019 at 5:16 pm55 stars
    I love this book I was amazing I love how it showed some culture about the girl. it is wonderful that the little girl can still have fun.
    • sitra501
      sitra501Wednesday, November 6, 2019 at 4:15 pm55 stars
      OMG LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • setherboss1
        setherboss1Tuesday, October 22, 2019 at 10:27 am
        she has a super crazy life but i don't blame anyone because she was the one who made it that way.....
        • ahinoanime
          ahinoanimeFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:06 am55 stars
          I give this book a 5 star rating, because I do plan on reading all of Raina Telgemeier's graphic novels because of how interesting each graphic novel is. Some of her stories even connect to each other in a way.I really enjoyed reading this book for entertainment.
          • oceandragon
            oceandragonWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 6:02 pm55 starsFeatured
            If you love things to do with ghosts and the day of the dead fest+halloween, then you`re in for a treat! It is about a girl named Catrina, or Cat. Her younger sister Maya is suffering a sickness and that made the family move north. Catrina doesn't like that place and misses her friends, yet maya is perfectly fine with it. One day, Catrina and Maya was taking a stroll until Cat lost sight of Maya. She finds a place and meets a boy named Carlos and he is leading a "Ghost tour". Turns out, his family are one of cat's neighbors. Another time, Maya and Carlos left Cat and she didn't know where to go. She looks to find them and then found them in between many "ghosts". Turns out, the ghosts love this type of orange drink. If you share some of you, they can come and talk to you! Cat makes 2 new friends at her new school. For halloween, Cat dresses up as a Day of the dead icon, named Catrina! On the day of the dead, cat will finally notice how incredible the place actually is! Se had loads of fun with Carlos and met a ghost very similar to her grandma. Read the book, you'll love it! I recommend this book to everyone!
            • marcela24
              marcela24Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 3:57 pm55 stars
              this book is the best book I ever saw and read. it I love it. I recommend it to all my friends. love marcela24
              • epicMonday, October 14, 2019 at 8:53 am
                cool book 100%
                • AynnaTuesday, October 8, 2019 at 5:50 pm
                  I love this book
                  • Xenoblade5744Monday, October 7, 2019 at 5:07 pm
                    I Actually Have This Book At My House, And I Love It!
                    • ida b appl woodMonday, October 7, 2019 at 3:58 pm
                      its pretty awsome