Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 2 - 5Grades 1 - 5O3.917087

Orphaned and alone but determined to stay together, Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden set off on their own and turned an abandoned boxcar into their home. The Boxcar Children, published over sixty-five years ago in 1942, has captured the imaginations of generations of readers. This Collector's Edition features the original artwork plus additional information about Gertrude Chandler Warner's life and work as it appeared in the 60th Anniversary Edition.

Paperback, 154 pages
Published on June 1, 1989 by Albert Whitman & Company
ISBN-10: 0807508527
ISBN-13: 9780807508527
150 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • dragonk1ll3r
    dragonk1ll3rFriday, October 26, 2018 at 10:14 am55 stars
    like best book EVER : )
    • readytoread
      readytoreadThursday, August 30, 2018 at 4:41 pm55 stars
      The book the Boxcar Children is about 4 siblings- Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny. They are orphans who one day find a boxcar in the woods. They make it there home. Along the road, they find a dog, a job, and most importantly- a happy ending! This is a great classic full of family love and caring children.
      • fossilfury
        fossilfuryWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 2:39 pm55 stars
        This is a great book! I loved it. It adds the perfect amount of action, suspense, and excitement. The boxcar children is a big hit for readers. This book leaves the reader satisfied
        • cobrazeus10
          cobrazeus10Monday, August 27, 2018 at 6:42 pm55 stars
          I love how the Boxcar Children doesn't start out as a mystery series. The characters are very relatable. It definitely is a must read for anyone. The only problem I have with the series, is that there are so many, that its impossible to read them all.
          • goals
            goalsMonday, August 27, 2018 at 11:23 am33 stars
            The Boxcar Children is a classic novel for a good reason. The story is about 4 siblings and their adventures. They have nowhere to live so they live in an abanded box car. Their only relative is their grandfather who they think is mean. They later learn that he is kind and they live with him and the boxcar is now a playhouse for them. I loved reading this story and I will never forget what it teaches about how strong families are.
            • heghog
              heghogWednesday, August 15, 2018 at 9:45 am55 stars
              THIS IS A VERY GOOD BOOK AND I REALLY LIKED IT! this such a book they learn how to survive on there own in a box car! i loved
              • readwriter
                readwriterTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 6:31 pm55 stars
                These books always made me want to live in a boxcar and solve mysteries. But, since I can't do that, these books always portal me into a world where I can! I love it!
                • tyclev2009
                  tyclev2009Monday, August 6, 2018 at 1:46 pm55 stars
                  This is the first book in the series. One of my favorite books. The kids go on adventures all around the boxcar they make into their home.
                  • jwarne
                    jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:15 am55 stars
                    My mom used to read the Boxcar Children when she was a kid, and she told me to read these. I was not disappointed. I love how the kids band together throughout everything. I sometimes wish my brother and sisters and I got along like that.
                    • armcginn
                      armcginnFriday, August 3, 2018 at 9:13 am55 stars
                      Gertrude Chandler Warner's book the boxcar children is sure to become an all time children's must read book for young readers, featuring lovable characters: Violet, Jesse, Benny, Watch, and Henry.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins