Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 2 - 5Grades 1 - 5O3.917087

Orphaned and alone but determined to stay together, Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden set off on their own and turned an abandoned boxcar into their home. The Boxcar Children, published over sixty-five years ago in 1942, has captured the imaginations of generations of readers. This Collector's Edition features the original artwork plus additional information about Gertrude Chandler Warner's life and work as it appeared in the 60th Anniversary Edition.

Paperback, 154 pages
Published on June 1, 1989 by Albert Whitman & Company
ISBN-10: 0807508527
ISBN-13: 9780807508527
101 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • casgirl
    casgirlTuesday, May 22, 2018 at 4:00 pm44 stars
    I love this book. Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden are all alone with no parents, and are sent to stay with there 'supposedly' awful uncle. So to avoid staying with there uncle they go and live in a Boxcar. Henry gets a job to pay for there food and they got there stuff from the near by dump. ( This book was written at a time were there weren't a lot of dangers things in dumps). But in the end they meat the uncle and he's really nice, and they move in with him.
    • jthomas0310
      jthomas0310Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 12:31 pm22 stars
      I didn't really like this book. The idea of the story was good but it was kind of slow and boring. It is about a group of 4 kids that have no parents and no home. I wouldn't really recommend this book.
      • ilikebunnies
        ilikebunniesTuesday, May 22, 2018 at 7:42 am44 stars
        This is a great book and exciting. I like how it makes you nervous how you do not know if they are about to be found in their hiding place . I recommend this book to people who like mystery, action, and adventure.
        • unicornbrain
          unicornbrainSaturday, May 19, 2018 at 8:51 pm55 stars
          You have to love to love Jessie! She is like the most mature preteen! I really enjoyed how she protects her younger siblings and even her older brother in the story. She is strong and independent. I don't know if I will read another book in this series as the mystery was an easy read. Something to think about.
          • extrememsb
            extrememsbSaturday, May 19, 2018 at 9:25 am55 stars
            This book was really awesome! It is about 4 kids named Jesse,Henry,Benny, and Violet. They live in this boxcar. It is about there adventures in the boxcar. I thought that these kids were really intelligent. They used what they had to survive. This one didn't have a mystery but it was interesting!
            • kc17
              kc17Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 8:25 am55 stars
              Very enjoyable book. The characters really kept my interest. Even though the book is fiction, The author made me feel like I was a part of the book! I would rate this book a five out of five. After I read this book I wanted to read more of the series. This is a well written story. It kept me interested through the whole book. I definitely would recommend this book to anyone. I enjoyed this book so much.
              • jhx7
                jhx7Friday, May 18, 2018 at 10:50 pm55 stars
                THis is just the best book! I cna't believe that this book exists! The author is so creative and realistic. You have ot read it! Wow~
                • awesomessb
                  awesomessbFriday, May 18, 2018 at 3:37 pm55 stars
                  This book is about 4 children: Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden. There parents have died, and they think their grand-father is unkind. After venturing together, they find an old boxcar, which they decide to live in. They start off with $4, and we see how the children survive on their own. They meet a nice man by the name of Dr. Moore. He is kind and helps them. By the end, they learn that not everything is as it seems. I enjoyed this book a lot. Though it is an older type of book, I feel that anyone could enjoy it. It has more of a basic format, making it great for younger grades, but like I said anyone could enjoy it. My favorite part is how the kids make use of what's around them to survive. You should definitely give it a try!
                  • waterlily1255
                    waterlily1255Friday, May 18, 2018 at 2:45 pm44 stars
                    This is a classic and if you have not yet read it, I suggest doing so. This book is cool in the manner that it is peaceful and something that all kids would want to experience, even though multiple kids would not want to experience the work that these kids put in to their freedom. This book gives ordinary kids that chance. This book also has a realistic happy ending, and a happy ending that could truly happen.
                    • letscutitout
                      letscutitoutFriday, May 18, 2018 at 12:52 pm44 stars
                      Very enjoyable book. The characters really kept my interest. Even though the book is fiction, The author made me feel like I was a part of the book! I was left wanting to read more books in this series.