Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 2 - 5Grades 1 - 5O3.917087

Orphaned and alone but determined to stay together, Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden set off on their own and turned an abandoned boxcar into their home. The Boxcar Children, published over sixty-five years ago in 1942, has captured the imaginations of generations of readers. This Collector's Edition features the original artwork plus additional information about Gertrude Chandler Warner's life and work as it appeared in the 60th Anniversary Edition.

Paperback, 154 pages
Published on June 1, 1989 by Albert Whitman & Company
ISBN-10: 0807508527
ISBN-13: 9780807508527
142 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • paintlover13
    paintlover13Sunday, July 15, 2018 at 6:04 am33 stars
    Orphaned siblings Henry, Jessie, Violet, and James are on the run. After their parents died, they were supposed to stay with their grandfather, but believing he was cruel, they set off on their own. After escaping more adults who'd try to place them with their grandfather or in an orphanage, the siblings happen upon a boxcar, deserted on overgrown tracks. The boxcar becomes a home for the orphans. But when Violet falls sick, who can help? The Boxcar Children is a warmly woven tale of love, family, and adventure.
    • coolgirlintown
      coolgirlintownThursday, July 12, 2018 at 10:40 am44 stars
      This book is the first book in this series. It was very good. I love how each sibling loves each other so much and sticks together all the time. It was a lovely book and I would totally recommend it to anyone along with the rest of the series.
      • midnightluna
        midnightlunaTuesday, July 10, 2018 at 3:30 pm55 stars
        The Boxcar Children series is a great way to began reading mysteries! They're not terribly long and the ending is always surprising. The first book is not quite a mystery, but it's my favorite of them all.
        • dreambig100
          dreambig100Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 3:36 pm44 stars
          The Boxcar children is a wonderful book about 4 orphaned kids, Jessie, Henry, Violet, and Benny. It is about there adventures while they journeyed to find a home. Soon they end up finding an old Boxcar and calling it there home. The 4 children have ran away because they do not want to live with grandfather because they think he is mean and will not like them. Soon the come to a surprising truth about there grandfather. I really enjoyed reading this book because you can't let go until you finish the book.
          • ANNAWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 1:01 am
            THIS BOOK IS SO SO SO SO SO FUN!!!!!!!!!
            • readingkendal
              readingkendalTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 2:32 pm55 stars
              When 4 orphans who are running away from there grandfather in worry he might be mean, find an old boxcar, The Adventure begins! They use whatever they can find as anything they need and go on adventures surrounding the old boxcar. they work jobs to earn money for things that can not be found in the woods. As they make new friends the boxcar becomes there home they have an amazing time. I recommend this book to anyone who loves adventures, and family.
              • beyourself
                beyourselfTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 4:24 am55 stars
                I read this book a long time ago and when I found it again on here I wanted to read it again for the fun of it. I totally recommend it! It has a lot of adventure and awesomeness.
                • wiccanbat666
                  wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 7:21 pm55 stars
                  I happened to stumble across this and I was addicted to these when I was younger so I thought a re-read was in order. It was a little different than I remember but just as charming. I can see why I wanted to live in a boxcar when I was little. However, there is some weird gender things and other stuff that I never would have noticed as a child but seems glaringly obvious and weird as an adult. Overall reading it again was a heck of a lot of fun.
                  • candyexpress
                    candyexpressSunday, July 1, 2018 at 9:39 pm55 stars
                    While many children have childhoods built upon the foundation of their favorite movies and cartoons, favorite games and amusement parks, etc, mine was built on books. Picture books, pop-up books, chapter books. Books, in general, were my obsession, and more specifically, the Boxcar Children. Genuinely, this was one of my favorites as a child. The idea that these brave orphans had just each other to guide themselves through life was an entirely captivating and revolutionary idea from my seven-year-old perspective. Living in an abandoned boxcar was a very creative and interesting idea that I find incredibly different even at my age looking back. The orphans were all beautifully created and their personalities define each of them as great people with their unique flaws and beauties. As the Boxcar Children was a series, there was a different plot in each book, but each was just as good as the previous with brilliant plotlines that had younger me entertained for the entire book and even hours after, still processing the information. A highly recommended series from current me recalling all the past memories and from younger me still fangirling internally.
                    • auntieb
                      auntiebSunday, July 1, 2018 at 7:45 am55 stars
                      The Boxcar Children is such a good series for children I read some of this series a few years ago and they are just fun. now for me the vocabulary and writing is a little young, but this book is great for a little younger if a reader!

                      More TopicsView in 3D