Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
2227 Book Reviews
  • div558
    div558Tuesday, June 15, 2021 at 7:51 am55 stars
    I have not read this book. But I will.
    • angelachang
      angelachangTuesday, June 15, 2021 at 4:04 am55 stars
      When I first read it, I was so amazed that Harry Potter didn't know that he is a wizard! After I finished this book, I read all of the series of Harry Potter. I love this book!
      • angelachang
        angelachangMonday, June 14, 2021 at 10:37 pm55 stars
        I agree that Dudley is very mean to harry.
        • robloxsushi
          robloxsushiSunday, June 13, 2021 at 4:49 pm55 stars
          OMG BEST
          • robloxsushi
            robloxsushiFriday, June 11, 2021 at 1:28 pm55 stars
            I love this book
            • fomaloso-156773974534
              fomaloso-156773974534Thursday, June 10, 2021 at 6:43 pm55 stars
              I love the way how the letters kept coming and flew everywhere!
              • hermione1315
                hermione1315Saturday, June 5, 2021 at 12:18 pm55 stars
                i loved this book! i read the whole harry potter series and love it! hermione granger is my favorite and is a ton like me!
                • kittylover111
                  kittylover111Friday, June 4, 2021 at 2:26 pm33 stars
                  I'm not a huge Harry Potter fan, my brother is. But, I did go ahead a red it. It was okay, and I can see why it has 2,215 reviews, to all the harry potter fans. Good, detail, dialog. I liked it, but I think there's better books to read.
                  • guineapigglegrl
                    guineapigglegrlFriday, June 4, 2021 at 9:01 am55 stars
                    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK I AM such a POTTERHEAD :DDD
                    • 11xxalexxx11
                      11xxalexxx11Thursday, June 3, 2021 at 1:09 pm33 stars
                      I loved this book! I have read the whole series and this isn't my favorite. I understand how the first books are always the worst because you need to meet the characters. I would rate this book 3/5 because of how slow it is. And it suddenly it jerks into the book as if you're best friends with the character.