Among the Impostors (Shadow Children Book 2)

Book 2 of 7 in the Shadow Children Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.934305

It was awful. All those eyes, all looking at him. It was straight out of Luke's worst nightmares. Panic rooted him to the spot, but every muscle in his body was screaming for him to run, to hide anywhere he could. For twelve years his entire life he'd had to hide. To be seen was death. "Don't!" he wanted to scream. "Don't look at me! Don't report me! Please!" But the muscles that controlled his mouth were as frozen as the rest of him. The tiny part of his mind that wasn't flooded with panic knew that that was good -- now that he had a fake I.D., the last thing he should do was act like a boy who's had to hide. But to act normal, he needed to move, to obey the man at the front and sit down. And he couldn't make his body do that, either. -- from Among the Impostors

Luke Garner is terrified.
Out of hiding for the first time in his life, he knows that any minute one of his new classmates at Hendricks School for Boys could discover his secret: that he's a third child passing as the recently deceased Lee Grant. And in a society where it's illegal for families to have more than two children, being a third child means certain death at the hands of the dreaded Population Police.
His first experience outside the safety of his home is bewildering. There's not a single window anywhere in the school; Luke can't tell his classmates apart (even as they subject him to brutal hazing); and the teachers seem oblivious to it all.
Desperate to fit in, Luke endures the confusion and teasing until he discovers an unlocked door to the outside, and a chance to understand what is really going on. But to take this chance -- to find out the secrets of Hendricks -- Luke will need to put aside his fears and discover a courage that a lifetime in hiding couldn't thwart.
Once again, best-selling author Margaret Peterson Haddix delights her fans with this spine-tingling account of an all-too-possible future. Among the Impostors is a worthy companion to Among the Hidden and a heart-stopping thriller in its own right.

Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on June 1, 2001 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0689839049
ISBN-13: 9780689839047
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • elimac1718
    elimac1718Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:10 am55 starsFeatured
    Have you ever imagined being an illegal third child? In addition to being an illegal child you have to learn how to blend in with new surrounding. Well the book Among the Imposters by Margaret Peterson Haddix shows just that. “Among the Imposters” is the second book in a series called Shadow Children. Luke Garner or should I say Lee Grant, all of his life he’s been hiding avoiding the population police. Population police are officers who encourage the law of illegal third children to help population levels decrease. They also invade people’s homes searching for exneys (illegal third children), executing the third children when they figure that they are actually third children. Luke was sent to the school of Hendricks with a fake I.D playing the role of a boy named Lee Grant. Hendricks School of Boys is a windowless school with brutal students who disrespect Luke, and the teachers are absolutely oblivious. One day Luke discovers a door that leads outside. Will Luke discover what lies outside of the Hendricks school? Will his question unfold? You have to read Among the Imposters to find out. I recommend this book or series for people in 5-8 grade who enjoy exciting thrillers because I feel that this has a pretty deep content. I also feel they might not understand the meaning, and purpose of the book or series. I hope you enjoy reading this book as much as I did.
    • elimac1718
      elimac1718Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:04 am55 stars
      Have you ever imagined being an illegal third child? In addition to being an illegal child you have to learn how to blend in with new surrounding. Well the book Among the Imposters by Margaret Peterson Haddix shows just that. “Among the Imposters” is the second book in a series called Shadow Children. Luke Garner or should I say Lee Grant, all of his life he’s been hiding avoiding the population police. Population police are officers who encourage the law of illegal third children to help population levels decrease. They also invade people’s homes searching for exneys (illegal thrid children), executing the third children when they figure that they are actually third children. Luke was sent to the school of Hendricks with a fake I.D playing the role of a boy named Lee Grant. Hendricks School of Boys is a windowless school with brutal students who disrespect Luke, and the teachers are absolutely oblivious. One day Luke discovers a door that leads outside. Will Luke discover what lies outside of the Hendricks school? Will his question unfold? You have to read Among the Imposters to find out. I recommend this book or series for people in 5-8 grade who enjoy exciting thrillers because I feel that this has a pretty deep content. I also feel they might not understand the meaning, and purpose of the book or series. I hope you enjoy reading this book as much as I did.
      • lydia_w
        lydia_wWednesday, October 4, 2017 at 1:24 pm55 stars
        I love this series! YAY!
        • fracol1617
          fracol1617Friday, October 21, 2016 at 6:20 am
          Have you ever imagined being an illegal third child? When you have to blend into a school so you wouldn’t be taken away by the government? Well this book “Among The Imposters,” by Margaret Peterson Haddix, The second book to the series “Among The Hidden shows just that. This book takes place in “The Hendricks,” a school that Luke has to stay in to stay safe in from the population police who are police that stay on the lookout for third children who are illegal. The time period is taken place in the present time. Luke is the antagonist of the story. It all started off when luke was born as a third child, at a farm with his mother, father and two brothers. Luke couldn’t go outside or be seen by an strangers what so ever. But one day, luke snuck out of his house into his neighbor’s house where he thought he saw a another child who he thought has also a third child, he met her and her name was Jen. Jen and Luke often hung out until one faithful day, when Jen decided to go to the government with a group of third children and riot about third children’s rights and that didn’t end well. The whole group of people who were rioting died, all shot to death by the government people. Including Jen. Then soon, Luke later met Jen’s father. They were both in grief about Jens death. But then Luke triggered a alarm which notified the population police and Luke had no escape but to get a fake ID and go to a boarding school to blend in and live there. And that takes us to the second book of the series, “Among The Imposters.” The antagonist of the story is the population police because if he were ever to get caught by the population police the government would take him away and keep him there. A conflict that Luke is facing is it is that it is hard to blend in with all of the other boys and sometime Luke gets bullied which doesn’t help the situation of him trying to stay hidden from the government and the population police. A turning point in the story is when another boy at the boarding school started to fight with Luke and Luke ended up knocking the kid out! This of course was a negative turning point which pretty much concluded the end of the book. I would recommend this book to sixth graders and up because last year when I was in sixth grade the whole grade read the first book to the “Among the Hidden” series and many people liked it so I would recommend this book to sixth graders and up.
          • elimac1718
            elimac1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 11:27 am55 stars
            This is a great review! You used lots of descriptive words that helped me understand what you were trying to say. I also liked how you included your opinion as well as a summary telling readers what it's about.
          • dangerider19
            dangerider19Friday, October 14, 2016 at 5:13 pm55 stars
            I don't want to give spoolers but this book was awesome along with the others in the series. but I will say that it is that the child goes to school and meets a lot of other kids and get into a mess
            • ajordan
              ajordanMonday, May 23, 2016 at 8:39 am55 stars
              If you like mystery you would love this it is one of my all time favorite books I love reading this book and the rest of them.
              • kfeldman
                kfeldmanFriday, May 8, 2015 at 9:43 am
                I loved this book! Luke/Lee was going to a new school but didn't know anything about the outside world. This book got me on the edge of my seat. I definitely recommend it!
                • acase
                  acaseFriday, April 10, 2015 at 11:25 am55 stars
                  Love it! It had me on the edge of my seat!
                  • yusuf12
                    yusuf12Saturday, November 1, 2014 at 11:33 am44 stars
                    this book was amazing i can read this over and over again if i wanted to...this had to be one of the best books ever
                    • tommy5
                      tommy5Wednesday, May 14, 2014 at 10:17 am55 stars
                      This is an awesome book i've read it (y)