The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1377 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kyloren7
    kyloren7Monday, January 13, 2020 at 8:34 pm55 stars
    I love this book because it teaches many Greek myths but is fun for younger kids like me Because it also throws in normal things like iPads and flip flops.
    • Teg PandherTuesday, December 24, 2019 at 12:09 pm
      This is such a good book, I recommend it to anybody in general and to those who love greek mythology!!! I’m so obsessed with Rick Riordan
      • Juice wrldThursday, December 19, 2019 at 1:14 pm
        It was amazing i loved it
        • somerandomkid
          somerandomkidMonday, December 9, 2019 at 1:39 pm55 stars
          AMAZING! IM OBSESED NOW!
          • meta515
            meta515Monday, December 9, 2019 at 12:22 pm55 stars
            My personal favorite. It blends action, romance, subplots, and coming of age into a very good book. The only complaint I have is that the main character is kind of overpowered in combat, but that's the point. 12/10
            • sg123
              sg123Wednesday, December 4, 2019 at 1:59 pm55 stars
              I suggest this book to you all!!! At first, it's a bit boring but then it gets really interesting and in that book, you learn a lot about greek gods and it's amazing!!
              • jules_p
                jules_pMonday, November 4, 2019 at 4:30 pm55 stars
                This book is amazing, along with the other books in this series. I couldn't put it down and I would recommend it to everyone. The writing is beautiful and I felt like I was right there with the characters. I want to read it over and over again!
                • heavytoothpaste
                  heavytoothpasteWednesday, October 30, 2019 at 8:56 pm55 stars
                  Percy learns that his life isn't easy being a half-blood. He has to fight monsters and defend his friends and family from them.
                  • sav11_11
                    sav11_11Tuesday, October 29, 2019 at 9:31 am55 stars
                    This book was really good, I love how the author incorporated Greek mythology into is story. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves adventure.
                    • JurrytheHumanThursday, October 10, 2019 at 10:24 am
                      This entire series is amazing. I've loved reading it over and over again since I was in the 4th grade. I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who wants a great read that'll keep you turning pages until the sun comes up.