Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Hardcover, 384 pages
ISBN-10: 0141381477
ISBN-13: 9780141381473
1307 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ravenclaw_gal
    ravenclaw_galTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 3:19 pm33 stars
    Meh, this book was okay I guess, if you want some real reading I suggest checking out the Harry Potter series. It is so much better!
    • perseus jacksonTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 1:33 pm
      My mom told me to read this book and at first I did not think I was going to like it but I love the book!!! I'm in 3rd grade.
      • perseus jacksonTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 1:31 pm
        This book is great!!!
        • kinnase79
          kinnase79Friday, February 8, 2019 at 6:06 am55 stars
          I loved to read it it was great you should read it.
          • Percy jacksonWednesday, February 6, 2019 at 4:45 pm
            this book is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!If I could I would give this book 10 out of 5.I thought dis book was boring but BOY was I wrong. I didn't think it was good cuz I don't belive in Greek gods, but I read it any way. And I still don't belive in Greek gods. I just read it for fun
            • aalove2712
              aalove2712Saturday, February 2, 2019 at 10:13 am55 stars
              The Lighting Thief is one of the best books I have ever read. We had to read it for ElA class and it was really interesting to compare our world and the world Percy was living in. I also learned a lot about Greek mythology and Ancient Greek gods and goddess. You should definitely try and read this book if you like suspense and mystery. I went on and read the entire series and this book is amazing to read.
              • Spaced outMonday, January 28, 2019 at 11:50 am
                Wow. When I was in fourth grade, I didn't want to read this book. I thought it was boring. But I just read a few pages of the book right here online, and I love it! Five stars
                • GroverMonday, January 28, 2019 at 11:41 am
                  Oh... i loved this book..... 5 stars!
                  • nerdyriley09
                    nerdyriley09Saturday, January 26, 2019 at 2:55 pm55 stars
                    Alright. I don't really go on DogoNews anymore, but this is important. I'm here to tell you how reading this very book changed my life for the good. When I first saw the Lightning Thief, I didn't want to read it, because I thought it was a classic. A couple years later, a friend recommended it to me. I was hesitant at first, but I said okay. I read it and immediately fell in love. I devoured the rest of the series (PJO), and the following series, Heroes of Olympus (HOO). I fell into the fandom, which is easily the most non-toxic and non-cringey fandom I've ever seen. PJO, HOO, and other series Rick Riordan include diverse characters (including ones from the LGBTQ+ community) and are sure to please kids and adults alike. Even the pickiest readers will pick up on this book quickly! Good plotline, good characters, good diversity, good fandom- what else is there to see? Buy this book or check it out from your local library, and have fun with it!
                    • Chippyjoe124Wednesday, January 23, 2019 at 3:06 pm
                      This is the best book and I highly recommend to read the whole series .

                      Our Apps and Plugins