A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York
Times
bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of
Smile, Sisters,
Drama, and Ghosts!


Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it's probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school, where she's dealing with the usual highs and lows: friends, not-friends, and classmates who think the school year is just one long gross-out session. It soon becomes clear that Raina's tummy trouble isn't going away... and it coincides with her worries about food, school, and changing friendships. What's going on?

Raina Telgemeier once again brings us a thoughtful, charming, and funny true story about growing up and gathering the courage to face -- and conquer -- her fears.

Kindle Edition, 224 pages
Published on September 10, 2019 by Graphix
ISBN-10: 0545852536
ISBN-13: 9780545852531
342 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • athlete08
    athlete08Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 7:00 pm55 stars
    Guts is a true story about young Raina in 4th grade. Her sister has the stomach flu, and one night Raina and her mother wake up with it too! It seems like the kids at school too are getting sick, and Raina is now afraid of getting sick. While dealing with that, Raina also has to deal with schools bullies, and ups and downs, AND she also has to go to a physical therapist, to help her get rid of her fear of throwing up, and being sick. I really liked the comic book because I thought it was fun to read, and very interesting to learn about! Thanks for the wonderful book Raina! Athlete08
    • svpremejadie
      svpremejadieThursday, October 17, 2019 at 10:24 am55 stars
      The book was amazing and inspirational ! I loved it!
      • cool girlThursday, October 17, 2019 at 9:50 am
        this book is so cool i read it 10 times
        • alexaThursday, October 17, 2019 at 6:26 am
          cool book
          • Mariah jonesThursday, October 17, 2019 at 4:48 am
            I love this book❤️!! But Dork Diaries Are really, REALLY,better 😊!,!
            • shantzj
              shantzjWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 6:02 pm
              This book seems so cool.
              • goldensin
                goldensinWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 2:48 pm55 stars
                ive read GHOSTS and love it
                • goldensin
                  goldensinWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 2:43 pm55 stars
                  i haven't read it yet but i looked at a couple of pages and i seems good. i love her books and i respect your opinion!!!
                  • chlooe
                    chlooeTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 6:22 pm44 starsFeatured
                    Guts is another enjoyable comic by Rainda Telgemeier. In this book, Raina shows her story about her in 4th grade always getting a stomachache whenever she feels anxious or nervous. On a night when Raina's sister, Amanda, has a stomach flu, Raina wakes up in the middle of the night with a horrible stomachache. She starts throwing up -- her mother too. On the next day of school, she gets really anxious and rushes to the restroom. She basically got traumatised of having stomachaches and ending up throwing up, so that is why she always starts to act a little... nauseous. Her mother starts bringing her to a therapists, to help her on her upset stomach and help Raina opening up a bit. This story ends up really enjoying for me, because it has all types of details and many comfortable drawings in the comics.
                    • anoppsksksksks
                      anoppsksksksksTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 11:39 am22 stars
                      I think it was not that good there are a lot of other books out there like harry potter are wrinkle in time this book was kinda gross really do not read it when eating I did not do that by the way.