Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.626263

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Paperback, 340 pages
Published on March 13, 2019 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432864033
ISBN-13: 9781432864033
434 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • spider man Wednesday, March 3, 2021 at 12:43 pm
    ha kids and ha super man
    • animal_crossing
      animal_crossingWednesday, March 3, 2021 at 12:15 pm55 stars
      I did a report on this book!
      • animal_crossing
        animal_crossingWednesday, March 3, 2021 at 12:15 pm55 stars
        Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes. The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.
        • ema_montes_12
          ema_montes_12Wednesday, March 3, 2021 at 10:21 am
          I feel like I would like this book bc other people like the book
          • weworofy-160798470925
            weworofy-160798470925Wednesday, March 3, 2021 at 10:09 am55 stars
            This story is sad but also happy Ivan had been through bad things. He has a few friends they are an elephant and a dog. But things get better in his life little by little.
            • Luna Monday, February 8, 2021 at 3:46 am
              Dis is the most perfect book in the world
              • I'm ruby Friday, February 5, 2021 at 3:43 pm
                Best book ever! I also recommend the one and only bob
                • quarantined
                  quarantinedThursday, February 4, 2021 at 10:13 am55 starsFeatured
                  What would it be like if you were a gorilla and put in a circus? I think i probably wouldn't want to because I feel like it wouldn't be that fun to be in a cage almost every hour of the day. “The one and only ivan” is a great book especially if you like the circus. Also I think you would like it if you like long books because this one is pretty long. The main setting in the book is at the circus. The gorilla likes to paint at the circus and they sell it for money. The gorilla likes to put on a show for the people at the circus. Ivan was rescued because of his health conditions. So that's how he became a circus animal. The people at the circus discovered that Ivan loved to paint so the people at the circus charged money for ivans paintings. The age group I would say for this is 10-12 and I would recommend it to people who love animals. This book is so cute, so please read it!
                  • scarvampirelily
                    scarvampirelilyWednesday, February 3, 2021 at 11:18 am55 stars
                    amazing
                    • littlesloth
                      littleslothMonday, February 1, 2021 at 5:59 pm55 stars
                      I loved this book! however if you dont like death than dont read. i recomend for age 8-12