Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z5.784898

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. And a strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children", an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children who once lived here - one of whom was his own grandfather - were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a desolate island for good reason. And somehow - impossible though it seems - they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children" will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Hardcover, 540 pages
Published on August 1, 2012 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 1410450236
ISBN-13: 9781410450234
156 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • lees
    leesWednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:59 am55 stars
    I love how this book is a lovely fairytale story but also It is also a horror story. Not to scary but just enough. I love Emma and her fire power. I love her and Jacob's grandpa's back story. I just love this book and wish it didn't end.🤩🤩🤩
    • midnightluna
      midnightlunaWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 9:00 am55 stars
      The movie does not do this book justice! It is an amazing story with great characters! Due to strong language, I would suggest this to 12 and up, but that's up to your guardian. I really enjoyed this book and I think you will too!
      • goals
        goalsSunday, July 8, 2018 at 10:12 am44 stars
        I fell in love with the Miss Peregrines movie so when I saw it for summer reading I knew I just had to read it! While I prefer the movie overall, the book has an interestingly darker element to it. The book is a bit creepier and more detailed. I couldn't put it down!
        • 30057
          30057Saturday, July 7, 2018 at 9:37 am55 stars
          I would really enjoy reading this book because the title and the cover is already eye-catching. The movie was amazing and it would be cool to see the whole story in a different, new perspective. All the children seem like ordinary children, but if you look closer they are peculiar, as said with the title. I am really excited to read how they solve the problem in the book in relation to the movie. I can't wait to start reading!
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:22 am55 stars
            I absolutely loved this book! The writing and characters and everything about it was amazing. I can't wait to get started on the second one.
            • katiebug37
              katiebug37Sunday, July 1, 2018 at 2:21 pm55 stars
              There is no other book that I have ever read that is like this. There are unexplainable pictures that look kind of old in it that go along with the book and I think that that is actually really cool.
              • addglitter
                addglitterWednesday, June 27, 2018 at 12:20 pm55 stars
                This book is one that will keep you up at night- but under the covers and with all the lights on. It's an amazing read that can be described as nothing other than peculiar.
                • momoko12
                  momoko12Monday, June 25, 2018 at 11:29 pm55 stars
                  The Miss Peregrines Peculiar children series is one of my all-time favorites. The first book is really awesome and I think that even if this book doesn't really seem like something you would normally read you should still give it a try, at first I thought this book was going to be a horror novel it all starts out with a death and a strange creature then Jacob goes into this old abandoned children's home on a scary island but once he meets Miss Peregrine and her peculiar children I found out that it's really more of a fantasy novel and it's not so scary after all there are a few parts where they are running away from monsters and it gets a bit intense but other than that it's actually a really sweet. So If you like fantasy, action, adventure, and a little bit of romance you should definitely read this book.
                  • shadow_shady
                    shadow_shadySunday, June 24, 2018 at 6:16 pm33 stars
                    I started it and thought it was slow. Me and my "mother" read it, and hated the ending. Me, my sister, my mother, and my best friend all read book one and didn't even want to read book two. A good friend of mine read the whole series and loved it. I don't but my opinion is my opinion don't mind. Anything and everything I say is an opinion. Well, BYE!
                    • letscutitout
                      letscutitoutSunday, June 24, 2018 at 8:43 am
                      This book is really drawing me in. I love the author's descriptions & how the book is slightly creepy and very interesting at the same time. It isn't overdoing the creepiness, but it's just enough to keep me on the edge of my seat and making me want to read more. Can't wait to finish this one.

                      More TopicsView in 3D