Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 3 - 6n/a5.1111544
Thor's hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon--the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn't just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can't retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer's return is the gods' worst enemy, Loki--and the price he wants is very high.
Hardcover, 480 pages
Published on October 18, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484758455
ISBN-13: 9781484758458
42 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • cutekim12
    cutekim12Wednesday, May 23, 2018 at 1:48 pm44 stars
    The story is about how magnus finds Thor's hammer witch as been lost but they go on very risky adventurers that are worth DYING for, i really like this book so far and recommend others should read.
    • scp_troop_666
      scp_troop_666Thursday, May 10, 2018 at 6:55 pm55 stars
      This is an amazing book. If you are looking for a good interesting book that is popular, involves mythology and is un put down able, this is the book fot you.
      • dabears
        dabearsFriday, May 4, 2018 at 11:04 am55 stars
        Amazing
        • bean_boy
          bean_boyThursday, April 12, 2018 at 4:13 pm55 starsFeatured
          This masterpiece is written by Rick Riordan, the king of mythology writing. Unlike most of his books which are Greek mythology, this series Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard is Norse (Vikings). I found it really unique that Mr.Riordan is writing Norse because it's something that took most of his readers (including me) by surprise. The Hammer of Thor is filled with laughs, action, and little tidbits from Norse mythology which makes learning about it fun, is (in my opinion) better than Book 1. The one thing that blew me away was how Mr.Riordan incorporated his characters (Percy and Annabeth) from other books into his newest instalment of books, something I think is really hard and amazing. My friends described this book as "litty" but I call it a masterpiece (one of Riordan's best books yet) and is beautifully written. I do suggest reading the first book and of course reading the third book after #2. I recommend this for ages 9+ and die-hard Rick Riordan fans and give it 5 stars. HAPPY READINGS!!!!!!!!!!!!! Your fellow bookworm, bean_boy
          • UnknownTuesday, April 10, 2018 at 5:37 pm
            Its pretty good and follows up to the sword of summer. Read that first to understand what truly is happening here. + Emotional depth (WOAH)
            • J. G.Monday, March 12, 2018 at 3:02 pm
              I felt like it was a very good novel with a strong story, and was overall very well written.
              • mineturtles11
                mineturtles11Sunday, February 4, 2018 at 3:00 pm55 stars
                Why why don't ask me why everyone knows why!
                • willb2026
                  willb2026Monday, January 22, 2018 at 2:46 pm55 stars
                  totally awesome, follows up from the first book, The Sword of Summer, and a new character. and some action packed action.
                  • meThursday, January 18, 2018 at 2:44 pm
                    I read the first book but I cant get this book.
                    • suchomimus
                      suchomimusWednesday, January 17, 2018 at 3:21 am55 stars
                      A thrilling addition to the Magnus Chase adventure, all of Magnus' friends search for the missing hammer of Thor. In doing so, they gatecrash a party and let loose someone very evil...

                      More TopicsView in 3D