The Copper Gauntlet (Magisterium, Book 2)

Book 2 of 3 in the Magisterium Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.269866
Callum Hunt’s summer break isn’t like other kids’. His closest companion is a Chaos-ridden wolf, Havoc. His father suspects him of being secretly evil. And, of course, most kids aren’t heading back to the magical world of the Magisterium in the fall.

It’s not easy for Call . . . and it gets even harder after he checks out his basement and discovers that his dad might be trying to destroy both him and Havoc.

Call escapes to the Magisterium -- but things only intensify there. The Alkahest -- a copper gauntlet capable of separating certain magicians from their magic -- has been stolen. And in their search to discover the culprit, Call and his friends Aaron and Tamara awaken the attention of some very dangerous foes -- and get closer to an even more dangerous truth.

As the mysteries of the Magisterium deepen and widen, bestselling authors Holly Black and Cassandra Clare take readers on an extraordinary journey through one boy’s conflict -- and a whole world’s fate.





Paperback, 272 pages
Published on July 26, 2016 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545522293
ISBN-13: 9780545522298
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 13iamgroot
    13iamgrootFriday, August 16, 2019 at 5:17 pm55 stars
    In the second book in the Magisterium series, Callum Hunt is again causing trouble with his friends Aaron and Tamara, and this time he has to rescue his dad! Callum still has his pet Havoc, the chaos-ridden wolf, by his side all the time. Callum finally feels that he belongs, which hasn't happened before because of his leg. His leg makes it pretty hard to walk sometimes because it is twisted at an odd angle. He had many surgeries on it when he was little but it still won't be the same from before the accident when he was a baby.
    • mirror
      mirrorFriday, January 11, 2019 at 11:11 am55 stars
      I loved this book, I have read the First book of the of the series, which is called "The Iron Trial." I think you will enjoy this book more if you read the first book of the series, and you will not understand what is happening in this book if you don't read the first book.
      • squid11
        squid11Monday, October 9, 2017 at 10:56 am
        onto the next book now like i said the series is really good
        • snicker9
          snicker9Tuesday, May 9, 2017 at 6:03 pm44 starsFeatured
          The Copper Gauntlet is the second book in the series of "The Iron Trial". First of all, I strongly suggest that if you have not read the first one to do so before reading The Copper Gauntlet. Otherwise several key factors will not make sense. In the Copper Gauntlet Cole has found out some plans of his father's-that don't look good for Cole. So he decides to run away until school starts. Then he will return to the Magisterium. But then Cole finds out an ancient weapon has been stolen-and his father is the prime suspect. Cole, Aaron, Tamara and Jasper must set out to prove his father innocent. I liked in this book that Cole and his "enemy" (Jasper) have to work together. There is a lot of tension in the book, and moments that you wonder what will happen. I like that even though there is a "real" enemy, there is also a smaller antagonist. I also liked that there were more settings beyond the school or Cole's house. In this book, the crew actually went out and had an adventure where lives were at stake. Something I didn't like in this book was that there did seem to be copied features that are expected. For instance, the main trio-Cole, Aaron and Tamara-seem to to replicate traits of the main characters of Harry Potter-Harry, Ron, and Hermoine. I would recommend this book to magic-lovers and all fantasy fans. Also, any people who like books such as Harry Potter. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
          • leopardzyass_11
            leopardzyass_11Friday, October 14, 2016 at 10:45 am55 stars
            I think this book is really cool. Imagine, going to school full of magic. I would want to learn how to do fire first. Since I love fire. I couldn't put the book down and finished it in about 2 days. Not my best record, but it was just too good to put down!
            • Leopardzyass11Friday, October 14, 2016 at 10:43 am
              I think the book it amazing. I like it better than the first one personally.
              • richprince
                richprinceWednesday, May 18, 2016 at 8:26 am55 stars
                This book is full of adventures and magic it's just like book one.
                • FANFANFAN!!!Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 2:33 am
                  This book is so good! If you like suspense read this book! Read it anyways, even if you don't like suspense because it is REALLY good!!!
                  • FANFANFAN!!!Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 2:31 am
                    This book keeps you wondering what is going to happen next! If you like suspense, this is the book to read!
                    • beauti909
                      beauti909Monday, October 5, 2015 at 5:53 pm
                      i love it !