A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York
Times
bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of
Smile, Sisters,
Drama, and Ghosts!


Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it's probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school, where she's dealing with the usual highs and lows: friends, not-friends, and classmates who think the school year is just one long gross-out session. It soon becomes clear that Raina's tummy trouble isn't going away... and it coincides with her worries about food, school, and changing friendships. What's going on?

Raina Telgemeier once again brings us a thoughtful, charming, and funny true story about growing up and gathering the courage to face -- and conquer -- her fears.

Kindle Edition, 224 pages
Published on September 10, 2019 by Graphix
ISBN-10: 0545852536
ISBN-13: 9780545852531
414 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • yeeted_candy
    yeeted_candyFriday, December 13, 2019 at 9:19 am
    Its a really good book
    • aahaha
      aahahaThursday, December 12, 2019 at 8:34 am55 stars
      I don't know if this book is good but ALL my friends have said "OMG you should read this it's sooooo good!"
      • unicornnia
        unicornniaSunday, December 8, 2019 at 7:24 pm55 stars
        This book follows a young girl named Raina who is afraid of a lot of things. She just doesn't want to be different. Raina is scared of things like vomiting, death, and war. She hears and sees things in the media and from her peers and gets frightened. Her parents get worried about her and send her to a therapist where she explains her emotions and learns that it is okay to be different and have fears but you shouldn't let the fears control you. In the book, Raina is struggling with keeping friends and finds joy in making comics. The book goes on a journey with a normal girl who has fears and verbalizes that it is okay to be scared and if you are, you can tell others. I would highly recommend this to any 4th-8th graders who need guts because it truly is amazing.
        • Booklover2,000Sunday, December 8, 2019 at 6:02 am
          This book is awsome I love grose stuff but for those of you who don't it will really help you become more confident in these sorts of subjects and so I tottally recommend it!
          • mia1234
            mia1234Thursday, December 5, 2019 at 3:36 pm
            Are you afraid of the word vomit or throw up if so this is a good book for you it shows Raina over comeing her fear and going to therapy an expressing her self to a therapist.I was afraid of the word vomit an throw up an this book really helped alot!
            • Ivet Thursday, December 5, 2019 at 12:37 pm
              I loved it so much 🤩🤩
              • bestThursday, December 5, 2019 at 10:57 am
                good book guys
                • awsomeTuesday, December 3, 2019 at 7:05 am
                  i think it is great
                  • strawberry09040
                    strawberry09040Monday, December 2, 2019 at 3:34 pm55 stars
                    Guts is a wonderful story about Raina Telgemeir when she was in 4th grade. I recommend this book to people that loves comics or has anxiety about something.
                    • kiki5561
                      kiki5561Monday, December 2, 2019 at 9:23 am55 stars
                      best book ever