The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth's fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She's a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister's illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai's, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world's future.

Marissa Meyer on Cinder, writing, and leading men
Which of your characters is most like you?
I wish I could say that I'm clever and mechanically-minded like Cinder, but no―I can't fix anything. I'm much more like Cress, who makes a brief cameo in Cinder and then takes a more starring role in the third book. She's a romantic and a daydreamer and maybe a little on the naïve side―things that could be said about me too―although she does find courage when it's needed most. I think we'd all like to believe we'd have that same inner strength if we ever needed it.
Where do you write?
I have a home office that I've decorated with vintage fairy tale treasures that I've collected (my favorite is a Cinderella cookie jar from the forties) and NaNoWriMo posters, but sometimes writing there starts to feel too much like work. On those days I'll write in bed or take my laptop out for coffee or lunch.
If you were stranded on a desert island, which character from Cinder would you want with you?
Cinder, definitely! She has an internet connection in her brain, complete with the ability to send and receive comms (which are similar to e-mails). We'd just have enough time to enjoy some fresh coconut before we were rescued.
The next book in the Lunar Chronicles is called Scarlet, and is about Little Red Riding Hood. What is appealing to you most about this character as you work on the book?
Scarlet is awesome―she's very independent, a bit temperamental, and has an outspokenness that tends to get her in trouble sometimes. She was raised by her grandmother, an ex-military pilot who now owns a small farm in southern France, who not only taught Scarlet how to fly a spaceship and shoot a gun, but also to have a healthy respect and appreciation for nature. I guess that's a lot of things that appeal to me about her, but she's been a really fun character to write! (The two leading men in Scarlet, Wolf and Captain Thorne, aren't half bad either.)

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on January 3, 2012 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312641893
ISBN-13: 9780312641894
122 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • alexplays003
    alexplays003Thursday, September 7, 2017 at 7:46 am
    I read this book and it was so amazing! I loved the spin on such a classsic fairytale and all the twists and turns. I can't wait to get the next book!
    • jo13
      jo13Tuesday, September 5, 2017 at 10:44 am55 stars
      I LOVEDDD THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!!! It was so good! Its about this girl and she's a cyborg and the community doesn't accept her very well. She has to help save her world tho when a evil Queen comes to take over earth. From there she learns to accept herself and how to help others using her abilities. LOVED IT A MUST READ
      • georgiasilver
        georgiasilverThursday, August 24, 2017 at 11:47 am
        As the friend of many book lovers, this book seems to appear the most. A very recommended book by those around me, and a supposedly very intriguing and creative tale, I look forward to reading this book, along with many others.
        • skillet13
          skillet13Thursday, August 24, 2017 at 10:59 am44 stars
          suspenseful and really makes you think about what you are reading. this book made me want to keep reading and understand more about the charicters
          • ravenclawella
            ravenclawellaSunday, August 13, 2017 at 5:24 pm22 stars
            Cinder is part of The Lunar Chronicles. It puts a modern day spin on the classic Cinderella in a way. I didn't really like the cyborg aspect of it though. I lot of people liked this book series, but I was not a fan of Cinder so I doubt I will read the other books.
            • lilibelle
              lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:26 pm33 stars
              Cinder; (the first book in the Lunar Chronicles series) was honestly my first sci-fi book and I surprisingly enjoyed it. The author has a unique point of view in what the future may hold for us and weaves it throughout the story to create an overall great book series.
              • kgautam
                kgautamMonday, July 17, 2017 at 1:25 pm55 stars
                A perfect twist on the beautiful story of Cinderella! Cinder is a cyborg( half human, half robot) who is trying to save the world and herself. This thrilling adventure continues in Scarlet And don't worry, there are plenty of ships to root for.
                • selina
                  selinaTuesday, July 11, 2017 at 8:39 am55 stars
                  Cinder is considered a burden and a technological mistake to the society and her stepmother. But even by being a cyborg can be helpful though. Her brain interface has given her the ability to fix just about anything. This brings Prince Kai himself to her market booth. She wants to impress the prince but her younger stepsister and the only human friend she has is infected by the plague. Cinder's stepmother blames Cinder for it so she volunteers Cider's body for a plague research and it's an honor that no one survived. But they found something strange about the new guinea pig they got. Something that might start an all out war.
                  • jwarne
                    jwarneThursday, June 29, 2017 at 10:40 am55 stars
                    This is such a great spin on the classic Cinderella story. A cyborg mechanic is just the most inventive way to change the story. I found myself so into this book that I'm very excited there are so many more in the series.
                    • kgautam
                      kgautamTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 9:28 am55 stars
                      AWESOME you have to read the whole series