The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth's fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She's a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister's illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai's, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world's future.

Marissa Meyer on Cinder, writing, and leading men
Which of your characters is most like you?
I wish I could say that I'm clever and mechanically-minded like Cinder, but no―I can't fix anything. I'm much more like Cress, who makes a brief cameo in Cinder and then takes a more starring role in the third book. She's a romantic and a daydreamer and maybe a little on the naïve side―things that could be said about me too―although she does find courage when it's needed most. I think we'd all like to believe we'd have that same inner strength if we ever needed it.
Where do you write?
I have a home office that I've decorated with vintage fairy tale treasures that I've collected (my favorite is a Cinderella cookie jar from the forties) and NaNoWriMo posters, but sometimes writing there starts to feel too much like work. On those days I'll write in bed or take my laptop out for coffee or lunch.
If you were stranded on a desert island, which character from Cinder would you want with you?
Cinder, definitely! She has an internet connection in her brain, complete with the ability to send and receive comms (which are similar to e-mails). We'd just have enough time to enjoy some fresh coconut before we were rescued.
The next book in the Lunar Chronicles is called Scarlet, and is about Little Red Riding Hood. What is appealing to you most about this character as you work on the book?
Scarlet is awesome―she's very independent, a bit temperamental, and has an outspokenness that tends to get her in trouble sometimes. She was raised by her grandmother, an ex-military pilot who now owns a small farm in southern France, who not only taught Scarlet how to fly a spaceship and shoot a gun, but also to have a healthy respect and appreciation for nature. I guess that's a lot of things that appeal to me about her, but she's been a really fun character to write! (The two leading men in Scarlet, Wolf and Captain Thorne, aren't half bad either.)

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on January 3, 2012 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312641893
ISBN-13: 9780312641894
117 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • lilibelle
    lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:26 pm33 stars
    Cinder; (the first book in the Lunar Chronicles series) was honestly my first sci-fi book and I surprisingly enjoyed it. The author has a unique point of view in what the future may hold for us and weaves it throughout the story to create an overall great book series.
    • kgautam
      kgautamMonday, July 17, 2017 at 1:25 pm55 stars
      A perfect twist on the beautiful story of Cinderella! Cinder is a cyborg( half human, half robot) who is trying to save the world and herself. This thrilling adventure continues in Scarlet And don't worry, there are plenty of ships to root for.
      • selina
        selinaTuesday, July 11, 2017 at 8:39 am55 stars
        Cinder is considered a burden and a technological mistake to the society and her stepmother. But even by being a cyborg can be helpful though. Her brain interface has given her the ability to fix just about anything. This brings Prince Kai himself to her market booth. She wants to impress the prince but her younger stepsister and the only human friend she has is infected by the plague. Cinder's stepmother blames Cinder for it so she volunteers Cider's body for a plague research and it's an honor that no one survived. But they found something strange about the new guinea pig they got. Something that might start an all out war.
        • jwarne
          jwarneThursday, June 29, 2017 at 10:40 am55 stars
          This is such a great spin on the classic Cinderella story. A cyborg mechanic is just the most inventive way to change the story. I found myself so into this book that I'm very excited there are so many more in the series.
          • kgautam
            kgautamTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 9:28 am55 stars
            AWESOME you have to read the whole series
            • callie_b
              callie_bSaturday, June 24, 2017 at 7:01 am55 starsFeatured
              OK, this book is AWESOME. Fast-forward to the future: Cinder lives with her stepsisters and her horrible stepmother. Sounds like the classic fairy tale, right? Well, get ready for this: Cinder is a cyborg. And most everyone discriminates her for it. Cinder runs a mechanic booth in the central plaza of New Beijing, and one day Kai, the prince of New Beijing, comes to her booth undercover asking if Cinder could fix an important royal android. But will something more blossom between Cinder and Kai? Kai doesn't even know Cinder is a cyborg yet!! But then Kai's father, the emperor, dies of the fatal and contagious plague sweeping through New Beijing. Everything changes. Kai might have to marry Queen Levana of Luna, which is on the moon. Lunars have the power to brainwash people, and this is exactly what Kai doesn't want to happen. And Cinder is trying to find an antidote for the plague... but also finds out something game-changing about herself in the process! Can Kai and Cinder find their way through these troubled times? I love the writing style of this author, it really pulled me in! The plot was suspenseful, gripping, funny, emotional... you get the idea! I am so excited to read the second book! I loved this amazing spin on the classic fairytale, and I give this book 5 stars!!!
              • lilibelle
                lilibelleThursday, June 15, 2017 at 8:43 pm33 stars
                Cinder (the first book in the Lunar Chronicles series) was honestly my first sci-fi book and I surprisingly enjoyed it. The author has a unique point of view in what the future may hold for us and weaves it throughout the story to create an overall great book series.
                • cerulian
                  cerulianWednesday, June 14, 2017 at 5:21 pm55 stars
                  The first book in the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer will draw you in and keep you hooked. The book, Cinder is a steampunk, action-packed version of the classic Cinderella story. Linh Cinder is part human, part cyborg and goes on a journey to find out who she really is. A princess? A Lunar? She gets help from friends along the way and even finds a love interest in the crown prince. Cinder is amazing and romantic! If you want to enjoy yourself this summer, read the first book of the Lunar Chronicles.
                  • hannah_kwonn
                    hannah_kwonnTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 3:57 pm55 starsFeatured
                    What if you only wanted to be normal? Cinder, stepdaughter of Adri Linh and stepsister of Peony and Pearl Linh, only ever wanted to fit in. But how would that be possible for a sixteen-year-old girl if you were a cyborg, in a busy city full of people and... diseases? Letumosis, a plague, spreads rapidly throughout New Beijing. Meanwhile, Prince Kaito, or soon to be Emperor Kaito, struggles with the daily threats of Queen Levana, the manipulative queen of Luna. But needing an alliance with Luna, and also an antidote for Letumosis (only able to obtain in Luna), Emperor Kai strikes up a marriage alliance with Queen Levana. However, Cinder soon discovers she is... lunar. As Cinder and Kai's "friendship-or more-than-just-that relationship shatters, Cinder is forced to become something she never wanted to be--Levana's prisoner. After many twists and turns in Cinder's story, you realize that she might not only be a cyborg, but someone she has to be--but doesn't want to be. As attacks from Luna becomes more and more fatal, Cinder is forced to believe the fact that she needs to change something. Cinder, by Marissa Meyer, deserves to have 10 out of five stars!
                    • annette
                      annetteFriday, June 9, 2017 at 2:09 pm44 stars
                      This book is awesome. It is based on the fairy tale cinderella and it is set in the future. This is a really interesting book with cyborgs and androids, which I find kept the book moving at a fast pace. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who like futuristic plots.