Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 7 - 12n/a7.9183833

Four sisters live with their mother, facing Christmas without their father as the American Civil War is underway. The family is settled in a new neighborhood, living in genteel poverty after the father lost their money. Meg and Jo March, the elder sisters, both work outside the home for money to support the family. Meg teaches four children in a nearby family, while Jo aids her grand-aunt March, a wealthy widow whose strength is failing. Beth helps with housework, and Amy attends school. Their nearest neighbor is a wealthy man whose orphaned grandson lives with him. The sisters introduce themselves to the handsome shy boy, Laurie, who is the age of Jo. Meg is the beautiful sister; Jo is the tomboy; Beth is the musician; and Amy is the charming artist with blond curls. Jo is impulsive and quick to anger. One of her challenges in growing up is to control acting out of anger, a challenge that also faced her mother, Marmee. Marmee advises Jo on speaking with forethought. The boy Laurie enjoys his neighbors, joining the family often in play and home theatrics written by Jo. His grandfather, Mr. Laurence, is charmed by Beth, and gives her the piano used by Laurie’s dead sister.

Mass Market Paperback, 528 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Signet
ISBN-10: 0451532082
ISBN-13: 9780451532084
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • aaa57
    aaa57Tuesday, February 26, 2019 at 7:23 pm44 stars
    I am in 6th but tested in a college reading level. I recommend not reading it until 6th or in a high reading level.
    • aaa57
      aaa57Tuesday, February 26, 2019 at 7:21 pm44 stars
      I have started reading it it’s not my favorite but people say it gets better. I like it so far.
      • cadiebug2008
        cadiebug2008Sunday, February 24, 2019 at 4:29 pm55 starsFeatured
        This is a wonderful book. It is about four sisters: the March sisters. Meg; the eldest and the prettiest, Jo; the tomboyish, author, Beth; the sweet, shy one, and Amy; the youngest and most self conscious artist. They and their wise mother have to face the brave of the war going on, with the hanging feeling that their soldier father might not come home. While so, they meet a young man named Laurie, who soon is like a part of the family. Later in the book, Laurie falls in love with Jo. Jo, however, does not feel the same way.When Laurie confesses, Jo breaks his heart. I for one, disagree with this. I feel Laurie and Jo would have made a lovely couple. Later on, Beth gets brushed with death once, but manages to survive. I was really sad when Beth died from scarlet fever, and I wish she didn't. When the girls grow up, each one goes to pursue their dreams except for Meg, who marries John Brooke, Laurie's old tutor. They have twins, and have a happy family. As for Amy, she heads off to Europe with grumpy old Aunt March to paint. While in Europe, she stumbles upon Laurie, who also tried to escape from home for a while to try to mend his heartbreak. Honestly, I think Laurie was being a little creepy. But of course, Amy and Laurie fall in love and get married. And for the last but best character, Jo, she escaped to New York City to study, and writes a book. While there, she falls in love with a college professor, and they later get married. It was a very good story. I recommend it to anyone looking for a relatable historical fiction with excellent vocabulary.
        • stellaluna
          stellalunaSaturday, February 23, 2019 at 7:56 am55 stars
          My favorite character is Meg, with her motherly instinct, and uses it later in the book. (Mild spoiler).
          • stellaluna
            stellalunaSaturday, February 23, 2019 at 7:55 am55 stars
            I am finishing the book, and it is truly magical. Every moment of it as charming as the other. You flip through the pages in aw, tears, and anger. Louisa May Alcott is a great author, and I would recommend this book to 6th and above. This classic read will turn into an instant up there for you! Enjoy!
            • KARAThursday, January 17, 2019 at 5:17 pm
              I had to read this book for a project and my partner wanted to read it. Keep in mind it DIDN'T want to, but once I actually read it I was reading so much that i finished in a week. This is an AMAZING book. 10/10 would recommend
              • joeycollin13
                joeycollin13Monday, December 10, 2018 at 12:01 pm55 stars
                a true classic! I will always love this book.
                • soapy_sophee
                  soapy_sopheeMonday, December 10, 2018 at 11:08 am55 stars
                  This book is amazing but I would prefer it kids who have a high reading level.
                  • Sukanya Sunday, November 4, 2018 at 10:34 pm
                    It is a very good book and I love this very much it's my one of the favourite book 😘😘
                    • Gigi LemieuxWednesday, October 10, 2018 at 8:30 am
                      I read this in the third grade. One of my favorite books!!!