Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 7 - 12n/a7.9183833

Four sisters live with their mother, facing Christmas without their father as the American Civil War is underway. The family is settled in a new neighborhood, living in genteel poverty after the father lost their money. Meg and Jo March, the elder sisters, both work outside the home for money to support the family. Meg teaches four children in a nearby family, while Jo aids her grand-aunt March, a wealthy widow whose strength is failing. Beth helps with housework, and Amy attends school. Their nearest neighbor is a wealthy man whose orphaned grandson lives with him. The sisters introduce themselves to the handsome shy boy, Laurie, who is the age of Jo. Meg is the beautiful sister; Jo is the tomboy; Beth is the musician; and Amy is the charming artist with blond curls. Jo is impulsive and quick to anger. One of her challenges in growing up is to control acting out of anger, a challenge that also faced her mother, Marmee. Marmee advises Jo on speaking with forethought. The boy Laurie enjoys his neighbors, joining the family often in play and home theatrics written by Jo. His grandfather, Mr. Laurence, is charmed by Beth, and gives her the piano used by Laurie’s dead sister.

Mass Market Paperback, 528 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Signet
ISBN-10: 0451532082
ISBN-13: 9780451532084
51 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Gigi LemieuxWednesday, October 10, 2018 at 8:30 am
    I read this in the third grade. One of my favorite books!!!
    • Aqsa Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 7:59 am
      i loved this so much that i read it more than 2 times.beside this there is also one book that touch my heart a lot it is Oliver Twist.i will recommend you all to read the both books
      • Qizra..........Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 7:54 am
        I just loved this book.........................................................................................
        • luluhamyo
          luluhamyoSunday, May 6, 2018 at 11:07 am
          I'd love to read this book!
          • GThursday, April 19, 2018 at 3:31 pm
            I just finished this book and I loved it so much. My favorite character was Amy, but that may be because I played her in the stage version. I love it when Amy writes a will. Ha-ha!
            • GWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 9:57 am
              I'm reading this book and so far, I love it. I'm to the point where Amy falls through the ice, and I thought Jo and Marmee's Conversation was very sweet. My favorite character is Amy. If the page number looks threatening, just start anyway. It's so cool. I'd give it ten stars if possible
              • ocean22
                ocean22Monday, January 29, 2018 at 4:02 pm
                This is a very sad classic book.
                • GFriday, January 12, 2018 at 11:37 am
                  I LOVE this book sooooo much! I'm waiting to see if I got cast in the musical version today!
                  • tori3ghoul
                    tori3ghoulThursday, November 30, 2017 at 10:46 am
                    In this series of classic tales, Little Women is a great story. So far, my favorite part is Christmas morning where the family gives their breakfast to a poor family next door. There's also a part where two sisters get in a huge revenge fight. A great family read!
                    • lemonade11
                      lemonade11Wednesday, March 22, 2017 at 6:15 am
                      I read this book in 5th grade and I honestly LOVE it. The author put many describing words to give me a sense that I was one of the sister's good friends. The one part that I don't like in the book is when Beth dies. That is really sad, even though she is a very quiet person in the book. She has a kind heart and loves to help out for charity. I recommend this book to all those who love classics. I rate this 5/5 because of how creative this writer is, and because of how attached I became to the characters.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins