Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 7 - 12n/a7.9183833

Four sisters live with their mother, facing Christmas without their father as the American Civil War is underway. The family is settled in a new neighborhood, living in genteel poverty after the father lost their money. Meg and Jo March, the elder sisters, both work outside the home for money to support the family. Meg teaches four children in a nearby family, while Jo aids her grand-aunt March, a wealthy widow whose strength is failing. Beth helps with housework, and Amy attends school. Their nearest neighbor is a wealthy man whose orphaned grandson lives with him. The sisters introduce themselves to the handsome shy boy, Laurie, who is the age of Jo. Meg is the beautiful sister; Jo is the tomboy; Beth is the musician; and Amy is the charming artist with blond curls. Jo is impulsive and quick to anger. One of her challenges in growing up is to control acting out of anger, a challenge that also faced her mother, Marmee. Marmee advises Jo on speaking with forethought. The boy Laurie enjoys his neighbors, joining the family often in play and home theatrics written by Jo. His grandfather, Mr. Laurence, is charmed by Beth, and gives her the piano used by Laurie’s dead sister.

Mass Market Paperback, 528 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Signet
ISBN-10: 0451532082
ISBN-13: 9780451532084
70 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • neverkid
    neverkidMonday, January 27, 2020 at 10:09 am55 stars
    This book is a puffin classic book but it is extremely interesting and inspiring for young girls who want to follow their dreams. There is actually 2 films, a TV series, and lots of abridged versions of the classic copy.
    • lesliedragon
      lesliedragonFriday, January 24, 2020 at 6:49 am55 stars
      My favorite girl is Jo. She is sooooo much like me!!!! What an amazing book!!!! I love it!!!
      • lesliedragon
        lesliedragonThursday, December 19, 2019 at 1:24 pm55 stars
        My favorite girl is Jo. She is sooooo much like me!!!!
        • sports_star
          sports_starFriday, December 13, 2019 at 12:00 pm55 starsFeatured
          This book is amazing! The language used is beautiful and old fashioned, but still easy to understand. The book is about four sisters who live with their mother during the beginning of the Civil War. The oldest sister is Meg, who is very pretty and often takes charge when her mother is not around. The next sister is Jo, who is a complete tomboy and very stubborn, but is very loyal to her family and loves to write. Next is shy beth, who is sweet and kind to everyone around her. She loves animals and playing piano. The youngest is Amy. She loves fine things and wishes her family was rich, which could get quite annoying at some times, but she does try very hard to work around it and be a better person. The book centers around the theme of kindness, becoming better people, and growing up. The sisters all become better people throughout the course of the book. Starting one Christmas when their father was away, they gave their special Christmas breakfast to a family in need, and received from an old gentleman next door an even better supper, and ending on a bittersweet note that I shall not give away, this book is amazing. Exciting, and happy, although a bit sad at times, I would definitely recommend this book.
          • stellaluna
            stellalunaSunday, December 1, 2019 at 12:37 pm55 starsFeatured
            A word to describe the book. Magical. I flip through the pages with tears coming out of my eyes, anger raging through me, and happiness blooming on the pages. I love the characters, plot base, and everything about it. Character wise, there is the oldest, Meg. She is the prettiest and maturest. Following up is Jo, the tomboy, who loves to write, and tries very hard to cope through her anger at times. For the second oldest is Beth, She is a quiet, shy, musician, finding her way to express herself with music. Amy, the youngest one of the four sisters, is also the most obnoxious. She is still learning the ways to act like a lady and is not very mature, but knows a thing or two about art. All of the sisters mother, is struggling with her husband being in war. Of course the March sisters are all worried too, but they have other things to do, like Meg's marriage, who soon has twins to take care of. Amy goes off to Europe old, strict Aunt March to carry on with her painting. Back at home, Jo and Beth still have not figured out what they are supposed to do. Right when Beth is finding out what she means in life, it comes to an end. That just leaves Jo, who also figures out where she wants to be, kind of. A boy she meets who lives across the street falls in love with Jo. But for her he does not suit her. When Laurie confesses his love, Jo breaks it again. Laurie follows Amy to Europe, when Jo goes to New York to become an author. She meets a man who she soon marries, and grows another family. Those are all the plots of this wonderful book who is a big soup of emotions, lives, and the March sisters.
            • princesscools18
              princesscools18Monday, October 21, 2019 at 7:08 am55 stars
              So far I really like this story. It's awesome. I've always read classics, but this is the best so far. Hope people who read this also enjoy it!
              • luckymoon4
                luckymoon4Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 11:21 am55 stars
                This book shows the struggles and hardships of young ,or little, women during the Civil War. Through disease, love, war and the bond between sisters and family, here is the story of four young independent girls in the 1860s.
                • lovergrlFriday, September 13, 2019 at 9:16 pm
                  i love the books and i've read all of them.
                  • lotte_parker667
                    lotte_parker667Monday, July 1, 2019 at 5:25 pm55 stars
                    This book is perfect for readers who aren't ready to read the "bigger" version of Little Women! I read it when I was 11ish and it was perfect!
                    • aaa57
                      aaa57Tuesday, February 26, 2019 at 7:23 pm44 stars
                      I am in 6th but tested in a college reading level. I recommend not reading it until 6th or in a high reading level.
                      • stellaluna
                        stellalunaSunday, December 1, 2019 at 12:24 pm55 stars
                        Really? I am in lower than sixth and considered at college reading level. 200 words per minute and 100 percent accuracy.