Lea Clark is ten years old and ready to explore the whole world, just like her grandmother! But first she'll start with a family trip to Brazil, where her big brother, Zac, is studying the rainforest. Lea is really excited to see the ocean and when she does, she realizes she'd rather take picture of it than swim in it. Can she overcome her fear and dive in? Then she meets a fun new friend who inspires her to embrace the thrills and beauty of Brazil. But when the fun turns to danger, Lea must find the courage to face adventure head on! Where will the next adventure take her?
Paperback, 160 pages
Published on January 1, 2016 by American Girl
ISBN-10: 1609589971
ISBN-13: 9781609589974
108 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • abigailgsmith44
    abigailgsmith44Thursday, August 31, 2017 at 2:46 pm55 stars
    I liked this book, I recommend it. Lea is very brave! If you like American Girl, then you have to read this book! You really should definitely buy this book from American Girl!
    • jo13
      jo13Monday, August 28, 2017 at 9:16 am55 stars
      This book was awesome! Its about a girl named Lea, and she loves to take pictures of the world around her. When her family takes a vacation to Brazil to visit her brother, Lea wants to swim in the ocean. Unfortunately she gets really scared of the waves there. She tries to hide this from her brother and family, but the secret can't be kept for long. Will Lea be able to face her fear of the ocean and swim in it before they leave? Read this book to find out.
      • georgiasilver
        georgiasilverSaturday, August 26, 2017 at 1:11 pm
        I read this book when I was younger and thought that it was an okay, familiar book of a young girl and her adventures through places and people. A recommended book for the younger.
        • rah-rah
          rah-rahTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 3:13 pm
          If you love American Girl books or adventure books you should really read this book. I feel like reading it again because it was that good of a book! I really reccomend this book.
          • tlivi
            tliviThursday, July 27, 2017 at 1:07 pm55 stars
            Lea is part of the american girl doll books. She gets to go to Brazil to visit her brother. She make new friends and get to learn about animals and eat new foods.
            • smallpaul12
              smallpaul12Saturday, July 22, 2017 at 1:45 pm55 stars
              I have had this book at my house for a while and started it when I was young and didn't understand it but now I am older and understand it and love it!
              • lilibelle
                lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:28 pm44 stars
                Lea dives in was another great American Girl book. It is amazing how the story of each and every one of the American Girl's is truly unique in it's own way.
                • ashtynfavero
                  ashtynfaveroMonday, July 17, 2017 at 9:28 am
                  Lea lives in St Louis Missouri, with her brother, Zach, her mom and dad, and her turtle, Ginger. Her grandmother, Ama, passed away, but before she did, she gave Lea her compass necklace. For Leas 10 birthday, Ama gave her a waterproof camera. Lea wondered why, because she was afraid of water. Ama said, she would help Lea overcome her fears. Lea said Ama was the most adventurous person ever. When Zach went to went to college, he went to Brazil. Now, Lea and her family are going to visit Zach. When they got there, Lea hardly recognized him. Lea really wanted to see the beach, so in the morning, she got her family up, and Zach ended up taking her. Zach splashed Lea, and she got very, very, mad. Later that day, Lea and her family went to the turtle sanctuary, and found out that baby turtles were hatching that very night. So, Lea and her family went to dinner. Lea poured onions and spices over her food, and Zach tells her to stop, but she doesn't. Soon, she feels like her mouth is on fire, and a girl just smiles and waves. The next day, Lea meets the girl again, and finds her name is Camila. Lea and Camila become friends. Lea and Zach meet Camila's cousin, Paloma. Then, their family goes on a snorkeling trip, and Lea loves it. They go again the day after that, but they all have a suprise for Lea, since it is their last day. They all go on a snorkeling trip, to the shipwreck, and Lea loses her camera. She finds it, and the Lea, Zach, and their Dad go hiking, and Lea's dad falls of a cliff. Zach and Lea get help, and their mom, who is on a surfing lesson, says Zach and Lea are her heros. Then, Camila gets Lea a dress, and they go to the celebration of Yemanja. Lea gives Yemanja her compass, and she and Zach watch as it floats away.
                  • springchick114
                    springchick114Wednesday, June 28, 2017 at 2:42 pm55 stars
                    I read this book and I think it is amazing. Honestly, I love all books that involve the ocean. I love the ocean. I also think the american girl doll for Lea is beautiful. She has beautiful, wavy hair and bright green eyes. I absolutely adore it!
                    • pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7Friday, June 23, 2017 at 7:16 pm33 stars
                      Lea (a 10 year old) was going on a trip to Brazil and she is going to go there with her brother and she has not seen him in a long time but he looks different now! 😢But she has a great time with her brother and makes new friends!πŸ’‹πŸ˜ I liked it a little bit I just could not really get into it tho but that my opinionπŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† I would rate it 3/5🌟#i love reading so muchπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ