Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2338 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 27norqmuh
    27norqmuhTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 11:55 am55 stars
    This book is really good.
    • elle_0724
      elle_0724Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 9:12 am55 stars
      This book is really good! I love how strong and fierce Katniss is, and I love that she loves her sister so much, that she volunteered for her! I love how it tells you exactly how Katniss survived and what she had to do. This is one of my favorite book series ever and I would definitely recommend it! That is why this book is so amazing!
      • proudgryffindor
        proudgryffindorWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 6:52 pm55 stars
        I love this book soooooo much 10/10 would recomend
        • shannoncole
          shannoncoleTuesday, September 17, 2019 at 10:30 am55 stars
          This book is a really good read. Quick and steady pace allows for easy follow of the story. Much better than the movie. Though the movie luckily stayed fairly true to the storyline while being adaptive where necessary thanks to Suzanne Collins working on the screen play. Recommend the whole series.
          • adventure0329
            adventure0329Monday, August 26, 2019 at 3:16 pm
            This book was pretty good. I thought it would be really scary but it was really a mild romance. Still I don't recomend it to anyone below eight year of age. It is about a girl named Katniss Everdeen who is chosen to particapate in the hunger games, where kids in between the ages of 12 and 18 are chosen to go to the capital and fight to the death.
            • SarahWednesday, August 21, 2019 at 5:21 pm
              I love these books!!
              • cue
                cueWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 1:39 pm
                I really enjoyed this book, but to be honest the story is a bit scary. I mean really it is hard to think of kids fighting to the death and a world where that is okay and even popular.
                • iamrobot
                  iamrobotSunday, July 28, 2019 at 4:28 pm55 stars
                  This book is about a girl named Katniss Everdeen who lives in a place in the future called Panem which is now North America. Panem is made up of a capitol and 12 districts. Each year, the Capitol orders each district to send 1 boy and 1 girl between the ages 12 and 18 to participate in the annual Hunger Games. This year Katnisses sister is chosen so Katniss steps up to take her place .So Katniss will have to fight for her life.
                  • hedgeguin2
                    hedgeguin2Saturday, July 13, 2019 at 4:27 am
                    This book looks so good! Some of my friends reccommended it, so I can’t wait to try to read it. I hope my library has it in stock!:D
                    • SupThursday, July 4, 2019 at 9:21 am
                      It's a good book