I Survived the Joplin Tornado, 2011 (I Survived #12)

Book 12 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.113677
A destructive force is about to hit the city of Joplin...

Eleven-year-old Dexter has always wanted to see a tornado. So when he gets the incredible opportunity to go storm chasing with the famous Dr. Norman Rays, he has to say yes! Dr. Rays is the host of Tornado Mysteries, the show that Dex and his older brother, Jeremy, watched every night until Jeremy joined the U.S. Navy SEALs and left Joplin.

Dex certainly knows how deadly tornadoes can be, but this one isn't heading toward Joplin, and wouldn't it be great to have a brave and exciting story of his own to tell Jeremy when he comes home? But when the tornado shifts direction, Dexter's bravery is about to get seriously tested...

Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on August 25, 2015 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545852323
ISBN-13: 9780545852326
70 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • russellolchawa
    russellolchawaFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:05 am33 stars
    this book is about a boy named Dex and he has an older brother Jeremy that is in the navy seals and there is a huge E-F5 tornado about to hit dex has a dog named zeke they say that Zeke the ugliest dog in the town before the tornado is going to hit there is a famous storm chaser that is famous and has their own TV show dex and his brother used to watch them before Jeremy went to the seals i didn't rate this book a high star because it wasnt very interesting and it wasnt that daring i made a connection to this book by he has an older brother that dosent come home a lot because he is in the navy seals so and my brother goes to colage and comesd back after 7 or 8 each day
    • ekatsaros
      ekatsarosThursday, October 17, 2019 at 7:16 pm44 stars
      I really liked this book because it talked about what happened in real life.It talks about a how Dexter really wants too see a tornado and next thing you know is that he got too see a torndao. I connected it to text to self because first he was talking about how he really wants too see a tornado and then he got too see one without even knowing it was coming.
      • mwyso
        mwysoWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 5:57 pm
        I really like this book and recommend it for anyone to read. It is a fun book and it entertains you with facts and fictional characters. For anyone who reads the book, I hope you like it because it was amazing.
        • BaileyWednesday, October 9, 2019 at 6:55 am
          It is really good
          • Elle The CookieSaturday, September 21, 2019 at 7:34 am
            The book is at my house now and I just read it and It's a some what kind of stories that make your heart pound you, your brain whistle about what could happen!
            • wolfiewizard
              wolfiewizardMonday, June 10, 2019 at 2:16 pm55 stars
              I decided to read this book because when i saw the cover, i fell in love with it so i decided to start reading it. I think this book is AMAZING. After reading this book, i decided to read the rest. I thank Lauren Tarshis for making these books! Thank you so much! They are full of action. They take me back to when the disasters happened! Thank you again so much!
              • wolfiewizard
                wolfiewizardMonday, June 10, 2019 at 2:16 pm55 stars
                I decided to read this book because when i saw the cover, i fell in love with it so i decided to start reading it. I think this book is AMAZING. After reading this book, i decided to read the rest. I thank Laura Tarshis for making these books! Thank you so much! They are full of action. They take me back to when the disasters happend! Thank you again so much!
                • ajg16
                  ajg16Friday, May 24, 2019 at 11:22 am44 stars
                  Dexter is eleven and has ALWAYS wanted to see a tornado and he loves watching storm chasers on Tv. When Dr. Norman Gage almost hits him in it his van he invites Dexter to go along on a ride to possibly see tornado form. What nobody knows is it's going to be the deadliest tornado in America in fifth years! 158 people died and 1,100 were wounded. The author of this book actually spoke to people from Joplin and decided dozens of true stories to help her write it. About 2 days ago was the 8 year anniversary of the actual storm. I highly recommend this to all t seeds and learn about this crazy storm. Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
                  • Jolly jolly Saturday, March 30, 2019 at 9:27 am
                    Great book
                    • yeet micgeThursday, March 28, 2019 at 3:59 pm
                      I loved this book the best ever