Eleven-year-old John Hale has already survived one brutal Dakota winter, and now he's about to experience one of the deadliest blizzards in American history. The storm of 1888 was a monster, a frozen hurricane that slammed into America's midwest without warning. Within hours, America's prairie would be buried under ten feet of snow. Hundreds would be dead, thousands terrified and lost and freezing.

John never wanted to move to the wide-open prairie. He's a city kid, not a tough pioneer! But his inner strength is seriously tested when he finds himself trapped in the blinding snow, the wind like a giant crushing hammer, pounding him over and over again. Will John ever find his way home?

Paperback, 112 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545919770
ISBN-13: 9780545919777
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • YeeeeeetWednesday, March 20, 2019 at 9:01 am
    Coool
    • chrissyThursday, February 21, 2019 at 9:51 am
      this book is so cool
      • AliceTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 7:45 pm
        This book was really good I recommend it
        • amazingWednesday, November 28, 2018 at 4:35 pm
          best book ever very educational
          • ellasin
            ellasinWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 5:24 pm55 stars
            I love it how Lauren tarshis based her books on scary things in the oast
            • shoddyrobin66
              shoddyrobin66Tuesday, July 24, 2018 at 7:13 am
              It's a huge blizzard can the kid's survive the children's blizzard what will happen find out in this book. Lauren Tarshis talks about the past.
              • amazingMonday, April 30, 2018 at 1:04 pm
                i was mad that it didn't give me the whole book
                • SophieMonday, April 16, 2018 at 10:23 am
                  I really like this book because it tells how people overcame a terrible situation by using the information that they have learned in the past. It also has great detail about how things happened in the 1800's and how people had to live. It is a great comparison to how good some people have it now compared to back then.
                  • bean_boy
                    bean_boySunday, March 18, 2018 at 3:02 pm44 stars
                    It's so scary to imagine the event played over again in real life. You would have to have such a brave heart to keep your wits about you. I would be long gone before people came to help me.
                    • bookloverWednesday, March 14, 2018 at 7:51 am
                      Im in 5th Grade and I REALLY recommend this book as of it is the of the best historical fictions books I have read. Though this book is short it is very good! Here is my summary of the book:John Hale, an ordinary boy living in the Dakota Territory during 1888. He just moved to Dakota with his family so they could start a farm. As he makes friends in his small town, all he can think about is King Rattler the deadly rattlesnake that lives is John's "neighborhood".He and his friends Sven,Peter,Rex want to kill the King Rattler one day and become the bravest people ever!But his dreams get interrupted when the winter season arrives.The blistering blizzards prove to be the worst.One of them was a "starter".As John and his friends try to brave through the blizzard, it becomes difficult to tell if they will make it out alive.

                      Our Apps and Plugins