Eleven-year-old John Hale has already survived one brutal Dakota winter, and now he's about to experience one of the deadliest blizzards in American history. The storm of 1888 was a monster, a frozen hurricane that slammed into America's midwest without warning. Within hours, America's prairie would be buried under ten feet of snow. Hundreds would be dead, thousands terrified and lost and freezing.

John never wanted to move to the wide-open prairie. He's a city kid, not a tough pioneer! But his inner strength is seriously tested when he finds himself trapped in the blinding snow, the wind like a giant crushing hammer, pounding him over and over again. Will John ever find his way home?

Paperback, 112 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545919770
ISBN-13: 9780545919777
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • shoddyrobin66
    shoddyrobin66Tuesday, July 24, 2018 at 7:13 am
    It's a huge blizzard can the kid's survive the children's blizzard what will happen find out in this book. Lauren Tarshis talks about the past.
    • amazingMonday, April 30, 2018 at 1:04 pm
      i was mad that it didn't give me the whole book
      • SophieMonday, April 16, 2018 at 10:23 am
        I really like this book because it tells how people overcame a terrible situation by using the information that they have learned in the past. It also has great detail about how things happened in the 1800's and how people had to live. It is a great comparison to how good some people have it now compared to back then.
        • bean_boy
          bean_boySunday, March 18, 2018 at 3:02 pm44 stars
          It's so scary to imagine the event played over again in real life. You would have to have such a brave heart to keep your wits about you. I would be long gone before people came to help me.
          • bookloverWednesday, March 14, 2018 at 7:51 am
            Im in 5th Grade and I REALLY recommend this book as of it is the of the best historical fictions books I have read. Though this book is short it is very good! Here is my summary of the book:John Hale, an ordinary boy living in the Dakota Territory during 1888. He just moved to Dakota with his family so they could start a farm. As he makes friends in his small town, all he can think about is King Rattler the deadly rattlesnake that lives is John's "neighborhood".He and his friends Sven,Peter,Rex want to kill the King Rattler one day and become the bravest people ever!But his dreams get interrupted when the winter season arrives.The blistering blizzards prove to be the worst.One of them was a "starter".As John and his friends try to brave through the blizzard, it becomes difficult to tell if they will make it out alive.
            • jtann6
              jtann6Tuesday, March 13, 2018 at 3:23 pm55 stars
              I love the series!!! So good!
              • mybooksandi
                mybooksandiMonday, March 12, 2018 at 7:31 am55 starsFeatured
                “A deadly blizzard raged across the prairie, and eleven-year-old John Hale was trapped in a frozen nightmare.” I Survived; The Children’s Blizzard, 1888 is a beautiful masterpiece. I am a huge fan of Historical Fiction. Give me anything Historical fiction and I will surely read it on the spot. The I Survived series in particular is made up of many children that survived historical disasters. This I Survived book is 108 pages long. It was a quick read for me, probably took me a day to finish. After I read this novel, it got me interested in The Children’s Blizzard. And, WOW, people actually made houses out of mud! ***CHARACTERS*** John- John’s life is pretty dang interesting. What I really like is that even though John isn’t necessarily a real person, but someone his age actually experienced what he did. And who knows? Maybe the real kid’s name is John Hale. Oh! And how can I forget when John is looking for his little sister, Franny, in the cold? That was heart-breaking, and it got me on the edge of my seat. ***SETTING*** I ADORE the detail in the setting so much! It is just so interesting to see how people actually lived in 1888. It is even more interesting to see how young children actually survived a brutal snow storm.   In all, I really liked this book. I am sure now that I will read every I Survived novel. Lauren Tarshis’s writing is accurate and enjoyable! Five stars from me! I received this copy of I Survived; The Children’s Blizzard, 1888 from DogoBooks, this has not influenced my opinion.
                • eggyolk128
                  eggyolk128Sunday, March 11, 2018 at 8:37 pm44 stars
                  I liked this book because it was easy to follow. This book was about a boy named John Hale trying to live in Dakota Territory. John Hale has moved from Chicago, Illinois to Dakota Territory about a year ago. The book had very few pictures because it was a chapter book. John Hale met new friends called Peter, Sven, and Rex. The Children’s blizzard struck around 10:00 a.m., when all the children were playing outside. The Children’s Blizzard was called this because it killed a lot of children. I liked the part when John called her sister as stinky as a cow. At the end of the book, John’s teacher Miss Ruell had invited John and his friends to her wedding. I would recommend this book for second and third graders.If I had the opportunity to talk to the author, I would tell the author to make the stories longer. I would want the author to make the story longer so then it would take me longer to read it.
                  • colto404
                    colto404Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 7:46 pm55 stars
                    Hi I am colto404 and I am in 3rd grade! I would really recommend this book! It is about 11-year-old John Hale who moved from Chicago to Dakota but John is a city kid not a tough pioneer. He lives in a soddy (a small dirt house) with his parents and his 5-year-old sister, Franny. Near the end he gets lost, outside, in a blizzard. He tries to find shelter and he sees a big thing, like a house but when he gets closer he finds out, it’s a haystack. It keeps him warm for a little but...read the book and find out if it’s enough. The book can get a little bit scary at times but the chapter after that usually calms it down. I would recommend this book for 2nd-5th or 6th graders. Also it is called the “children’s blizzard” beacause most of the people it killed were, unfortunately, schoolchildren. I love this book.
                    • dictionary818
                      dictionary818Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 5:20 pm55 stars
                      This book is so good. I can’t remember but John Hale is from Chicago and he is a pioneer. His parents are farmers and they live in a Soddy in a small Dakota town of Praire Creeks. Granny was Johns little sister. John is caught in a blizzard in I think January and will he survive. Read, I survived the Children’s Blizzard 1888 and you’ll find out and find out johns awesome adventures too.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins