Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback
Published on October 3, 2011 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1445820021
ISBN-13: 9781445820026
407 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • fluffy16
    fluffy16Sunday, July 23, 2017 at 10:47 am55 stars
    the book was great. I found it very interesting. I definitely recommend this book to those who enjoy adventure and being at the edge of their seat. loved it. enjoy!
    • lilibelle
      lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:32 pm44 stars
      After seeing the Disney movie Holes countless times, I looked forward to reading the book. As always the book was just as good, if not better than the movie. Louis Sachar tells a story about the past and present all at the same time. I definitely recommend this book!
      • lilibelle
        lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:07 pm44 stars
        After seeing the Disney movie Holes countless times, I looked forward to reading the book. As always the book was just as good, if not better than the movie. Louis Sachar tells a story about the past and present all at the same time. I definitely recommend this book!
        • im_envy
          im_envyMonday, July 17, 2017 at 10:04 am
          awesome #yolo #read #doit #louis #nofilter
          • iifreeze
            iifreezeMonday, July 17, 2017 at 10:02 am
            Stanley Yelnats isn't so surprised when a miscarriage of justice sends him to a juvenile detention center. After all, his family has been ridden with bad luck ever since a one-legged gypsy put a curse on his great-great grandfather. He is told that the hard labor he must perform...digging 5 foot holes in the dried up soil where Green Lake once sat...is meant to build character. But is soon becomes clear to Stanley that the warden is really using the boys to search for something very valuable. The story of the hidden treasure, alone with the warden, Stanley's friend Zero, and the curse on the Yelnats family are all part of a compelling puzzle that has taken generations to unravel.
            • neonbook
              neonbookMonday, July 17, 2017 at 10:02 am55 stars
              Yeah ill try to read it
              • ts1989
                ts1989Monday, July 17, 2017 at 10:02 am44 stars
                Cool
                • ics60
                  ics60Monday, July 17, 2017 at 10:02 am55 stars
                  hey i am with you
                  • thekid1
                    thekid1Friday, July 14, 2017 at 10:41 am44 stars
                    Holes is about a boy named Stanley Yelnats who has to go a detention center called, Camp Green Lake. Stanley has a curse. It began with his great, great grandfather and it passed down each generation. They spend all day digging holes five feet deep and five feet wide. But what was buried under this dried up lake? The lesson to this story is to not take home things off the street or you could go to a camp like, Camp Green Lake!
                    • boomzoom
                      boomzoomTuesday, July 11, 2017 at 9:11 am
                      Holes was a really cool book. I thought that the characters were relatable, and the connection to the past was very interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good novel.