Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Book 5)

Book 5 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W7.2257154
The next volume in the thrilling, moving, bestselling Harry Potter series will reach readers June 21, 2003 -- and it's been worth the wait!


We could tell you, but then we'd have to Obliviate your memory.
Paperback, 912 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582970
ISBN-13: 9780545582971
242 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • skyflower121
    skyflower121Sunday, December 10, 2017 at 12:32 pm55 stars
    I love this entire series
    • puppyluvr
      puppyluvrFriday, November 24, 2017 at 10:39 am55 stars
      First and foremost, I promise I won't obliviate your memory after you read this! Harry Potter last year found that Voldemort is on a raise, but the Ministry of Magic does not believe him, and is picking on him in the "Daily Profit". He is starting his six year at Hogwarts. Before he goes to the school, he goes to a building, where the Order of the Phoenix meets, eats, and rests. They are a group to fight Dumbledore, and a few of the people working for it are Sirius Black, Mrs. and Mr. Weasley, Tonks, Made Eye Moody, Lupin, and others. When he gets to school, the new Defense Against the Dark arts teacher is a lady from the Ministry of Magic, called Ms. Dolores Umbridge. She has been sent to watch on the students, trying to make sure none of them believe Harry, and making new rules and laws that had no place to be there. As the year goes on, Harry starts having dreams. He dreams that he is walking down a long hallway, but always stops at the door before he can open it and wake up. He dreams this over and over again, but one night, he has a truly bad dream. He dreams he is in the body of a snake, slithering on the floor of a building and coming towards a man. He recognizes the man as Mr. Weasley, but the snake, the one he dreams he is, bites Mr. Weasley. Harry wakes up and feels sick, and warns Dumbledore, who is also part of the Order, what happened. Everyone thinks it could not have happened, but they find out it did. Dumbledore thinks he was inside Voldemort's mind, and does not want that to happen, in case Voldemort sees through Harry. Harry takes up Occlumency (Occlumency is an art in which you block off your mind so that no one can see through you) lessons with Snape, but feels that he is only opening his brain wider. Harry starts a group with a few other students that believe Voldemort has come back, including Cho Chang, Hermonie Granger, Ron Weasley, and others, and teaches them spells to defend themselves. They call themselves Dumbledores Army. A good way through the school year, Ms. Umbridge (The previously mentioned Defense Against the Dark Arts tacher) finds the room in which Dumbledore's Army has been practicing, and, thinking Dumbledore himself was leading the army, FIRED Dumbledore. Fred and George leave school to start a joke shop, using the money that Harry gave them last year. Finally, nearing the end of the year, Harry dreams that Voldemort is torturing Sirius at the end of the hallway which he had been dreaming about. Harry quickly gathers up some of his friends from Dumbledore's army (Luna, Hermonie, Ginny, Neville and Ron) and leave to help. They get to the ministry of magic and find the hallway. Once inside, they realize it was a trick. Sirius was never there, Voldemort had just made sure Harry would come. But WHY? Read the book and find out!
      • Hansol OhThursday, November 23, 2017 at 11:09 am
        This book of Harry Potter is extremely long and has a lot of spells. Harry returns to his 5th year at Hogwarts. He nearly got expelled because he used the Patronus charm. At school, he has many dreams that wake him up during night. Not a few days before it was time for them to go home, Harry, Hermione, Ron, Ginny, Luna, and Cho battle a lot of Death Eaters. Worst of all, they have to face Voldemort. They win! You should definitely read this book
        • boysrule
          boysruleTuesday, November 21, 2017 at 9:35 pm55 stars
          This book of Harry Potter is extremely long and has a lot of spells. Harry returns to his 5th year at Hogwarts. He nearly got expelled because he used the Patronus charm. At school, he has many dreams that wake him up during night. Not a few days before it was time for them to go home, Harry, Hermione, Ron, Ginny, Luna, and Cho battle a lot of Death Eaters. Worst of all, they have to face Voldemort. They win! You should definitely read this book.
          • bluezebra
            bluezebraTuesday, November 21, 2017 at 6:46 pm55 stars
            I personally LOVE this series. If you have not already read these books, you totally should! If you didn't know already, These books are about a boy who finds out that he is a wizard. This is the fith book in a series of seven.
            • cadycat
              cadycatThursday, November 16, 2017 at 7:35 am55 stars
              i loved this book so much i cant believe it and at first i didn't like it!!!! at first i put it down but then when i picked it back up again i was so into it i could see every thing going on in my head and then after i finished it i watched the movie and it wasn't as good as the book cause the book was more detailed but yeah 5 stars every one should read this series really
              • thediamondslash
                thediamondslashWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 3:38 pm55 stars
                This one really sucked me in! I was on the edge of my seat as Harry faced all of his trials and new adventures!
                • dogloverforever
                  dogloverforeverTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 5:32 pm55 stars
                  I'm a potter head and i got to say i love this book, this book shows you that stuff does not come easy and i'm should harry would agree and also do not let madness over come you and chase after a death eater to voldemoret( he who must not be named) because its not very smart cough harry, but i love love love this book, # Harry potter head
                  • xenykanyba
                    xenykanybaTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:09 am
                    after voldemort returned to power and he is after something he didn't have last time read the book to find out more
                    • kawaiiraspberry
                      kawaiiraspberryMonday, November 6, 2017 at 12:41 pm
                      i like it