Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2, Special Rehearsal Edition Script

Book 8 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.945268
"The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places."
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 133821666X
ISBN-13: 9781338216660
423 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • damdam
    damdamMonday, January 22, 2018 at 6:22 am55 stars
    This book is very fun and good to act with. The basic story flows with others. I enjoyed this book and so did other friends of mine^^
    • i_am_awesome
      i_am_awesomeSunday, January 21, 2018 at 4:47 pm44 stars
      This book is VERY enjoyable! I LOOOOOOOOVE IT!!! I wish it wouldn't be in script form though.
      • lily-ravenclaw
        lily-ravenclawSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 10:50 pm55 stars
        this book is totally FANTASTIC!! It is SUPER GREAT. It change the way i think about books and how i read it!
        • kabob
          kabobTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 5:47 pm55 stars
          This book was great and it doesn't leave people minds' blank. It is kind of like an epilogue and lets us forget our curiosity ........................j.k. Rowling is truly a great author.....
          • iikitty
            iikittySunday, January 7, 2018 at 11:25 am55 stars
            This is the best book series in the world, and it’s actually the most selling, BEATING Diary of a Wimpy Kid. J.K Rowling will leave fans BEGGING for more books! Read this, it’s actually my favorite book series ever! Harry Potter RULES!
            • unicorn992
              unicorn992Thursday, January 4, 2018 at 6:44 pm
              this book is about harry potter and friends kids and them getting into trouble. BUT IT IS IN THEATER SCRIPT!!!! that makes me VERY disapointed >:(
              • book_demolisher
                book_demolisherMonday, January 1, 2018 at 7:10 am44 stars
                I was pretty good... but it wasn't quite as fun as the others... Also, it had almost nothing to do with Harry Potter
                • anajas1
                  anajas1Monday, December 25, 2017 at 11:10 am44 starsFeatured
                  OK... Where to start.... Um... Well, This is a really controversial book, mostly because it wasn't all written by J.K Rowling and it wasn't about Harry Potter much, but was more about his son, Albus Severus. Let me just say, it was a nice story plot, just not in the way that we had all expected. When I picked this book up, I thought it would take me a day or two, like all the other Potter books had done. Wrong. It took me like an hour to read it, but I wouldn't blame that on J.K Rowling, because it was a playwright and you can't make a playwright to long. What I didn't like about it was that the book wasn't really tied in with the other books at all. It makes no sense to me when people call it the eight book! Another thing, it seemed like it was repeating over and over again. Same thing they do this, make a mistake, have to go back and fix it, make another mistake, and you get the idea. But anyway, everything else aside, it was fun to read, and a really nice plot. This is a great book that I personally loved. The book is about Harry Potter's son, Albus Severus. Albus is burdened with the pressure to become just like his father, who was the hero of the wizarding world. But when Albus befriends Scorpio Malfoy, the son of Harry's old nemesis, Draco Malfoy and is sorted into the Slytherin house, Albus is sneered at. But did Harry Potter, hero of the wizarding world, the Boy That Lived, actually sacrifice more people than he saved? When Albus and Scorpio go on a mission to save one of the kids that was killed by Voldemort, they cause more trouble than they can solve alone. But everything together, I think I will give this a four out of five... Cannot believe I am doing this to a J.K Rowling book!
                  • gemdragon001
                    gemdragon001Friday, December 15, 2017 at 12:24 pm55 stars
                    This book is REALLY good so i suggest it! Out of all of them, I think this is the best. But please tell me what you think!
                    • dogloverforever
                      dogloverforeverTuesday, December 12, 2017 at 2:07 pm11 star
                      SO, i'm a 8th grader or i would be in my fourth year, so i read the harry potter book millions of times,i started reading them in the first grade and now i'm in the 8th grade, so like i was saying i'm a huge harry potter fen or the biggest potter head ever, i'm a giffindor, so when cursed child comes out i thought it will be good, because all the harry potter gang is all grown up and in the future, so i get the book and start reading it the first page is good but the more and more i read the worse and worse it gets, i get done with it in a hour and when i'm done i want to burn it, the how bad the book is. i'm a nice person but the book is so bad that i could not even give the book 2 stars, the setting is good, and the plot not so much, i mean come on harry potter son albus thinks his dad dose not like him and wants to be better or just like his dad so he try's to bring back someone from the dead that kind of kills his dad, well i'm not going to say the name but he kills nevall before he kills the snake and voldemort kills harrys but still albus is no words for him, the people from the harry potter books are good but in the cursed child the book makes them sound old, draco's son is cool i mean i mean if the book was about draco's son it would have been better, so i don't recomound this to other potter heads.