Harry Potter and the Cursed Child , Parts I & II

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 12n/an/an/an/a
The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on July 31, 2016 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 1338099132
ISBN-13: 9781338099133
367 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • JadaDTuesday, May 16, 2017 at 1:32 pm
    This book was AMAZING. I had finished the Harry Potter series a while ago, and I was so excited when I learned that there was a new book. It was kind of strange that it was in the style of a script, but after a while I got used to it.
    • loljohncena
      loljohncenaTuesday, May 9, 2017 at 2:58 pm
      I read it
      • loljohncena
        loljohncenaTuesday, May 9, 2017 at 2:58 pm
        if you read it i think delphi is a really intresting charecter
        • SavagesomeTuesday, May 9, 2017 at 1:57 pm
          Great
          • savagesome
            savagesomeTuesday, May 9, 2017 at 1:36 pm55 stars
            If you want action time turning and changing the past then this is for you
            • kkuhy
              kkuhyTuesday, April 18, 2017 at 8:21 am55 stars
              The best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • That one haterWednesday, April 12, 2017 at 10:34 am
                Didn't like it. I mean it's my opinion. Also many things are inaccurate. For example every time they went back into time would have affected Harry before he had kids. Like in Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban. To make matters worse their was no Teddy Lupin. Also Rose Weasley was quite rude to Scorpius and Scorpius adored her. In other news they made Ron look like a total fool. So I didn't like it. Voldemort could never have a child either, except with maybe Bellatrix but she's dead.
                • daughterofzeus
                  daughterofzeusWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 6:02 am
                  Two words: LOVE IT!! I also love how this book is written in script format!!!
                  • joejoebro
                    joejoebroTuesday, April 4, 2017 at 3:59 pm33 stars
                    I had mixed feelings after I read this book. Seriously. I mean, I know it's not an actual book, as it's just a play script turned book. There are so many problems with this book that make it average. Seriously, they should have never brought Time Turners back. It made the book all based around Time Travel, and it feels like there are so many plot holes. The story is mainly focused around Albus Severus Potter and Scorpius Malfoy, two Slytherin studends who think there lives both suck. Albus, because he can't live up to his fathers name, and Scropius, who is getting bullied for being the so called Voldermort's Child, as for his family's dark past. And so far through the first few scenes, we are able to learn about and adjust to their character. The main plot is about Amos Diggory, who wants Harry Potter (Now a 37 Year Old Man), to get him a Time Turner so he can bring his son Cedric Diggory, back to the futere. However, Harry refuses. And because Albus thinks he is nothing compared to his father, he wants to prove himself better by going back in time to save Cedric, and steal a Time Turner from Hermione's (The New Minister of Magic) Office. So Scorpius and Albus go to meet up with Amos, and his supposed nephew Delphi, wants to help. The two boys travel back in time to 1994, but they are only able to travel five minutes back, and then return to the present. But the Boys fix the past in a bad way, and then change up reality to make a changed universe. The excitement of these scenes really were not there, and the ending was just rushed. And seriously, why would Harry want to watch his parents die before him? I don't really know what was going on with everything in this plot. But the ending scene was nice, sort of... However I do think this book should have been made and I enjoyed reading it.
                    • @honest y'allTuesday, April 4, 2017 at 2:56 pm
                      Who was freaking out about it?! god