Harry Potter and the Cursed Child , Parts I & II

Book 8 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 12n/an/an/an/a
The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on July 31, 2016 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 1338099132
ISBN-13: 9781338099133
325 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • swimlover19
    swimlover19Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:27 pm
    Should I read this? Many people that I know say it is nothing like the original Harry Potter books.
    • soffles
      sofflesTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 3:12 pm44 stars
      I have read all of the other books so I got this one immediately! It was sort of hard to read because it was in script version but it was still really good.
      • hia_leaf
        hia_leafMonday, February 20, 2017 at 5:01 pm
        This is not like Harry Potter at all. It isn't even written by JK Rowling- it says on the cover!!!
        • PJSunday, February 19, 2017 at 3:00 pm
          i cant read it for free (sad face)
          • frosting123Friday, February 17, 2017 at 2:38 pm
            i love this book so much i'v read it ten times and it still doesn't bore me out!!!!!
            • popularmmosFriday, February 17, 2017 at 7:32 am
              THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE HARRY POTTER.
              • wrenny
                wrennyWednesday, February 15, 2017 at 2:23 pm
                TRULY THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                • animelover1
                  animelover1Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 2:03 pm33 stars
                  I completely agree
                • seanyepWednesday, February 15, 2017 at 12:38 pm
                  i love harry potter
                  • profmimi
                    profmimiMonday, February 13, 2017 at 12:12 pm44 starsFeatured
                    This book is amazing- yet it lacks something huge. Where is that style that I remember from J.K. Rowling? I thought this play was a collab. There were things that I would've fixed- and some things don't even make sense. Like so, Voldemort having a daughter? I thought Moldy Voldy would've not been able to, since he's technically not human. Still, I gave it 4 stars because I think this would be something cool to pull off. Keep reading, my friends! Peace out!
                    • laddyawsomenes
                      laddyawsomenesMonday, February 13, 2017 at 8:39 am
                      so far this book has entranced me in into it. It makes me wanna read more Harry Potter. The rehearsal book is really good because off the way it looks when you read it. I recomend 4th and 5th grade read this book or make a play with it.